Print Thread
Goose questions #7314348 10/14/18 10:28 PM
B
BANDIT_DOC Offline OP
Light Foot
OP Offline
Light Foot
B
I am putting my spread in order and would like to talk shop with someone knowledgeable on west Texas hunting. I plan on hunting type 2 land and maybe a couple private farms and sections. If anyone can give me pointers they would be much appreciated as this will be my first season.

Re: Goose questions [Re: BANDIT_DOC] #7314399 10/14/18 11:21 PM
Sniper John Online Happy
gumshoe
Online Happy
gumshoe
I have never been on a guided goose hunt. All my goose hunts have been on public. Both field and water mostly west Oklahoma Almost completely self taught by trial and error Therefore I am no expert, but my number one suggestion is to have good calls. Know the different calls to make with them. When to make those calls and when not to. Limited to a public field, your not always on the X and trying to pull geese in headed someplace else. A public field can also become competition hunting. A good caller can command the field and draw those passing geese. The rest of the answer to your question would fill a book BTW.

Re: Goose questions [Re: BANDIT_DOC] #7314415 10/14/18 11:38 PM
Sniper John Online Happy
gumshoe
Online Happy
gumshoe
FWY. If you find geese and need help this season just ask. I'm retiring at the end of the month. I have around 75 mixed Canada decoys. 3 or 4 hundred white geese decoys. And 75 Sandhills. If not already hunting or not hunting too far away, I should be able to load up and hit the road short notice.

Re: Goose questions [Re: Sniper John] #7314447 10/15/18 12:28 AM
A
aerangis Offline
Extreme Tracker
Extreme Tracker
A
Originally Posted By: Sniper John