East Texas Food Plot Questions #7705481 01/02/20 04:33 PM
P
PewPewPew Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
P
Hi Friends,

I am a total newbie when it comes to food plots and have a few questions for those of you guys that have some experience. Any help or being able to point me in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

The plot of land is located in southern Sabine County (East Texas). I was thinking two spots on the property for food plots - one area has a lot of sunlight and the other would be very limited sunlight. What takes best in those types of areas for whitetail? One big issue is I live in the DFW area, so it would have to be something that doesn't take very much maintenance. I have done some research online and can't find anything specific to East Texas pineywoods. Maybe some of you guys have experience in this area?

Thanks again for your help. I really appreciate it.

~Alan

Re: East Texas Food Plot Questions [Re: PewPewPew] #7705487 01/02/20 04:40 PM
F
fishdfly Offline
Pro Tracker
Pro Tracker
F
Check the following and contact them:

https://easttexasseedcompany.com

Re: East Texas Food Plot Questions [Re: PewPewPew] #7705490 01/02/20 04:45 PM
JDP Ranch Offline
Bird Dog
Bird Dog
I'm live in DFW but have a place several hours West.

For whitetail - I've been planting oats with great success. I use a seed drill, but know people who simply cast and then drag over and have had them grow. In fact, I spilled some oats near my barn area and I was surprised how many grew in the area I spilled the oats.

I planted in 3 areas. Most were in rather sunny areas, but one of the food plots had an area that was covered by shade. Oats grew up first in the shaded area - which I think is due to the soil holding moisture better there.

After planting, they are maintenance-free. They are fairly forgiving and the deer love them.

Re: East Texas Food Plot Questions [Re: JDP Ranch] #7705505 01/02/20 04:53 PM
P
PewPewPew Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline