Print Thread
Effect of rain on dove hunting? #7286068 09/13/18 11:33 PM
F
foodieguy Offline OP
Bird Dog
OP Offline
Bird Dog
F
It's been raining in CENTX for the past 11 days and more is forecast for next week too. How does rain like this change the way the birds move? Do you make any adjustments on how or when you hunt?

The place I hunt is outside of the Austin suburbs but not quite close enough to get a lot of whitewings. We see mourning dove mostly. Its my first year doing anything besides a day hunt around opening weekend, wanted to see what to expect with the current conditions. It also sucks because some of the fields are too muddy and I don't wanna get stuck.

Adult late onset hunter. Why did I wait so long to get started?
Re: Effect of rain on dove hunting? [Re: foodieguy] #7286078 09/13/18 11:46 PM
S
sallysue Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker
S
We are having the same problems here also but we are getting a few each trip

Re: Effect of rain on dove hunting? [Re: foodieguy] #7286099 09/14/18 12:11 AM
M
Michael W. Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
M
I think the rain affects the hunter more than the birds. Birds fly and feed even if raining. Hunters stay home. Short of it pouring down , I am going in the morning. Better that sitting at home.

A clear conscience is often the sign of a fuzzy memory.
Re: Effect of rain on dove hunting? [Re: foodieguy] #7286207 09/14/18 02:08 AM
D
doublebarrel Offline
Light Foot
Light Foot
D