texashuntingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
franck922, Highlightreel31, NMAOhunting, jpbanta, shawresse
68452 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
dogcatcher 107,759
bill oxner 84,545
stxranchman 57,466
SnakeWrangler 57,219
RKHarm24 44,585
rifleman 44,461
Gravytrain 42,610
BMD 41,172
Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics604,190
Posts11,320,894
Members83,452
Most Online19,184
Feb 5th, 2020
Print Thread
SD Cards #7663084 11/15/19 08:34 PM
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 945
Y
YellowDog Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
Y
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 945
Just found out the hard way. That SD cards have a data lock on them. Camera would not take pictures and could not delete the old pic's. Figure Id bring the SD card home and reformat the card with laptop. I found the little switch on the side.


Born to Hunt/Fish
Re: SD Cards [Re: YellowDog] #7663096 11/15/19 08:46 PM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,501
E
Espy Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
E
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,501
roflmao lesson learned

Re: SD Cards [Re: Espy] #7663102 11/15/19 08:53 PM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 6,358
M
Mr. T. Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
M
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 6,358
Originally Posted by Espy
roflmao lesson learned

been there done that... hammer


Cabin rental in Pagosa Springs, Co.
Sleeps 10, If interested please PM me.
Re: SD Cards [Re: YellowDog] #7663117 11/15/19 09:01 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 22,630
Cast Offline
THF Celebrity
Offline
THF Celebrity
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 22,630
You won’t forget that type lesson.


Cast

[Linked Image]

I have a short attention spa
Re: SD Cards [Re: Mr. T.] #7663123 11/15/19 09:05 PM
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 7,184
O
Old Rabbit Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
O
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 7,184
Originally Posted by Mr. T.
Originally Posted by Espy
roflmao lesson learned

been there done that... hammer

Yep.

Re: SD Cards [Re: Mr. T.] #7663126 11/15/19 09:08 PM
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 6,930
J
Jimbo1 Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
J
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 6,930
Originally Posted by Mr. T.
Originally Posted by Espy
roflmao lesson learned

been there done that... hammer

I would bet most of us have but wouldn't admit it! I just realized this myself, but that wasn't the problem.

Re: SD Cards [Re: YellowDog] #7663147 11/15/19 09:38 PM
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 945
Y
YellowDog Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
Y
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 945
never will I forget the switch on the side.


Born to Hunt/Fish
Re: SD Cards [Re: YellowDog] #7663385 11/16/19 03:00 AM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,730
N
ndhunter Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
N
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,730
Why was the switch turned off? I think the switch is to make the card read only.I have never bought that was switched off?

Re: SD Cards [Re: YellowDog] #7663387 11/16/19 03:01 AM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,730
N
ndhunter Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
N
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,730
My biggest issue is forgetting to reformat each time I empty an SD card.

Re: SD Cards [Re: YellowDog] #7663454 11/16/19 05:05 AM
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,587
G
gtrich94 Online Content
Pro Tracker
Online Content
Pro Tracker
G
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,587
I’ve accidentally flipped them to locked a couple of times when I put the cards in the camera. Now I use tape and tape the card in the unlocked position.


Thanks,
Rich
Re: SD Cards [Re: ndhunter] #7663927 11/16/19 10:41 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 727
Jon Offline
Tracker
Offline
Tracker
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 727
Originally Posted by ndhunter
My biggest issue is forgetting to reformat each time I empty an SD card.

We been just deleting the DCIM folder and seems to work. Is that the same as reformatting?

Re: SD Cards [Re: Jon] #7664100 11/17/19 01:48 AM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 579
T
TexasUplander Offline
Tracker
Offline
Tracker
T
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 579
Originally Posted by Jon
Originally Posted by ndhunter
My biggest issue is forgetting to reformat each time I empty an SD card.

We been just deleting the DCIM folder and seems to work. Is that the same as reformatting?

I'd like to know what reformatting is as well please

Re: SD Cards [Re: YellowDog] #7664112 11/17/19 02:04 AM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 9,628
S
Simple Searcher Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
S
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 9,628
That little switch has somehow got moved and stumped me a few times, never again.


[Linked Image]
"Man is still a hunter, still a simple searcher after meat..." Robert C. Ruark
Re: SD Cards [Re: YellowDog] #7664129 11/17/19 02:21 AM
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 761
J
jnd59 Offline
Tracker
Offline
Tracker
J
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 761
Your camera should have a format option.ni format when I put a different card in. Make sure you've copied the pictures you want first.


