texashuntingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
TXARMYVET, Ritchie, flyakker, JWC Nauticstar, neutronbob
68781 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
dogcatcher 108,600
bill oxner 87,638
stxranchman 58,223
SnakeWrangler 57,492
RKHarm24 44,585
rifleman 44,461
Gravytrain 43,601
BMD 41,222
Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics609,565
Posts11,408,187
Members83,781
Most Online19,184
Feb 5th, 2020
Print Thread
Scope mounting problem #8325867 07/20/21 04:59 AM
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 396
H
HS2 Offline OP
Bird Dog
OP Offline
Bird Dog
H
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 396
I have a Ruger 10/22 with the scope that came with the rifle in a package deal. I’m happy with the rifle and the scope. My problem is how it mounts to the rail. The little clamps that hold the rings to the rail won’t hold securely. When I bought it new, it was mounted already and secure. After a while the scope started to wiggle a little.

After a series of attempts to tighten, remove a remount, it always seems to be tight when I mount it, but each time the scope starts to wiggle after a few weeks. I’m not abusing the rifle, so I’m convinced I need to replace the clamps that hold the rings to the rail.

Can I get just the clamps, or will I have to buy a new set of rings?
Any suggestions on how to mount this thing so that it stays secure?

Last edited by HS2; 07/20/21 05:00 AM.
Re: Scope mounting problem [Re: HS2] #8325869 07/20/21 05:03 AM
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 6,159
U
unclebubba Online Sleepy
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Sleepy
THF Trophy Hunter
U
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 6,159
Get a picatinny rail and some real rings.


Originally Posted by SnakeWrangler
Originally Posted by TurkeyHunter
And make Kamila president

She’d just end up blowing it......
Re: Scope mounting problem [Re: HS2] #8325924 07/20/21 10:35 AM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 3,257
onlysmith&wesson Online Content
Veteran Tracker
Online Content
Veteran Tracker
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 3,257
Without seeing it, it's hard to tell exactly but......if there are rectangular tabs that have a hole for a screw to fit through, these engage the dovetail slot. They may be inverted and not properly engaging. If you want some help with this, send me a pm.


An unethical shot is one you take, that you know you shouldn't.
Re: Scope mounting problem [Re: unclebubba] #8326079 07/20/21 01:31 PM
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 13,377
Q
QuitShootinYoungBucks Offline
THF Celebrity
Offline
THF Celebrity
Q
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 13,377
Originally Posted by unclebubba
Get a picatinny rail and some real rings.


I'd go this route. You can also try some blue loctite on your current setup, but most of those package deals include really poor components.


[Linked Image]

https://web.archive.org/web/20170223065011/http:/www.rrdvegas.com/silencer-cleaning.html
Re: Scope mounting problem [Re: unclebubba] #8326179 07/20/21 02:49 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 34,539
F
FiremanJG Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
F
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 34,539
Originally Posted by unclebubba
Get a picatinny rail and some real rings.


This


[Linked Image]
800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available
Re: Scope mounting problem [Re: FiremanJG] #8326251 07/20/21 03:54 PM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,686
K
Korean Redneck Offline
Extreme Tracker
Offline
Extreme Tracker
K
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,686
Originally Posted by FiremanJG
Originally Posted by unclebubba
Get a picatinny rail and some real rings.


This


yep. I have 3 10/22s and none of them use the factory rings.

Re: Scope mounting problem [Re: HS2] #8326392 07/20/21 06:42 PM
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 396
H
HS2 Offline OP
Bird Dog
OP Offline
Bird Dog
H
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 396
Here's a photo. Not the greatest closeup photo but enough to see. I did use blue loctite last time I mounted it......it still started to wobble after a while. I think it's the little clamps.

[Linked Image]

Re: Scope mounting problem [Re: HS2] #8326427 07/20/21 07:38 PM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 3,257
onlysmith&wesson Online Content
Veteran Tracker
Online Content
Veteran Tracker
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 3,257
Rotate the locking tab and see if that gap closes up. Good rings are inexpensive, relatively speaking. If you like the scope and rifle they wouldn't be a bad investment.


An unethical shot is one you take, that you know you shouldn't.
Re: Scope mounting problem [Re: HS2] #8345379 08/08/21 11:39 PM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 2,181
M
Marc K Offline
Veteran Tracker
Offline
Veteran Tracker
M
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 2,181
I used the standard Ruger furnished Weaver style base with Weaver rings on all three of mine. Nothing has come loose yet. The oldest one is about 8 and has thousands of rounds through it with my twelve grand kids.

I did torque them to 60-65 in. lbs. on install then re-torqued them after a few bricks, but no Locktite. One of them has high rise "see thru" rings and the others have low profile rings.

Maybe I should check......

Marc


A Democracy is when two wolves and a lamb vote on the dinner menu. That is why this country was specifically not designed as a Democracy. We are a Constitutional Republic.
Re: Scope mounting problem [Re: HS2] #8345498 08/09/21 01:29 AM
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 11,213
6
603Country Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
6
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 11,213
Except for my Tikka T1X, all rifles have solid bases and rings. The Tikka, though, has Warne clamp on bases, and I’ve never had a problem with them. If you like the clamp on style, call Warne. Tell them your rifle and the scope you’ll use and they’ll tell you what you need. It won’t be very expensive.


Not my monkeys, not my circus...
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 2004-2021 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3