texashuntingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
kshrell, MichelleButler9, Kfire01, BigCheez, Neta Geeslin
67130 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
dogcatcher 103,854
bill oxner 71,876
stxranchman 56,299
SnakeWrangler 53,037
RKHarm24 44,585
rifleman 44,451
BMD 41,089
Gravytrain 38,407
Facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics433,351
Posts6,519,188
Members67,130
Most Online19,184
Feb 5th, 2020
Print Thread
Ran out of elevation #7927566 08/07/20 11:53 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 891
T
TonyLama Online Happy OP
Tracker
OP Online Happy
Tracker
T
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 891
I cant lower my scope anymore and its shooting about a foot and a half high at 100 yards. Would getting lower scope rings help Im already close to touching the picatinny rail so Id have to adjust my scope forward to do it. Its a savage model 10. I want to try to keep from shimming it.

Re: Ran out of elevation [Re: TonyLama] #7927659 08/08/20 01:29 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 31,802
F
FiremanJG Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
F
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 31,802
Lower rings will not help.

Is your pic rail 20 MOA? Is it on backwards?

What scope, and what rings?


[Linked Image]
800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available
Re: Ran out of elevation [Re: TonyLama] #7927705 08/08/20 02:15 AM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 891
T
TonyLama Online Happy OP
Tracker
OP Online Happy
Tracker
T
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 891
Its just the stock rail it came with so not sure it is on the right way. Its a leupold vx3i lrp 4.5-14x50 and with warne maxima rings.

Re: Ran out of elevation [Re: TonyLama] #7927802 08/08/20 03:52 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 97
FTWshooter Online Content
Outdoorsman
Online Content
Outdoorsman
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 97
Odd, check your rail like Fireman suggested, it should appear level or slightly slope down towards the muzzle end. Also try a known working scope to eliminate possible scope issues.

Last edited by FTWshooter; 08/08/20 03:53 AM.
Re: Ran out of elevation [Re: TonyLama] #7927845 08/08/20 09:45 AM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 891
T
TonyLama Online Happy OP
Tracker
OP Online Happy
Tracker
T
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 891
I had a vortex diamondback on it before and it never had this issue I just wanted to upgrade the glass... should I just try and buy a new rail and see what happens? If so 0 or 20moa?

Re: Ran out of elevation [Re: TonyLama] #7927937 08/08/20 01:48 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 97
FTWshooter Online Content
Outdoorsman
Online Content
Outdoorsman
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 97
Originally Posted by TonyLama
I had a vortex diamondback on it before and it never had this issue I just wanted to upgrade the glass... should I just try and buy a new rail and see what happens? If so 0 or 20moa?


IIRC the LRP's allow you to adjust the "zero stop" I am wondering if that might be the issue.

From the Leupold website

Running out of Elevation Down: Many Leupold scopes feature a zero-stop, or ZeroLock elevation dial that limits travel below the set zero of the firearm. This allows a rapid return to zero when dialing for bullet drop. If you encounter this mechanical limit in the downward direction while sighting in, loosen the dial set screws and turn the dial in the up direction 1-2 revolutions, then re-tighten the set screws. This will allow more dial travel in the down direction. Once the desired zero has been achieved loosen the set screws again, turn the dial until the zero stop or ZeroLock is engaged, then re-tighten the set screws.

Re: Ran out of elevation [Re: TonyLama] #7927942 08/08/20 01:53 PM
Joined: Jun 2015
Posts: 235
A
AZ_Hunter_2000 Offline
Woodsman
Offline
Woodsman
A
Joined: Jun 2015
Posts: 235
I had a somewhat similar issue recently with a VX5HD (20 MOA base). There was not enough downward elevation for a 100 yard zero; but I was only a couple of inches high. Ultimately was not an issue as I was going with a 200 yard zero.

Have you put the scope up against a mirror and gotten everything aligned? If you remount the scope, how's your elevation then? I only bring this up since Vortex had me do this on a few of their scopes that had elevation issues. Others with more knowledge and expertise can chime in.

Depending on how far you plan to shoot, go with the 20 MOA base. The 20 MOA will get you further than many will ever shoot. It is a cheap band-aid to a scope not having enough elevation to dial distance let alone getting a zero.

Re: Ran out of elevation [Re: TonyLama] #7927949 08/08/20 02:02 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 891
T
TonyLama Online Happy OP
Tracker
OP Online Happy
Tracker
T
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 891
Well I feel like a total idiot I bought this scope and another that have zero stops and havent really messed with that feature yet. I never really thought to overtravel the turret and put it back on but I did one full revolution up then put it back on and it went down the full rotation so hopefully I can shoot it this evening and make sure that fixed it but it seems like it will. Thanks a bunch!

Re: Ran out of elevation [Re: TonyLama] #7927966 08/08/20 02:26 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 97
FTWshooter Online Content
Outdoorsman
Online Content
Outdoorsman
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 97
Good luck, <fingers crossed> hope this fixes your issue!

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 2004-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3