Rifle Bipod Recommendations #7490988 04/18/19 06:59 PM
G
Goodo Texas Boy Offline OP
Bird Dog
OP Offline
Bird Dog
G
Hello everyone,

I am back! Certainly want to thank everyone for helping me spec out and get my first rifle https://savagearms.com/content?p=firearms&a=product_summary&s=19686

I am not experienced rifle shooter, yet so I may ask silly questions.

My 2019 goal is to hunt my first deer and hogs. Now its time for me to get back at the range zero my rifle at 100 yards at the bench and practice and practice, and start preparing for my first hunt. I have never hunt before, just one time a friend ranch hunting hogs from his hunting blind

Currently my practice consist of this attached below and squeeze bag to zero the rifle. This works good to get my scope zero and I pracitce this way.

Now i want to prepare for a hunt where I will either be shooting from a hunting stand or laying down. I do not know this part yet.

I would like to remove the sand bags and start practice with a rifle bipod

Questions

1. Should I start practing with the rifle bipod now so i can get use to real word scenario?

2. Which bipopd do you recommend for my rifle please?

Thank you kindly in advance.

Attached Files setup to zero.png
Re: Rifle Bipod Recommendations [Re: Goodo Texas Boy] #7490993 04/18/19 07:06 PM
W
watchale Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker
W
Caldwell xla ($40) is a cheap pivoting bipod that will get you going. Unless you want to spring for a pivoting Harris or Atlas or one that cost even more than them two.

Last edited by watchale; 04/18/19 07:06 PM.
Re: Rifle Bipod Recommendations [Re: Goodo Texas Boy] #7491000 04/18/19 07:14 PM
A
angus1956 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter
A
I'm old school and like the Harris bipod with the pod lock. If your a big guy get the 9" one if not get the 6".

Re: Rifle Bipod Recommendations [Re: angus1956] #7491004 04/18/19 07:18 PM
G
Bird Dog
OP Offline
Bird Dog
G
Originally Posted by angus1956