texashuntingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
LoneStarCigar, MH blkdog, LUKE22, Little L, WBRC
70569 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
dogcatcher 110,643
bill oxner 91,416
SnakeWrangler 64,135
stxranchman 60,274
Gravytrain 46,950
RKHarm24 44,585
rifleman 44,461
BMD 41,241
Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics616,109
Posts11,411,631
Members85,569
Most Online19,184
Feb 5th, 2020
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: GFCI Outlet Question(s) [Re: krmitchell] #7714719 01/11/20 08:54 PM
Joined: Mar 2019
Posts: 16,900
TCM3 Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
Joined: Mar 2019
Posts: 16,900
We have a GFCI in the bathroom, and one outlet outside that is down stream from it.
If it rains heavy enough the inside bathroom outlet would trip.


[Linked Image]
Re: GFCI Outlet Question(s) [Re: TCM3] #7714734 01/11/20 09:17 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 22,862
F
fadetoblack64 Offline
giddyup
Offline
giddyup
F
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 22,862
If its working now...........move on and forget about it.


The wind in the wires made a tattle-tale sound
And a wave broke over the railing
And every man knew, as the captain did too
T’was the witch of September come stealin’
Re: GFCI Outlet Question(s) [Re: fadetoblack64] #7714742 01/11/20 09:22 PM
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 91,416
bill oxner Offline
THF Celebrity
Offline
THF Celebrity
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 91,416
Originally Posted by takewhatyoucan64
If its working now...........move on and forget about it.



Bingo.


Quail hunting is like walking into, and out of a beautiful painting all day long. Gene Hill


[Linked Image]




Re: GFCI Outlet Question(s) [Re: fadetoblack64] #7714757 01/11/20 09:51 PM
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 4,490
K
krmitchell Offline OP
Extreme Tracker
OP Offline
Extreme Tracker
K
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 4,490
Originally Posted by takewhatyoucan64
If its working now...........move on and forget about it.


I would except a fridge and upright freezer with a couple hundred lbs of deer meet got powered off by this incident. Had I not noticed our security cameras off this morning or been out of town I’d be out a ton of meat. Need to find a different way to power them now.

Re: GFCI Outlet Question(s) [Re: krmitchell] #7714787 01/11/20 10:19 PM
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 5,491
L
Lazyjack Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
L
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 5,491
If it was my home. I would consider....

GFCI plugs can be connected to protect only that single outlet or it can be connected to protect all outlets downstream.
As stated, the cheapest method is to use one GFCI and protect multiple outlets downsteam.

Evaluate circuit, determining which outlets I do not want controlled , and the outlets I need protected.
This may mean buying several GFCI outlets, connecting each wet location for single outlet protection.


Keep safety first in mind. Hard give an exact solution with being on location. Wet locations must be protected. If in doubt, call in electrician.


If you can't bedazzle them with your intelligence, just baffle them with B.S.
Re: GFCI Outlet Question(s) [Re: TCM3] #7714789 01/11/20 10:23 PM
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 5,491
L
Lazyjack Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
L
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 5,491
Originally Posted by TCM3
We have a GFCI in the bathroom, and one outlet outside that is down stream from it.
If it rains heavy enough the inside bathroom outlet would trip.



This a good application of downstream connections, both outlets are in a wet location.

Unless, losing power to bathroom outlet is a nuisance. Then converting both outlets to single outlet protection would be an option.


If you can't bedazzle them with your intelligence, just baffle them with B.S.
Re: GFCI Outlet Question(s) [Re: Cast] #7714795 01/11/20 10:27 PM
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 12,033
P
Paluxy Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
P
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 12,033
Originally Posted by Cast
N I replace them with good quality 20amp versions when they go.


Why replace them with 20amp ?

Re: GFCI Outlet Question(s) [Re: krmitchell] #7714801 01/11/20 10:42 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 22,630
Cast Offline
THF Celebrity
Offline
THF Celebrity
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 22,630
I believe the 20 amp versions are tougher and trip less.


Cast

[Linked Image]

I have a short attention spa
Re: GFCI Outlet Question(s) [Re: krmitchell] #7714803 01/11/20 10:47 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 9,763
T
Tin Head Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
T
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 9,763
Im assuming you would also get 20amps of juice in you also before they trip?


[Linked Image]
Re: GFCI Outlet Question(s) [Re: Cast] #7714810 01/11/20 10:55 PM
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 12,033
P
Paluxy Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
P
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 12,033
Originally Posted by Cast
I believe the 20 amp versions are tougher and trip less.


