Print Thread
Why I cannot have nice things... #7402188 01/12/19 12:39 AM
B
brianaustintx Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
B
I am late saying this...as this happened before deer season ended. But, I am fairly new to this hunting game. As this is my second season going for anything. This year, I was trying to go a little bit more for bigger game, ie deer/pig...stick with SHNF and what they have to offer. I got "lucky" and have a friend that sells land on the side, and he actually had about 3-4ac for sale, and the property butted RIGHT up to the border of public for SHNF. I was going to use that as an entry point to SHNF.

Me...not really knowing where to start. I put some cameras on the property and some corn/attractant, fairly close to the boundary...but far enough away. With hopes that I could possibly draw stuff off the public...and into view of my two cameras/food. Had activity once, with a doe showing up at around 5pm. So I got super excited, possibly could shoot them before she got onto the property (I had a doe tag for SHNF) so I place another cam and some more food. I thought, three to four weeks on a property that was owned by someone was a good amount of time. I had a FEELING there was going to be stuff on both of the cameras, and I couldn't wait to grab them and check them both.

After the hr drive, and the three minute walk, I came across where the corn used to be...and alas there was nothing. Some POS decided to trespass and steal my cameras. No idea if its a neighbor, potential buyer that just turned to be an a$$....or what happened. They were cheap enough cameras, so they did not have any cable lock or anyplace to place a cable to keep it on the tree. Cheap enough that I don't really care about the lost cameras...I care about the lost footage. But, because of that, I stopped going to the property, and kinda got frustrated/annoyed...