Print Thread
Black Gap WMA #7582730 08/18/19 06:22 AM
T
Trooper3385 Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
T
So I managed to get drawn for archery mule deer at the Black Gap WMA for 10-14 thru 10-17. Anyone have any experience on this hunt? This is my first time being drawn for anything. I’m guessing this time of the year it will still be pretty warm during the day, so getting a unit with water and sticking around the water may be the best bet, especially for archery hunting.

Re: Black Gap WMA [Re: Trooper3385] #7582829 08/18/19 02:41 PM
S
ScooterG Offline
Woodsman
Woodsman
S
I did this hunt in 2017. Hunting over water would be great with a thermal scope on your bow at night. What we found is that everything makes a living out there at night. We had several water sources. We would smooth out the dirt around them in the evening and check them the next day. Always disturbed at night. Never disturbed in daylight. We di spot and stalk Javelina and saw 1 md doe with 2 babies. PM me and I can send you my pics and maybe a little more info.

Re: Black Gap WMA [Re: Trooper3385] #7583393 08/19/19 03:01 AM
S
ScooterG Offline
Woodsman
Woodsman
S
Hey guys, the thermal night thing was my way of being funny. Fact is that it got so hot in the day time that nothing would move. We just didn't see anything tryouts ng to make a living in that heat exc pt for Javilina. We did find one heck of a rub on the ne fenc line but we never saw a buck. I did take a thermal but it didn't help me. I was too scared to scout in rattle snake country! I'm glad I went but It nwould not do the hunt again. Cool country to put your eyes on on. I did see a herd of pronghorns and a super old monster elk north of there 40-50 miles. Good luck!

Re: Black Gap WMA [Re: Trooper3385] #7583420 08/19/19 03:40 AM
BOBO the Clown Online Content
kind of a big deal
Online Content
kind of a big deal
I haven’t hunted black gap yet, everybody draws it but me.