Not sure why they would trip less. Putting a 20a outlet on a 15a circuit isn't recommended. Granted the circuit breaker is going to protect the circuit but first thing you know someone is actually wanting to plug in something 20a

Re: GFCI Outlet Question(s) [Re: Tin Head] #7714812 01/11/20 11:00 PM
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 12,033
P
Paluxy Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
P
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 12,033
Originally Posted by Tin Head
Im assuming you would also get 20amps of juice in you also before they trip?


GFCI outlets don't trip on a rating of amperage. They trip when there is an imbalance of current between hot and neutral or a ground fault. When something is plugged in an running there is even current on hot and neutral. Let's say a hairdryer is being used and is dropped in water, the amount of current from the hot side would be greater than what is returning on neutral and the GFCI would trip.

Re: GFCI Outlet Question(s) [Re: Tin Head] #7714814 01/11/20 11:02 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 22,630
Cast Offline
THF Celebrity
Offline
THF Celebrity
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 22,630
Originally Posted by Tin Head
Im assuming you would also get 20amps of juice in you also before they trip?


No, the GFCI trips on a ground fault. The 15 amp breaker powering it will still trip at 15 amps. You gain nothing but a better outlet to plug in to. Better, tighter connections.


Cast

[Linked Image]

I have a short attention spa
Re: GFCI Outlet Question(s) [Re: Cast] #7714822 01/11/20 11:06 PM
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 12,033
P
Paluxy Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
P
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 12,033
Originally Posted by Cast
Originally Posted by Tin Head
Im assuming you would also get 20amps of juice in you also before they trip?


No, the GFCI trips on a ground fault. The 15 amp breaker powering it will still trip at 15 amps. You gain nothing but a better outlet to plug in to. Better, tighter connections.


Doing that knowing there is a 15a breaker behind it and knowing better than to plug in a 20a appliance is one thing, advising those without electrical knowledge to do it is bad advice.

Re: GFCI Outlet Question(s) [Re: Paluxy] #7714824 01/11/20 11:06 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 22,630
Cast Offline
THF Celebrity
Offline
THF Celebrity
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 22,630
Originally Posted by Hancock
Originally Posted by Cast
I believe the 20 amp versions are tougher and trip less.


Not sure why they would trip less. Putting a 20a outlet on a 15a circuit isn't recommended. Granted the circuit breaker is going to protect the circuit but first thing you know someone is actually wanting to plug in something 20a


Yep, and they can, but they’re only gonna get 15 amps. I’m biased because I always wire all GFCI’s as dedicated 20 amp outlets. I’ve never wired downstream outlets from a GFCI.


Cast

[Linked Image]

I have a short attention spa
Re: GFCI Outlet Question(s) [Re: krmitchell] #7714901 01/12/20 12:43 AM
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 2,531
F
Fatdaddy Offline
Veteran Tracker
Offline
Veteran Tracker
F
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 2,531
Water getting into the outside plug. Make sure the outside one is sealed

Re: GFCI Outlet Question(s) [Re: RedRanger] #7715329 01/12/20 03:40 PM
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,722
hopalong Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,722
Originally Posted by RedRanger
Originally Posted by pdr55
Originally Posted by krmitchell
Originally Posted by pdr55
Yes, they are fed from secondary side of the GFI.


The rest of the outlets in the garage?

Push the test button.
The outlets that don’t have power are fed from that GFCI.


Are you sure?

One of my downstairs outlet in hall bath ran my GFCI in the MasterBath downstairs, when it wouldn't work in my Master I would have to reset it in the hall bath.

When my GFCI on the front door didn't work, I would have to reset it from garage GFCI.

My kitchen has 3 GFCI and it when it went out I reset the button in the kitchen




electrician just ran all gfci circuits together, easy for them, sucks for the owner.



lake fork FISHERMANS COVE MARINA - 903 474 7479 reservations

Re: GFCI Outlet Question(s) [Re: Cast] #7715356 01/12/20 04:16 PM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 2,729
M
Marc K Online Content
Veteran Tracker
Online Content
Veteran Tracker
M
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 2,729
Originally Posted by Cast
Originally Posted by Hancock
Originally Posted by Cast
I believe the 20 amp versions are tougher and trip less.


Not sure why they would trip less. Putting a 20a outlet on a 15a circuit isn't recommended. Granted the circuit breaker is going to protect the circuit but first thing you know someone is actually wanting to plug in something 20a


Yep, and they can, but they’re only gonna get 15 amps. I’m biased because I always wire all GFCI’s as dedicated 20 amp outlets. I’ve never wired downstream outlets from a GFCI.


