Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Tips for RV storage in distant land #7475692 04/02/19 02:28 PM
HOF Offline OP
Extreme Tracker
OP Offline
Extreme Tracker
The wife and I plan on using an RV as an alternative to a lake house this summer. Half the grand kids live in Arkansas and we've been renting lake house on Beaver lake the past two years. It's fine, except the wife wants to be there a couple of times a month for long weekends and that gets fairly expensive real quick. As an alternative, I bought a bumper pull RV and thought I'd rent a storage place around the lake and just reserve the camping pads when we're going to be using it.

I'm fairly new to the whole thing. We had several trial runs over this winter and discovered we really like staying in the RV. By storing there we won't have to mess with towing it back and forth, and for the most part, will be able to leave all of our gear there instead of packing and unpacking a dozen times.

I've found a couple of places that have indoor storage for the RV just like regular storage facilities. (Didn't even know that sort of thing existed.)

What do I need to look out for? What am I missing?

Searching the world over for the perfect Chile Relleno.
Re: Tips for RV storage in distant land [Re: HOF] #7475719 04/02/19 02:48 PM
glens Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
Nothing to look out for other than safety for rv and electric to keep your batteries up and running if needed. I've had my own barn built and keep ours up, fridge, all electrics and ready to go as soon as you open the door. We are Unpluged and gone.

Re: Tips for RV storage in distant land [Re: HOF] #7475721 04/02/19 02:53 PM
hopalong Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
if you plan on using the 12v system be sure you can leave it plugged in so the batteries stay charged.

put moth balls in basement storage units to keep critters out, mice and rats love to chew on power wires.