Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics537,017
Posts9,719,434
Members86,987
Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Could you lure down geese to a small spread on a desert river? #8115031 01/04/21 08:56 PM
C
Chris Sand Offline OP
Light Foot
OP Offline
Light Foot
C
Hello all,

I am new to goose hunting and don't know much besides what I can watch on youtube which is usually far from West Texas when filmed.

Does anyone have experience luring small flocks to small waters? The river (Rio Grande) south of the city follows along Ft Hancock and there are some public river access sites for bird hunting. Since there's agriculture around the sites being hunted, including several huge acres big reservoirs, would geese be keen on stopping into the riverside area ever? A specific time of day or condition that might tempt them?

I don't have much money to invest in a huge decoy spread, but could possible get a couple of dozen windosocks, silos, and a handful of shells of either Canada, White, or mixed.

Thoughts?

Re: Could you lure down geese to a small spread on a desert river? [Re: Chris Sand] #8115062 01/04/21 09:18 PM
R
rickym Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
R
You can absolutely get small groups to come in to a small spread, but your not gonna pull 20-50+ birds down unless your where they want to be.

Re: Could you lure down geese to a small spread on a desert river? [Re: Chris Sand] #8115110 01/04/21 09:51 PM
2flyfish4 Online Content
Pro Tracker
Online Content
Pro Tracker
Do they visit this river regularly? If not I would say your wasting your time. If they do then yes you can shoot some in occasion.

Instagram - 2flyfish4
Re: Could you lure down geese to a small spread on a desert river? [Re: Chris Sand] #8115121 01/04/21 10:16 PM
C
Cochise Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter
C