Print Thread
What are ram hunts really like? #8091412 12/16/20 08:39 AM
F
FXfromTX Offline OP
Light Foot
OP Offline
Light Foot
F
Let me preface this by saying I'm no treehugger. I'm not an "anti-highfencer", etc. That said, part of the fun in hunting to me is the challenge, not just letting the arrow fly. That's why I laid the rifle down when I was 15 and have bowhunted 95+% of the time since then. I love a challenge.

I've been considering doing a ram hunt for a couple years now and have been considering two well-recommended ranches to go to next year with a family member who recently took up bowhunting. However, after watching some videos on youtube of hunts at one of these ranches I honestly wonder if it is for me, assuming these videos actually depict realistic ram hunting. Do the rams really not care at all about being hunted? I saw 5+ people hanging out and talking in an "open-sided" tower blind 35 yards from the feeder with 30 rams around it, shooting 3 or 4 rams and the others still just casually stroll away like it's just another day in the life. Or guys getting to 15-20 yards away in the wide open and a group of 10-20+ rams just standing there, giving him minutes to lay down his gear, draw and get the shot off before they casually stroll away.

I'm just trying to decide if this is the right kind of hunting for me. I hunted deer over a feeder for a long time and still occasionally do so, but the deer legitimately try to stay alive. It takes some level of effort to take a deer at 20 yards.

If you've been on a ram hunt I would appreciate any info/experiences you care to share. Thanks guys

Re: What are ram hunts really like? [Re: FXfromTX] #8091472 12/16/20 12:37 PM
R
rob valle Offline
Tracker
Tracker
R