Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Pedernales Falls Antlerless #8429556 10/25/21 09:05 PM
12shotgun Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
Got drawn for antlerless/spike Nov 16-18 at Pedernales Falls, has someone hunted there recently that can report about the abundance or lack of exotics? I’m expecting/hoping there will be no issues seeing does but wouldn’t mind seeing an aoudad, sika or axis grin
Thanks!!

Eduardo
Outdoor enthusiast
Re: Pedernales Falls Antlerless [Re: 12shotgun] #8434481 10/30/21 10:46 PM
W
WileyCoyote Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter
W
FWIW....Seems like I remember guys talking in the past about Axis & mebbe Sika enough that I have been putting in for this location every year for the last several years. Dunno nuthin about Aoudad as they are not in my focus of great things to eat. LOT"S of Years ago I was told when I had chances at Aoudad on Mr Bill Carter's ranch in far west Texas back when he had a 85 mile high fence around the property he wanted the State to use during the Rocky Mtn Sheep Restoration Project . Just a magnificent looking critter though. I would throw rocks at Kobe Beef if I had an unlimited source of Axis in the freezer.
Ron

It is TIME for Term Limits, cause Politicians are like childrens diapers and for the same reasons...Robin Williams

"These are the times that try men's soul's"...Thomas Paine

"Those who fail to learn from History are doomed to repeat it" ....Santayana
Re: Pedernales Falls Antlerless [Re: WileyCoyote] #8434556 10/31/21 12:51 AM
12shotgun Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
That's reassuring WileyCoyote! I don't mind coming back with a couple does but have never shot/tasted Axis or Sika and I keep hearing Axis is fantastic; never shot Aoudad but I'd be willing to try it as well.

And to my great surprise I woke up yesterday to an email from TPWD that I was selected to National Refuge Exotic at La Sal Del Rey on the second drawing!