Page 11 of 12 1 2 9 10 11 12
Re: question about buying land... [Re: B Razorback] #7244062 08/03/18 03:20 PM
T
txtrophy85 Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
T
Originally Posted By: B Razorback
One of my dreams later on in life is to have my own land that my wife and I can retire on. This is going to sound crazy, but what are the first steps y’all would recommend doing once I graduate college? I’m a senior at the university of Arkansas studying supply chain right now. I know this dream is so far out of the picture in my life currently, but I’d like to get a great head start for saving money, etc. I’m just trying to gain some wisdom from y’all!

First step, pay down student debt.

Second step.....find a career avenue to make a lot of money

For it is not the quarry that we truly seek, but the adventure.
Re: question about buying land... [Re: kikabaila] #7265253 08/23/18 02:56 PM
F
Famous Flames Offline
Light Foot
Light Foot
F
Originally Posted By: kikabaila
Land newbie here. Looking to buy some land for family fun and potentially some hunting. Something ~30-80 acres would be ideal since I am willing to spend ~$150K, need to be within 2.5 hours of DFW. What counties would y'all suggest to look?

I may be a bit late to the game, but IMO 2.5 hours is too far unless you are able to make regular overnight trips. You'll be shocked at the amount of work that goes into maintaining a place. Mine is a little more than an hour, and I am constantly hurrying both there and back to get the most basic stuff done. In fact, I'll be making a rushed trip this weekend to get stuff ready for dove hunting.

Last edited by Famous Flames; 08/23/18 02:57 PM.
Re: question about buying land... [Re: txtrophy85] #7366870 12/04/18 08:09 PM
K
kk66 Offline
Bird Dog
Bird Dog
K
Originally Posted by txtrophy85
Originally Posted by B Razorback