Page 1 of 2 1 2
Poor examples of your own profession... #8135299 01/19/21 07:21 PM
R
redchevy Online Content OP
THF Celebrity
OP Online Content
THF Celebrity
R
How do you feel when you are confronted with poor examples of your own profession?

I am a real estate appraiser by trade. Most of what we do has to be fairly well done as most of it is for condemnation proceedings etc. and all has a chance of and quite a bit of it does wind up in court.

My wife and I are building on our property and I just got the as proposed appraisal today. Wow, don't even know where to start. First the appraiser looked at and took photos of the wrong property, second their comps suck azz, the property across the street from us recently sold about a month ago and would be a good comp and they didn't use it. In the cost approach they didn't use sales to come up with a value of the land just put a number in even though there are 3 great current land sales there within a 1/4 mile on the same road. They made the number and then some, but wow the appraisal is not worth the paper I printed it on.

When we bought our first house the appraisal was the same, made the number but man it was junk. I guess it helps me understand why people do not think very highly of appraisers sometimes.

It's hell eatin em live
Re: Poor examples of your own profession... [Re: redchevy] #8135330 01/19/21 07:42 PM
R
reeltexan Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
R

There's people of low character in every walk of life. Fortunately, that's not how most folks operate.

[Linked Image]

"Give me an Army of West Point graduates and I'll win a battle... Give me a handful of Texas Aggies and I'll win a war." - General Patton

Re: Poor examples of your own profession... [Re: redchevy] #8135350 01/19/21 07:52 PM
B
Bullfrog Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
B
Start a FB group and you can show everyone they suck. Otherwise, what can ya do?

[Linked Image]
Originally Posted by machinist