Print Thread
Davy Crockett National Forest questions #7614468 09/24/19 02:57 AM
J
Joseph Thomas Offline OP
Light Foot
OP Offline
Light Foot
J
This is my first year hunting public land. I have Hunt Fort Hood before but with the restrictions they have, I would hardly call it public. With that said, my experience with public land and public land hunters is minimal. Every post I have read about it says something to the effect of “work harder than anyone else” and “walk another mile after you see your final sign of human life”. Okay folks so, I did that, I walked for hours and I walked miles today and found no sign of human life all day, with exception of where I parked my truck. I am here to say, I also didn’t see a single deer sign with the exception of a single rubbing. The pigs though oh god the pig signs where everywhere. I couldn’t walk 100 yards without hitting pig tracks. On my way back two things happened, I stepped on the wrapper of a straw. This one made me angry, I had just walked for 3 hours, 1.5 miles into the woods following creeks, trails, tracks and whatever else only to realize someone had recently been here before me. As I started a long and slightly less exciting walk to my truck I ran into a baited stand. It looks like the stand had been there at least a year, it was covered in pine straw and had numerous cob webs. The deer corn bag looked to be faded, the doe urine bottle looked faded as well. The bucket feeder was homemade and ultimately a piece of crap. I couldn’t find a camera but, had I, I would have taken that card with a quickness. Here are my questions;

Go back or try and figure out a new spot, 1 week before bow season? I liked the area but it looks like others did as well.

I reported the baiting, should I be concerned about going back?