Print Thread
Protein Feed #7489722 04/17/19 02:49 PM
J
jumpnjohnfish Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
J
I have never used protein before. Can anybody recommend what feed to use?

Re: Protein Feed [Re: jumpnjohnfish] #7489748 04/17/19 03:17 PM
T
titan2232 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter
T
Due to a high percentage of bucks with broken antlers last year I've switched to Lyssy & Eckel exclusively. It has some of the best ingredients for a mass produced feed is what I've been told.

I get mine at Simon Brother's in Roosevelt. $11.50 per bag as of last Friday

Re: Protein Feed [Re: jumpnjohnfish] #7489759 04/17/19 03:24 PM
W
westtexaswatkins Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter
W
There are a lot out there but I feed Purina AntlerMax. It seems to be readily available in most areas. I've been happy with the results in particular the weight my deer carry even from a younger age. My deer really looked healthy during last spring and summers drought. Note that if you haven't fed protein they won't just jump all over it. Try mixing corn in it and then gradually put less corn in each time. If your spring is wet and there is plenty of vegetation they probably won't hit the protein as much. They eat more on my place during the hot summer months and then again in the deep part of winter. I feed protein year around.

Re: Protein Feed [Re: jumpnjohnfish] #7489787 04/17/19 03:57 PM
D
DUKFVR Online Content
Tracker
Online Content
Tracker
D
Lyssy & Eckel here too.

Re: Protein Feed [Re: jumpnjohnfish] #7489823 04/17/19 04:19 PM
S
stxranchman Offline
Obie Juan Kenobi
Obie Juan Kenobi
S