In my experience, Cast - you are right on target. The more expensive 20A GFI's are much more robust and far less susceptible to nuisance trips.
Marc


A Democracy is when two wolves and a lamb vote on the dinner menu. That is why this country was specifically not designed as a Democracy. We are a Constitutional Republic.
Re: GFCI Outlet Question(s) [Re: Marc K] #7715428 01/12/20 05:41 PM
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 12,033
P
Paluxy Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
P
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 12,033
Originally Posted by Marc K
In my experience, Cast - you are right on target. The more expensive 20A GFI's are much more robust and far less susceptible to nuisance trips.
Marc



More expensive (ie quality) might make a difference but a typical 15a and 20a GFCI outlet of the same brand have the same GFCI type A rating.

Re: GFCI Outlet Question(s) [Re: Paluxy] #7715525 01/12/20 08:13 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 11,234
S
Simple Searcher Offline
THF Celebrity
Offline
THF Celebrity
S
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 11,234
Originally Posted by Hancock
Originally Posted by Marc K
In my experience, Cast - you are right on target. The more expensive 20A GFI's are much more robust and far less susceptible to nuisance trips.
Marc



More expensive (ie quality) might make a difference but a typical 15a and 20a GFCI outlet of the same brand have the same GFCI type A rating.

Yup, tripping at 5 milliamps is 5 milliamps. Regardless the circuit rating.


[Linked Image]

"Man is still a hunter, still a simple searcher after meat..." Robert C. Ruark
Re: GFCI Outlet Question(s) [Re: krmitchell] #7715935 01/13/20 02:17 AM
Joined: Aug 2019
Posts: 10
T
Travelinman Offline
Light Foot
Offline
Light Foot
T
Joined: Aug 2019
Posts: 10
Cast, are you saying if you wire a house every outlet that is required to be GFCI protected you wire as a dedicated 20 amp circuit? What about ARC Fault do you use Arc Fault breaker or individual arc fault outlets at every location? Not to debate just curious as to other electricians practices.

Re: GFCI Outlet Question(s) [Re: Travelinman] #7715941 01/13/20 02:25 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 22,630
Cast Offline
THF Celebrity
Offline
THF Celebrity
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 22,630
Originally Posted by Travelinman
Cast, are you saying if you wire a house every outlet that is required to be GFCI protected you wire as a dedicated 20 amp circuit? What about ARC Fault do you use Arc Fault breaker or individual arc fault outlets at every location? Not to debate just curious as to other electricians practices.



I figure that outlets in bath and kitchen are appliance circuits, so I wire them that way and install 12 awg and 20a GFCI Outlets. I don’t wire downstream from them either. Everything else gets conventional breakers. I only wire my own and close friends stuff these days.


Cast

[Linked Image]

I have a short attention spa
Re: GFCI Outlet Question(s) [Re: krmitchell] #7716237 01/13/20 02:56 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,405
D
DannyB Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
D
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,405
Originally Posted by krmitchell
Originally Posted by takewhatyoucan64
If its working now...........move on and forget about it.


I would except a fridge and upright freezer with a couple hundred lbs of deer meet got powered off by this incident. Had I not noticed our security cameras off this morning or been out of town I’d be out a ton of meat. Need to find a different way to power them now.


Since you have a fridge and freezer both on a GFCI there is one solution that might not break the bank. You could have an electrician, unless you have the skill, drop a 20 amp circuit down just for those two appliances. "Pop-in" or remodel plug boxes are easy to install. A single circuit may be adequate. You can look on the appliance labels to see the amps needed. My fridge says 6.5, freezer 5. Two circuits would be better, but one should suffice. You don't even have to change the plugs and wiring that is already there if you didn't want to. The plugs are I'm guessing hidden behind the appliances.


Re: GFCI Outlet Question(s) [Re: krmitchell] #7716242 01/13/20 03:03 PM
Joined: Aug 2016
Posts: 7,817
H
Herbie Hancock Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
H
Joined: Aug 2016
Posts: 7,817
I just had to replace a GFCI breaker not long ago, it was almost 5 years old so just got a bad one. I could flip the breaker and it would stay on anywhere from a minute to an hour before tripping again.


It takes beer to make thirst worthwhile - J. Fred Schmidt

The internet is an I.Q. Test, people post their scores in the comment section.
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 2004-2022 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3