Print Thread
Steady to wing and shot #7672925 11/26/19 04:03 PM
R
reeltexan Offline OP
THF Celebrity
OP Offline
THF Celebrity
R

I've never thought much about keeping a dog steady to wing and shot until recently. My new pup is at a stage right now where I could start this training.

Some will voice pros and cons, just like anything else.

Is this standard procedure for you and your dogs?
Ever done it?
Thoughts?

[Linked Image]

"Give me an Army of West Point graduates and I'll win a battle... Give me a handful of Texas Aggies and I'll win a war." - General Patton

Re: Steady to wing and shot [Re: reeltexan] #7672937 11/26/19 04:23 PM
bill oxner Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
Did it for my last two pointers. They got over it soon after I started shooting birds over them. Only way to keep them steady is to have a gunner.

Quail hunting is like walking into, and out of a beautiful painting all day long. Gene Hill

[Linked Image]

Re: Steady to wing and shot [Re: reeltexan] #7673359 11/27/19 12:32 AM
B
bobcat1 Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
B
Meat dogs when I was young did not matter. It seemed to be safer for the dogs if they at least stood until shot though. Trial dogs were different. Wing, shot, and until released was the goal.

Bobby Barnett

Re: Steady to wing and shot [Re: reeltexan] #7673367 11/27/19 12:36 AM
bill oxner Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
Pretty old argument but everyone would be proud of their pointing dogs if they came that way. It's beautiful to see one turn only its head and watch the bird fly away.

Quail hunting is like walking into, and out of a beautiful painting all day long. Gene Hill

[Linked Image]

Re: Steady to wing and shot [Re: reeltexan] #7673493 11/27/19 02:48 AM
B
Birdhunter61 Offline
Bird Dog
Bird Dog
B
Not fair for yours to be steady, and your hunting buddies not.

Robby

Re: Steady to wing and shot [Re: reeltexan] #7675023 11/28/19 10:32 PM
B
blanked Offline
Pro Tracker
Pro Tracker
B