Print Thread
Caddo National Grasslands & Twin Buttes PHL #7247654 08/07/18 02:39 AM
K
krutter Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
K
Hi everyone. Myself and another hunter have been to the Bois D’Arc Unit at the Caddo WMA a couple years in a row primarily looking for deer, but we were also keeping an eye out for the other game that have seasons there. When we've gone we camped at the camping area in the North East corner off 2325 and venture to the South and West. But so far we haven't had any luck finding anything. If anyone has had any luck hunting this WMA I'd love to hear any advice you're willing to give.

We've also been contemplating going to Twin Buttes PHL South of San Angelo as it also seems to have quite a bit of options for game. Is there anyone that could offer some insight to this land? Maybe which camping locations to avoid? Or if there is areas of the land that are impassable?

I'm still fairly new to hunting, and am very much enjoying the trips I get to take so any insight or past experiences y'all have and are willing to share is much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Re: Caddo National Grasslands & Twin Buttes PHL [Re: krutter] #7251637 08/10/18 09:14 PM
L
Leveled Offline
Light Foot
Light Foot
L
There are deer at Bois D' Arc but the place is over hunted. The deer know to avoid this land during daylight hunting season as well as most other animals. I have walked many miles through this forest for the last five years. The advantage is it is very close to DFW. The LBJ grasslands close to Decatur are better since the parcels of land are spread out. (LBJ is shotgun slug and archery only.) Twin Buttes PHL is much better and will be my go to place if I don't draw on a hunt. The first two weeks of shotgun season is going to be the best chance to get a deer.