Forums46
Topics536,986
Posts9,719,148
Members86,987
Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: What is the preferred habitat for teal? [Re: Lonestar97] #7976980 09/16/20 11:54 PM
D
DUKFVR Offline
Tracker
Tracker
D
Originally Posted by Lonestar97
Originally Posted by RiverRunner
im a rookie at the actual hunting of ducks but its been in my family for generations.. ive been around it my entire life just didnt do it. Mainly a turkey / deer hunter. And thats not my first hunt by any means just my first to find the actual spot lol.

Good deal, my man. Just curious as to how you determined it to be a cinnamon teal in eclipse plumage. What traits did you see to identify as a cinnamon? I may have been killing loads of cinnamon teal without realizing it!

Well its eyes were red, the bill was black, the feet were all yellow, and it was a drake so it was that really cinnamon color on its breast, neck, and head. It had no white streak on its head, the eyes werent black, it had no green streak on its head, aaand not to mention it vocalized twice and it was not the sound of a BWT or GWT call

Could very well be a cinnamon. I had a biologist tell me we get more cinny's this time of year, but can't tell most of the time,because they aren't plumed or colored out yet. Very rarely will you see ANY of the species of teal plumed out in Sept. You tell drake BWG's by the solid white stripe on their wings this time of year.

Re: What is the preferred habitat for teal? [Re: Lonestar97] #7976989 09/17/20 12:04 AM
T
takemking Offline
Woodsman
Woodsman
T
I remember my first coot....errr cinnamon teal

Re: What is the preferred habitat for teal? [Re: DUKFVR] #7977060 09/17/20 12:52 AM
L
Lonestar97 Offline OP
Light Foot
OP Offline
Light Foot
L