Print Thread
Spring food plot questions #7713236 01/10/20 01:21 AM
C
clear creek 89 Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
C
So this is the first year I’ve ever decided to plant spring plots and just want some insight. What to plant and when? What has worked and hasn’t worked for y’all in the past? I’m really new to food plots all together so advice on ph levels and line and fertilizer would be helpful to. I plan on doing my own research on this but advice from experience is valuable! Plots sizes should be close to 1.5 acres a piece. I’m located in Cooke county. Thanks for the advice in advance

[Linked Image]
Re: Spring food plot questions [Re: clear creek 89] #7713444 01/10/20 01:04 PM
R
rickym Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
R
1) Take soil samples and send them to A&M.

Re: Spring food plot questions [Re: clear creek 89] #7714982 01/12/20 02:18 AM
K
KevinT. Offline
Tracker
Tracker
K
I’m doing my first ones this spring as well, approx 5 scattered acres
I soil tested in the early winter, soon as it dries up having 2 tons of lime put on each acre.
Bought a mix from MB’s seed for the spring& summer

See how it goes

Re: Spring food plot questions [Re: rickym] #7720775 01/17/20 05:06 PM
JDP Ranch Offline
Bird Dog
Bird Dog
Originally Posted by rickym

This is the most important. That will tell you exactly what fertilizer you need as well as any adjustments for ph levels. Can save you lots of $$$.

I'm planting Lablab and Sunflowers (peredovik) this year. Lablab is drought-resistant and provides plenty of protein. You may want to consider fencing in food plots under 2 acres in case the deer hit it hard before whatever you plant has a chance to grow.