OP Offline
Pro Tracker
M
1917 DA 45
No Military Proofs
Serial matches 1920 production
45 ACP
Checkered grips

Grips and barrel Stamp matches description of “The New Service Commercial Model 1917 Parts Model” from the colt fever website but their description doesn’t include 45 ACP. There were only a thousand or so made. The only other civilian model 1917s I can find were another limited run of 1000 made in 1932 but those serials are about 60,000 numbers higher than mine.

What did I buy? Something special/rare or just an old beater?

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

"I wanna go fast" -Ricky Bobby

"Mind bottling isn't it?" -Chazz Michael Michaels

Re: Any Colt Revolver Aficionados? [Re: Misfire] #7886941 07/01/20 02:06 PM
F
FRA Offline
Woodsman
Woodsman
F
I am not an expert, but have been accumulating old Colts for many years and researching their history. It looks to me to have been refinished, and I am guessing at that because I recall the sides of all of the commercial hammers having been polished, in the white, rather than blued (I am forgetting how the triggers were). In your photo with the butt of the gun, it appears to have some diagonal polishing lines in the top where the "US Property" markings would have been on a military 1917. It could just be the photo, or it could have been where it was ground off before refinish, which was common, but it does not match the same pattern of the metal around the writing below it if those lines are actually on there.

Your serial number indicates a 1920 "NEW SERVICE AND NEW SERVICE TARGET MODELS (AND US ARMY MODEL 1917 MODELS)."

Re: Any Colt Revolver Aficionados? [Re: FRA] #7886979 07/01/20 02:37 PM
M
Misfire Offline OP
Pro Tracker
OP Offline
Pro Tracker
M
You could be correct. I was thinking the same thing but I found this description on the coltfever website and it almost perfectly matches this pistol.