texashuntingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Cado, TAMU2021, Louberry1963, Swooshtx, TxGunDog
65655 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
dogcatcher 94,031
bill oxner 56,765
stxranchman 55,095
SnakeWrangler 46,544
RKHarm24 44,585
rifleman 44,436
BMD 41,029
Big Orn 37,484
Facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics436,296
Posts6,331,794
Members65,655
Most Online16,728
Mar 25th, 2012
Print Thread
Generator elec/amperage question #7544651 06/29/19 01:22 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,346
G
GLC Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
OP Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
G
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,346
Theoretical question: Generator has two 20 amp circuits and one 30 amp circuits. Could all circuits be tied together past its breakers/female plugs to have theoretical 70 amp circuit? Not just a guess like it will probably burn something down but why it would not work.



Re: Generator elec/amperage question [Re: GLC] #7544693 06/29/19 02:35 PM
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,690
L
Lazyjack Online Content
Extreme Tracker
Online Content
Extreme Tracker
L
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,690
Probably not. Its is not how may plugs, it is how many breaker or fuses you have. You cant exceed the watt rating of the generator.

If the 30 amp plug is an RV plug, it will be 30 amps at 120 volts. 30 x 120 = 3600 watts.


If the 30 amp plug is 240 volt, 30 x 240 = 7200 watts.

In my experience, this is the largest load of a particular generator.

There also some safety concerns regarding neatrals and grounds if you combined both circuits.

What is the total available wattage of your generator? How many breakers? Maybe a picture of plugs and breakers?

Last edited by Lazyjack; 06/29/19 02:37 PM.
Re: Generator elec/amperage question [Re: GLC] #7544731 06/29/19 03:43 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,346
G
GLC Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
OP Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
G
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,346
Currently 6500 watts surge, 5500 constant. 3 separate circuits/ breakers. Just wondering if i bought a larger one like 7500 continual watts if it may push 70 amps? 3 circuits together. Mine has the 30 amp 240.

Last edited by GLC; 06/29/19 05:27 PM.


Re: Generator elec/amperage question [Re: GLC] #7544774 06/29/19 05:30 PM
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,690
L
Lazyjack Online Content
Extreme Tracker
Online Content
Extreme Tracker
L
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,690
I going to say no. Wattage is energy that does the work. Amperage determines wire size. Amperage is only a measue for safety of a conductor or appliance.

Your current 5500 watt generator could support 23 to 25 amps of current flow total.

If we use amperage as the measure. Looking at your current gen, a 20 amp 240 volt load will only leave 5 amps of power left for continuous load. If you plugged in a 25 amp 240 load into the 240 volt plug and 15 amp load into each 110 volt plug, probably nothing would smoke, but the engine would stall. At least that would be my expectations.

7500 watts at 240 volts converted to amperage is still only about 32 amps.

Electricity is a lot like water. You can support a garden hose with a fire hose. But, you cant support a fire hose with a garden hose.

Even if you managed to rewire the plugs safely, you limited by the output of the generator.

Re: Generator elec/amperage question [Re: GLC] #7544812 06/29/19 06:40 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,346
G
GLC Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
OP Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
G
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,346
Ok thanks, makes sense.



Re: Generator elec/amperage question [Re: Lazyjack] #7544943 06/29/19 11:10 PM
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,189
hopalong Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,189
Originally Posted by Lazyjack
I going to say no. Wattage is energy that does the work. Amperage determines wire size. Amperage is only a measue for safety of a conductor or appliance.

Your current 5500 watt generator could support 23 to 25 amps of current flow total.

If we use amperage as the measure. Looking at your current gen, a 20 amp 240 volt load will only leave 5 amps of power left for continuous load. If you plugged in a 25 amp 240 load into the 240 volt plug and 15 amp load into each 110 volt plug, probably nothing would smoke, but the engine would stall. At least that would be my expectations.

7500 watts at 240 volts converted to amperage is still only about 32 amps.

Electricity is a lot like water. You can support a garden hose with a fire hose. But, you cant support a fire hose with a garden hose.

Even if you managed to rewire the plugs safely, you limited by the output of the generator.



to get 70a support you need to go to one of the large backup gensets like generac etc. they have them that will support a 100a service but expect to pay for it.




lake fork FISHERMANS COVE MARINA - 903 474 7479 reservations

Re: Generator elec/amperage question [Re: GLC] #7545148 06/30/19 05:25 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,609
oldoak2000 Offline
Veteran Tracker
Offline
Veteran Tracker
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,609
Originally Posted by GLC
Theoretical question: Generator has two 20 amp circuits and one 30 amp circuits. Could all circuits be tied together past its breakers/female plugs to have theoretical 70 amp circuit? Not just a guess like it will probably burn something down but why it would not work.

Originally Posted by GLC
Theoretical question: Generator has two 20 amp circuits and one 30 amp circuits. Could all circuits be tied together past its breakers/female plugs to have theoretical 70 amp circuit? Not just a guess like it will probably burn something down but why it would not work.


No - each of those 120 plugs is on a separate winding side ( center neutral) & 180 degrees out of phase with each other: the 240 socket is simply both ‘hots’ of the 120 sockets.
In other words, if you ‘tried’ to combine the hots on each 120 plug that would be the same as a dead short across the 240 plug!!!! Wouldn’t burn anything as the breaker would immediately trip.

Any generator can only put half it’s watts on each side of 2 120 outlets, or full wattage at 240 volts.
The only solution to get All the power on a single 120 circuit would be to get a 240 to 120 transformer rated at generator output and feed it with 240 from the generator.

Last edited by oldoak2000; 06/30/19 05:32 AM.
Re: Generator elec/amperage question [Re: GLC] #7545387 06/30/19 06:27 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,346
G
GLC Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
OP Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
G
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,346
Thanks guys, i have been educated. I was just wondering.



Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 2004-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3