Print Thread
Protein Feeding #7652337 11/05/19 02:15 AM
B
BlackSnake Offline OP
Pro Tracker
OP Offline
Pro Tracker
B
I’m 57 and I’ve been hunting since I was 6 years old. Never hunted in my life from a blind or used feeders until about 11 years ago. I grew up scouting game trails, scrapes, etc. Once in a while I’d throw a few cups of corn on the ground to stop the deer. So, after learning the blind and feeder I’m wanting to learn more about protein feeding. I’ve been doing a lot of reading and I get the gist and purpose of feeding protein. So my real question is, what protein should be used. This is where I get confused. Bucks need it for energy and weight gain after the rut. Does need it for their pregnancy and the fawns need it at birth. Usually by mid summer, protein is usually ready available by nature. I’m also reading that cattle cubes are just as good as the deer protein. Only difference is the picture on the bag weather it be a cow or a deer. Unless it’s specifically filled with additives for reasons other than pure protein.
So educate me on your process as well as what you use. Thank you

Re: Protein Feeding [Re: BlackSnake] #7652738 11/05/19 03:26 PM
R
Rustler Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter
R
A decent quality deer pellet will contain macro & micro nutrients & minerals specifically chosen & blended (designed from the start) for optimum nutrition to deer / other antlered animals.

Supplemental deer feeding is not about just a protein source, the other stuff in the pellet is at least as important and on hard years more important than protein content.

Someone saying cattle cubes are just as good doesn't understand the very basics, of either cattle or deer nutrition. The vitamin, mineral differences & protein sources alone would tell anyone with a slight bit of understanding they're not at all interchangeable.

There are several quality deer specific pellet feeds available, to name a few widely available;