Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Change start of hunting season? #7752417 02/21/20 02:11 PM
68blackbird Offline OP
Light Foot
OP Offline
Light Foot
Ok, newbie here that wants to share a theory I’ve been preaching for the past 15+ years. After reading the “Just like back in the rut” thread, it made me think of my theory.
18 years ago, we moved into our home in Corpus. There was an orange tree and we picked oranges on Xmas day that year. After a few years, I noticed it was getting later & later in the year to pick them. Last year we picked oranges the day before Valentine’s Day because of possible freeze (again, in Corpus). I still have oranges that aren’t quite ready to pick this year. So my theory I have been debating is, it seems like what I call the Climalogical Clock has shifted. The weather pattern seems to be it stays warmer…longer, and the colder weather comes later, make sense? As I put it, seems like the weather calendar should start with December being the 1st month and January the last, again, does that make sense to anyone? As I stated, I base this on personal observations and my orange tree harvesting.
With that being said, and if this truly a pattern, seems to me this would greatly effect hunting season? I’ve discussed this with my hunting buddies, who have hunted much longer than I have, and they never thought of it that way, but they agree. Would it seem advantageous to anyone to move the start of hunting season to the 1st week of December and end middle of February? It seemed to me down here in South Texas, the rut was just getting real good about the time the season ended. Again, these are my very newbie observations. May it is different for other regions, just throwing this out for debate. Kel

Re: Change start of hunting season? [Re: 68blackbird] #7752447 02/21/20 02:46 PM
JDP Ranch Offline
Bird Dog
Bird Dog