Page 1 of 2 1 2
The Crossbow Wars #8115046 01/04/21 09:12 PM
E
Exiled Offline OP
Bird Dog
OP Offline
Bird Dog
E
Wow, we are in the midst of a crossbow arms race! Prices have steadily creeped up every year for a decade plus, but ever since the Ravin brand hit the market it's triggered a marketing and engineering arms race, similar to what happened with bows! I just saw an ad for what looked like a really nice Ten Point crossbow; was curious enough to go look at it online... $3,600+! It looks like the super-premium category is here.

I have no bone to pick here as I do not own a crossbow yet, nor does my budget cover a weapon that expensive. I'd much rather have a thermal optic for one of my rifles than pay that much, but I work in sales/marketing and this is very interesting to me. Just like YETI created an entirely new category, it looks like this arms race of who can make the fastest/lightest/most accurate crossbow is on, with no end in sight. The good news is that it will introduce new technology and materials and that should have a positive impact on even the lower and middle end of the spectrum. A similar thing happened to camo. If you go to Academy or even Under Armour, you'll find affordable camo made up of lighter, scent reducing materials, and that's driven by a trickledown from KUIU and Sitka pushing the envelope at the top end of the spectrum with their insanely expensive stuff. Just a few years ago, Academy camo was the old school canvas stuff! In the meantime, marketers will continue to push their messaging to drive the market ("the lightest, most durable materials", "new pattern developed in partnership with NASA"), just like happened to bows ("dual cam action", "single oblique cam", "no cam", "cam made from titanium/nanotubes/human cartilage"). "What, you're still using a three year old bow? You can't possibly kill one of these huge bucks without the latest Matthews, endorsed by our legendary pro staffers and these three newbie huntresses"! smile