Re: Guess the muzzle velocity [Re: onlysmith&wesson] #7838546 05/13/20 08:23 PM
R
rmp Offline OP
Bird Dog
OP Offline
Bird Dog
R
Originally Posted by onlysmith&wesson
I'll be following this, hoping you have the same great results I have had with this ammo. I have been buying it for 6 years, and have dialed it on three different CDS set ups with excellent results out to 400 yards on hunting set ups. I posted my chrono results a few years ago and the velocity was so tight that I was told by a few posters that something had to be wrong with the chrono. If it varies from lot to lot, I haven't had that experience. I dial it through out the year and kill with it. You'll be glad you're going to the trouble to give Leupold good data. It's been a great hunting set up for me.

3115, wow great knowledge (way to good to be a guess). I've used this bullet for about 6 years also but this is my first CDS hope it goes as well as I've heard.

Jameson Peak Ranch
Trophy Whitetails
"Lets go hunt a BIG one."
Re: Guess the muzzle velocity [Re: onlysmith&wesson] #7838980 05/14/20 02:50 AM
R
Roughneck913 Offline
Bird Dog
Bird Dog
R
Originally Posted by Roughneck913

Had superformance 7mag that ran close to 300 fps slower than box speed. 10 shot averaged it to do get CDS info for a customer because some dumbass friend had recommended he use the box speed and he couldn't figure out why his turret never seemed to match. Turns out if you have a barrel 4 inches shorter than Hornady tested with, you lose some speed. And if your barrel material/finish/twist rate are different, that matter too! who would have thought?!?!?!?! (heavy sarcasm)

What length of barrel was getting 300 fps less than the velocity called out on the box?

20 inch from Christensen Arms. The exact number below advertised was 282 if I remember correctly

Last edited by Roughneck913; 05/14/20 02:51 AM.
Re: Guess the muzzle velocity [Re: onlysmith&wesson] #7839017 05/14/20 03:27 AM
U
unclebubba Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter