Print Thread
Page 7 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Re: Lease Prices going up [Re: zornhunter] #7587928 08/24/19 12:47 AM
tlk Online Happy
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Happy
THF Trophy Hunter
Ok let me work this out for you

1970s - I am in high school in Taylor Texas (central Texas). My Dad was on a lease near Lampasas for years that I grew up hunting on. Couple thousand acres - cost him and his group around $100 bucks per gun.

1980s - I move back to hill country. I am a broke school teacher/coach making $11,900 per year. I shell out $200 bucks for a lease near Jonestown (nameless road) - think it was around 200 acres and 3 of us on it. Slept on the ground and cooked on a Coleman stove. Could not believe I paid $200 for that place but it was worth it to me at the time. I adapted what I could get to what I could pay.

Now on a top end South Texas lease paying lots of money. Why??? Because I can.

Moral is - prices for EVERYTHING go up EVERY YEAR. It is called inflation.

Here is a short lesson in economics. We live in the USA and what is known as a FREE MARKET. That means a willing seller and a willing buyer will reach a price and THAT sets the market price for others (it is called FAIR MARKET PRICE).

IF YOU cannot afford the price for what the seller is asking then you either walk away or you lower your standards. Want a new truck that is tricked out but you cannot afford it?? Then take some of the extras off and get the price down to where you CAN AFFORD it. Pretty basic stuff. So complaining about how the world really works is useless. I am out

You can't fix stupid
Re: Lease Prices going up [Re: 10 Gauge] #7587944 08/24/19 01:06 AM
R
Rustler Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter
R
Originally Posted by laid over

Very specifically, my attitude has nothing to do with your terms or what you consider fair terms and I have long since econceded the point.

My attitude is derived directly from yours.