Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Never would have believed it... #8181759 02/24/21 12:19 AM
218 Bee Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker

And yet, there it was to see.

We've got a feeder about 150 yards below the house and it provides regular game viewing opportunities...and this evening wasn't any different. We'd spent the afternoon doing some clean-up after last week's Polar Party and, when I realized that the feeder should have already gone off, I walked over to a window and picked up the pair of binos next to it. There were several deer in the area, but two caught my eye immediately as their movements were immediately recognizable...confusing and wrong...but recognizable.

I was watching a youngster eight point (we see him like clockwork; a bit narrow but with good mass and height for his age) and he was CLEARLY tending the doe in front of him. My initial thought was "wishful thinking, young man"...but then I started studying the doe's posture and saw that she was showing all the signs of being IN SEASON. I watched for 10-15 minutes straight and then, sure enough, the buck mounted her!

This was a young doe, but the timing is about as wrong as it gets. Should she stick, and carry to term, she'd be dropping that fawn sometime in September.

Nature's a funny thing sometimes. Glad I got to see this take place.

Mark

[Linked Image]

"I always take care to fire into the nearest hillside and, lacking that, into darkness". - the late Dr. Hunter S. Thompson
Re: Never would have believed it... [Re: 218 Bee] #8181907 02/24/21 02:08 AM
P
Pope&Young Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
P
They'll go at it until the last doe is bred.

[Linked Image]
Re: Never would have believed it... [Re: 218 Bee] #8181908 02/24/21 02:09 AM
cheetah577 Offline
Bird Dog
Bird Dog
We had a fawn drop in late August last year. She made it through the heat and the polar vortex last week. She is doing fine.

God bless John Wayne!