Print Thread
Tips for calling coyotes please #8278801 05/28/21 04:05 AM
H
Harkriscar Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
H
I’m a rookie coyote hunter. But now that I have good thermal optics, am trying up to learn. I have an electronic call with remote. Plus I’ve called in some when deer hunting with a mouth call when I know they’re nearby. But with my electronic call, what are any tips? Which call to use? Cottontail distress, other coyote vocalizations, etc? What volume, what frequency, for how long. I’m mainly calling from one of my many elevated deer stands on food plot edges or pasture edges. The other night, after an hour of experimenting with a distressed rabbit call and a few coyote howls, I had coyotes start howling all around me, at various distances. It lasted only 30 seconds. But none ever were visible. What was that all about? Obviously I stirred them up. But I have no clue about the dynamics and strategy. Please fill me in on tactics, tips, or what to expect or avoid.
I’m hunting in SC, mainly upland forest tracts, but with scattered food plots planted for deer. The yotes are here but rarely seen in daylight.

Re: Tips for calling coyotes please [Re: Harkriscar] #8278813 05/28/21 04:24 AM
B
BigPig Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
B
There’s a lot to talk about here. Start with the basics, hunt the wind, coyotes see very well even at night. Everyone I enter an area I will do a quick scan to see if I’ve jumped anything. When calling, start out as if the coyote is within 100 yards, meaning start on a low volume. I don’t use electronic calls ever. So with mouth calls I give a 15-30 second call and then scan for 5-10 minutes, followed by a louder call cycle if nothing is seen. Once a coyote is detected, I start calling short spurts, 2-5 seconds and watch the reaction. Never forget to check your surroundings while working the coyote you’ve spotted, they will sneak in on you.