texashuntingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
spentprimers, heath8041, Hit12, gwallbright, pencil&757
67064 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
dogcatcher 103,788
bill oxner 71,253
stxranchman 56,243
SnakeWrangler 53,009
RKHarm24 44,585
rifleman 44,451
BMD 41,089
Gravytrain 38,127
Facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics432,457
Posts6,506,517
Members67,064
Most Online19,184
Feb 5th, 2020
Print Thread
My Group Moved - Help #7805038 04/13/20 08:08 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 521
B
BigDad Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
B
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 521
2 weeks ago I mounted a new Tract Toric 4-20x50 MOA scope on my rifle. I sighted it in at 200 yards and set the zero stop there, I fired 20 rounds during that session. This weekend I shot a 5 round group at 200 yds and it was still on, then I dialed up 8.25 MOA and fired a 5 shot group at 500 yards and elevation was good. I shot a 15 rounds at steel then dialed it back down to 200 yards (zero stop) and fired my last 2 rounds and this time my 200 yard group was 3.25 inches low.

I checked the scope base and rings and they are tight. The base is a EWG 20 MOA and rings are Burris Signature Zee.

I checked the stock fit and its tight, the barrel is still free floated. The Stock is a Boyd At-One that has pillars installed and bedded.

This afternoon I'm going to secure the rifle in a vise a dial the scope up and down a few times to see if I see anymore issues returning to zero.

Is there anything else I need to do before I return the scope to Tract?


Joe
Re: My Group Moved - Help [Re: BigDad] #7805042 04/13/20 08:14 PM
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 4,237
U
unclebubba Online Content
Extreme Tracker
Online Content
Extreme Tracker
U
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 4,237
Did you let the rifle barrel cool between groups? What gun and what profile barrel? Assuming that the POI is not due to barrel heating, the scope would be my first suspect.


Originally Posted by txhuntingguide
If I choose to hunt in a coon tail hat, a pink tootoo and hip waders that is my fine...
Re: My Group Moved - Help [Re: BigDad] #7805055 04/13/20 08:30 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 521
B
BigDad Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
B
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 521
Yes, slow fire, barrel remained cool. Gun is a Stevens 200 (Savage 110), Caliber 6.5x55, barrel is X-caliber light varmint 8" twist. Its a consistent sub .5 MOA gun at 200 yds and sub .75 MOA at 500 yds due to my poor eyesight and shooting skills.

[Linked Image]

Last edited by BigDad; 04/13/20 08:43 PM.

Joe
Re: My Group Moved - Help [Re: BigDad] #7805086 04/13/20 08:53 PM
Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 119
E
earl39 Offline
Woodsman
Offline
Woodsman
E
Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 119
Did you go to the zero stop or go to the stop and then to your zero setting? Zero stops are to keep you from going to far, not meant to be a dead on zero


"And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. John 8:32 (New King James Version)
Re: My Group Moved - Help [Re: BigDad] #7805107 04/13/20 09:11 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 521
B
BigDad Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
B
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 521
My zero stop is set to 200 yard zero. After shooting at 500 yards I dialed elevation back down to 200 yard zero where it was stopped by the zero stop. My group was 3.5" lower than where it should have been.


Joe
Re: My Group Moved - Help [Re: BigDad] #7805134 04/13/20 09:31 PM
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 9,283
6
603Country Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
6
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 9,283
Other than worry about the scope being a problem, I’d re-zero and try again, to see if the problem exists or repeats.


Not my monkeys, not my circus...
Re: My Group Moved - Help [Re: unclebubba] #7805180 04/13/20 09:59 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 16,918
C
ChadTRG42 Offline
THF Celebrity
Offline
THF Celebrity
C
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 16,918
Originally Posted by unclebubba
the scope would be my first suspect.


^This. If the load is a half moa load, you should return to zero every time. If not, the first thing I'd check is the scope. Otherwise, something else is moving and causing the POI to shift. What it is, no clue. But scope tracking would be looked into. Next would be the rifle and making sure something didn't come loose or moving around.



