Print Thread
Looking for a new cap light? #7634957 10/17/19 12:59 PM
T
Texas Dan Online Content OP
THF Celebrity
OP Online Content
THF Celebrity
T
While this post would probably be one more for the Hunting Gear section, I'm posting it here in view of hunting safety.

I like to use an LED cap light, one that fits on the edge of the brim of your cap, when walking to and from my stand. I've always been one that prefers not being mistaken for a deer or stepping on a snake as being more important than killing an animal for meat that I really don't need. Anyway, the light that I've been using for a couple of years now finally bit the dust so I found myself last night looking for a new one. I know I wanted one that uses a standard AAA battery because they're easy to find and seem to last longer than those small, button batteries. I also didn't want to spend a small fortune on a light, since after all, a lumen is a lumen no matter how much it cost for the light. I found one at at Academy for just under $15 (14.99 to be exact) that I really like because it's rechargeable using the standard USB plug used in charging my cell phone. That means I can use the same USB charger that's in my truck to recharge it as well. It creates 100 lumens, which I consider plenty bright enough for its purpose, and has two brightness levels, a green LED light setting (not sure if deer don't see the color green that well), as well as a strobe setting. Not sure the strobe setting is that important but hey, I remember when an old boy was shot in South Texas by a hunting partner even though he was sitting atop his tripod and waving his cap at him. It also has a somewhat larger on/off button that's easy to find and push that lights up red when it's charging and green once its fully charged.

All in all, I'm very happy with the purchase. Besides, now some of you have another good reason to go spend money at Academy. I promise I won't tell the wife you were ever there.

Rechargeable Cap Light