texashuntingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
tpkemp, hunting10807, tberryatx, Andrew W. Sanford, LAMTRIAX1
65614 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
dogcatcher 93,919
bill oxner 56,571
stxranchman 55,086
SnakeWrangler 46,508
RKHarm24 44,585
rifleman 44,436
BMD 41,029
Big Orn 37,484
Facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics435,792
Posts6,324,636
Members65,614
Most Online16,728
Mar 25th, 2012
Print Thread
Zero Stop - Where do you set it? #7308441 10/08/18 05:43 PM
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 788
S
Scott W Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
S
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 788
I bought one of the Bushnell LRHSi scopes from the GAP deal. It has a zero stop, my first scope with one. For those of you that have them, do you set the stop AT ZERO or give yourself a cushion (.5-1.0 mil) in case you need to adjust the zero slightly?

This scope has a big arrow on top of the elevation turret, a great indicator that it is or isn't on zero.

Loving the scope so far!


Originally Posted by Scott W

I've got a Little Chubby and it does a great job.
Re: Zero Stop - Where do you set it? [Re: Scott W] #7308457 10/08/18 05:55 PM
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 5,752
D
dee Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
D
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 5,752
I've set mine at true zero when allowed with no problem. New optics are pre set at .5mil below zero and that's been no issue either.


"A vote is like a rifle; it's usefulness depends on the character of the user" Theodore Roosevelt
Re: Zero Stop - Where do you set it? [Re: Scott W] #7308463 10/08/18 05:59 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 29,888
F
FiremanJG Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
F
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 29,888
I leave .5 Mil of down travel. Go from home to out west, and zero can shift up, so I need to dial down.


[Linked Image]
800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available
Re: Zero Stop - Where do you set it? [Re: Scott W] #7309444 10/09/18 02:58 PM
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,209
D
DStroud Online Content
Veteran Tracker
Online Content
Veteran Tracker
D
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,209
Agree with FiremanJG..... just makes life easier. I might set at exact zero if I did a lot of dialing in complete darkness.. or if I was blind.


"Anyone taking up handloading necessarily plays with unknown factors and takes chances. But so does anyone who drives a car,goes to a cocktail party,eats in a restaurant,or gets married."

Jack O'Connor 1963
Re: Zero Stop - Where do you set it? [Re: DStroud] #7309477 10/09/18 03:30 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 29,888
F
FiremanJG Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
F
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 29,888
Originally Posted By: DStroud
Agree with FiremanJG..... just makes life easier. I might set at exact zero if I did a lot of dialing in complete darkness.. or if I was blind.


In total darkness, dial down to the zero stop, then come up listening for 5 clicks.


[Linked Image]
800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available
Re: Zero Stop - Where do you set it? [Re: Scott W] #7309480 10/09/18 03:35 PM
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 5,752
D
dee Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
D
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 5,752
Dialing in the dark is what MTC is for.


"A vote is like a rifle; it's usefulness depends on the character of the user" Theodore Roosevelt
Re: Zero Stop - Where do you set it? [Re: Scott W] #7317256 10/17/18 12:58 PM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 18,632
B
Buzzsaw Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
B
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 18,632
why would you dial in the dark? unless dialing to zero which you should have done the night before. confused2


"some people say I got a drinkin problem........I got no problem drinkin at all......."


Re: Zero Stop - Where do you set it? [Re: Buzzsaw] #7318553 10/18/18 02:34 PM
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 4,564
T
Tactical Cowboy Online Content
Extreme Tracker
Online Content
Extreme Tracker
T
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 4,564
Originally Posted By: Buzzsaw
why would you dial in the dark? unless dialing to zero which you should have done the night before. confused2


Itís more tacticaler


The secret to a long life is to try not to shorten it

Powder coated cast bullets available. https://www.facebook.com/lazyhbullets/
Re: Zero Stop - Where do you set it? [Re: Tactical Cowboy] #7318575 10/18/18 02:51 PM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 18,632
B
Buzzsaw Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
B
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 18,632
Originally Posted By: Tactical Cowboy
Originally Posted By: Buzzsaw
why would you dial in the dark? unless dialing to zero which you should have done the night before. confused2


Itís more tacticaler
rofl


"some people say I got a drinkin problem........I got no problem drinkin at all......."


Re: Zero Stop - Where do you set it? [Re: Scott W] #7318602 10/18/18 03:15 PM
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 5,752
D
dee Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
D
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 5,752
Shot in the dark last month


Shot in the dark last month with just the targets illuminated. Fun stuff.


"A vote is like a rifle; it's usefulness depends on the character of the user" Theodore Roosevelt
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 2004-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3