No matter how high a duck flies a hammer still breaks a window.
Re: SD Cards [Re: YellowDog] #7664224 11/17/19 04:51 AM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,355
S
Shotgun Willie Offline
Pro Tracker
Offline
Pro Tracker
S
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,355
Gotta go through the options each time you put a card back in the camera. Find the option that says something like "format card", select it, and let the camera do it itself. Not a big deal if you only have one or two cameras of the same manufacturer, but it can be an issue if you have a bunch of different cameras and different cards.

Why they put that dadgum little switch on there in the first place is a mystery.

Re: SD Cards [Re: Jon] #7664296 11/17/19 12:00 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 2,597
F
flintknapper Online Content
Veteran Tracker
Online Content
Veteran Tracker
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 2,597
Originally Posted by Jon
Originally Posted by ndhunter
My biggest issue is forgetting to reformat each time I empty an SD card.

We been just deleting the DCIM folder and seems to work. Is that the same as reformatting?


That's what I've always done as well. Since I always view my pics/videos on my computer, when finished I just open the DCIM file and delete it. That erases all pics/videos and formats the card. Ready to use again.


Spartans ask not...how many, but where!
Re: SD Cards [Re: TexasUplander] #7665424 11/18/19 03:37 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,730
N
ndhunter Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
N
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,730
Originally Posted by Chuckw
Originally Posted by Jon
Originally Posted by ndhunter
My biggest issue is forgetting to reformat each time I empty an SD card.

We been just deleting the DCIM folder and seems to work. Is that the same as reformatting?

I'd like to know what reformatting is as well please


Formatting is a more complete way of erasing the files on an SD card as opposed to deleting them. It assigns a new file system to the card and makes it ready to use on next device. The few times that I have had corrupt sd cards was when I re-used cards without removing all the files or formatting disk. I usually format on pc by right clicking on e: drive, I need to figure out how to do it on my iPhone reader.

Re: SD Cards [Re: TexasUplander] #7665428 11/18/19 03:37 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 9,028
K
KWood_TSU Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
K
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 9,028
Originally Posted by Chuckw
Originally Posted by Jon
Originally Posted by ndhunter
My biggest issue is forgetting to reformat each time I empty an SD card.

We been just deleting the DCIM folder and seems to work. Is that the same as reformatting?

I'd like to know what reformatting is as well please


On your computer, after looking at pics and moving to whatever folder you want, right click on removable disk that's your SD card. Then click on format, a screen will pop up, hit start, and it'll ask if you're sure because that erases all data on your card.


Amat Victoria Curam - Victory Loves Preparation

Bison Coolers



Re: SD Cards [Re: YellowDog] #7665444 11/18/19 03:55 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 36,019
R
redchevy Offline
THF Celebrity
Offline
THF Celebrity
R
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 36,019
Many cameras will format the card themselves. I don't ever format the card and haven't had problems with it.

Some people I know put a small dot of super glue on the lock tab in the unlocked position to prevent future problems.

Recently we have been having some compatibility problems. We have 2 brand new moltrie cammeras with 16GB cards. you have to try forever to get our old laptop to open and read one of those new cards. Put and old card in the same camera and it works fine. Put the new card in an old camera and it has issues. Put the new card in a new laptob and it works like a charm.


It's hell eatin em live
Re: SD Cards [Re: redchevy] #7666664 11/19/19 05:16 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,355
S
Shotgun Willie Offline
Pro Tracker
Offline
Pro Tracker
S
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,355
Originally Posted by redchevy
Many cameras will format the card themselves. I don't ever format the card and haven't had problems with it.

Some people I know put a small dot of super glue on the lock tab in the unlocked position to prevent future problems.

Recently we have been having some compatibility problems. We have 2 brand new moltrie cammeras with 16GB cards. you have to try forever to get our old laptop to open and read one of those new cards. Put and old card in the same camera and it works fine. Put the new card in an old camera and it has issues. Put the new card in a new laptob and it works like a charm.


Had the exact same problem with a 16gb card, both a new and a 3 or 4 year old laptop. Never could get it to open, figured it was corrupted, and chunked it. Keeping it to 8gb cards from now on, never had a problem with them.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 2004-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3