Sam Houston National Forest Parking and Info #7379394 12/17/18 08:56 PM
D
DAVO Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
D
Good afternoon Ladies/Gentleman,

Being a vet I miss the hurry up and wait of the military lifestyle so I am getting into the hunting scene. I have been a couple times but I would like try hunt the national forest. I have completed a lot of research about the forest with a lot of map searching withing the areas surrounding the forest. It seems that there might be some decent hunting ground. I have a couple questions though:

1) Without giving away too many secrets, where is a good area to search for a hunting spot? Is it better near 59 or 45?

2) Is there designated parking spaces for hunting? Can you park on the side of the road as long as it doesn't impede traffic?

3) Do you guys have any other pointers for SHNF?

I have a couple buddies that I will be hunting with, more on a lease, and would be welcoming to meet someone at the forest to hunt if your familiar with the area.

Re: Sam Houston National Forest Parking and Info [Re: DAVO] #7380696 12/18/18 10:14 PM
A
AdanV Offline
Bird Dog
Bird Dog
A
welcome

First, you need to be sure you have all required licenses and permits.
If you don't know what they are, you'll need to start reading and buying the licenses.
https://tpwd.texas.gov/regulations/outdoor-annual/licenses/hunting-licenses-and-permits
https://tpwd.texas.gov/huntwild/hunt/public/annual_public_hunting/resources/905.pdf

As far as your questions:
1. That can vary greatly and will heavily depend on what you're hunting for. But in any public hunting area, the deeper you go in, the less chance you'll be running into another hunter.

2. Parking can be done on the side of the roads, but keep all valuables out of sight. There's also some hunting campgrounds.