Custom and Precision Ammunition!!
www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL
Re: My Group Moved - Help [Re: BigDad] #7805203 04/13/20 10:15 PM
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 12,131
Q
QuitShootinYoungBucks Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
Q
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 12,131
Yep, shoot a box test with it. I bet you'll find it's the scope. But I agree with earl39, I would not put the zero-stop exactly at your zero.


[Linked Image]

https://web.archive.org/web/20170223065011/http:/www.rrdvegas.com/silencer-cleaning.html
Re: My Group Moved - Help [Re: BigDad] #7805264 04/13/20 11:34 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 521
B
BigDad Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
B
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 521
Well I put the rifle in a vice and dialed to max elevation and max windage several times and it returned to zero each time. Guess I'll shoot it some more before deciding if I need to send the scope back or not. Hope it doesn't let me down at an inopportune time.

Thanks for the advice guys.


Joe
Re: My Group Moved - Help [Re: QuitShootinYoungBucks] #7805265 04/13/20 11:34 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 521
B
BigDad Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
B
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 521
Originally Posted by QuitShootinYoungBucks
Yep, shoot a box test with it. I bet you'll find it's the scope. But I agree with earl39, I would not put the zero-stop exactly at your zero.



Why not put the zero stop on zero?


Joe
Re: My Group Moved - Help [Re: BigDad] #7805288 04/13/20 11:52 PM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,838
E
Earl Online Content
Extreme Tracker
Online Content
Extreme Tracker
E
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,838
Fireman explained it to me the last time I was at his range and we were zeroing a couple of my guns. Perhaps you use a different load that requires you to come down a bit or maybe you share your scope and mount between different guns that have different zeros, you can't do that if your zero stop is set at 0 if you need to drop down from there. Also, the zero stop is predominately to keep someone from going too far when they are having to dial down several rotations. If you have to dial down thru several revolutions the stop will quickly let you know where your zero is when adjusting back down, you just will have to make the small adjustment to get you to your zero.

Earl

Originally Posted by BigDad
Originally Posted by QuitShootinYoungBucks
Yep, shoot a box test with it. I bet you'll find it's the scope. But I agree with earl39, I would not put the zero-stop exactly at your zero.



Why not put the zero stop on zero?


Last edited by Earl; 04/13/20 11:53 PM.

Re: My Group Moved - Help [Re: BigDad] #7805307 04/14/20 12:10 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 521
B
BigDad Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
B
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 521
Thanks Earl that makes sense.


Joe
Re: My Group Moved - Help [Re: BigDad] #7805379 04/14/20 01:23 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 31,754
F
FiremanJG Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
F
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 31,754
It's called down travel. I can set my ATACR to have a hard stop at "0". But I dont, I leave about .5 Mil past "0". So when I love the scope to another rifle, I don't have to address the zero stop, if I have to bring the rifle/scope zero below "0".

But do a tracking test on your scope anyway. Something still seems fishy.


[Linked Image]
800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available
Re: My Group Moved - Help [Re: BigDad] #7805581 04/14/20 11:08 AM
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 5,971
D
dee Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
D
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 5,971
Be sure to remove parallax. It can cause a shift in poi.


"A vote is like a rifle; it's usefulness depends on the character of the user" Theodore Roosevelt
Re: My Group Moved - Help [Re: BigDad] #7805592 04/14/20 11:36 AM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,961
W
wp75169 Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
W
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,961
Nice gun. I hope turns out to be a zero stop or operator issue and not an actual tracking issue. Keep us posted.

Re: My Group Moved - Help [Re: BigDad] #7806918 04/15/20 04:13 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 521
B
BigDad Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
B
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 521
Thanks again for all the good advice. Since dialing the turrets while the rifle was in a vice didn't show any problems, I'll try to get out and shoot a box test this weekend.


Joe
Re: My Group Moved - Help [Re: BigDad] #7809812 04/17/20 11:43 PM
Joined: Mar 2020
Posts: 216
R
Roughneck913 Offline
Woodsman
Offline
Woodsman
R
Joined: Mar 2020
Posts: 216
Ditto on the tracking test. I'm not super familiar with the Tract Torics, but if you ruled everything else out, something scope related maybe it, and simply running it out to max adjustment and back won't necessarily show you a tracking issue. You need to dial with something to actually compare the reticle movement to.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 2004-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3