Print Thread
New to Archery #8017348 10/20/20 11:01 PM
T
txbarrett Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
T
I’m new to archery & haven’t been out hunting yet... I picked up a Blackout Epic from BPS a couple of weeks ago and have been shooting in the backyard. My groupings aren’t very impressive at 30yrds, but I practice everyday. Did I purchase a decent bow for a beginner? What kid of tips can anyone give me to improve my aim?

Re: New to Archery [Re: txbarrett] #8017372 10/20/20 11:26 PM
C
ChrisB Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker
C
welcome

Re: New to Archery [Re: ChrisB] #8017378 10/20/20 11:29 PM
T
txbarrett Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
T
Thanks!

Re: New to Archery [Re: txbarrett] #8017389 10/20/20 11:39 PM
P
Peepaw on Fork Online Content
Woodsman
Online Content
Woodsman
P
Keep practicing. A short fast bow like that is less forgiving than a longer slower bow.

Re: New to Archery [Re: txbarrett] #8017419 10/20/20 11:57 PM
F
freerange Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
F
I cant help you much but what little i know would be a lot. Im trying to say that learning to bow hunt the right way and ethically is a marathon not a sprint. An experienced bow hunter could type forever with tips. Im not trying to discourage you cause you have to start somewhere but just hoping you will be realistic with expectations. You probably should walk into a bow shop and ask the same question. Not that this forum wont have the answers but its hard to explain alot when not in person. If you stay engaged and interact and seem nice a good guy then someone may take you under their wing and teach you stuff. Alot of what im talking about isnt just about shooting the bow but specifics about the animal and what happens after the shot. Good luck and welcome to a great forum.

At some point in life its time to quit chasing the pot of gold and just enjoy the rainbow. FR
Keep your gratitude higher than your expectations. RWH