texashuntingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
BWGS, Jstocks, DF2, R&K, MistahMoon
65924 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
dogcatcher 94,742
bill oxner 58,466
stxranchman 55,296
SnakeWrangler 47,612
RKHarm24 44,585
rifleman 44,439
BMD 41,029
Big Orn 37,484
Facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics439,874
Posts6,381,800
Members65,924
Most Online16,728
Mar 25th, 2012
Print Thread
Is 20 moa mount really necessary? #7199444 06/16/18 05:54 PM
Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 378
B
Blackout Bill Offline OP
Bird Dog
OP Offline
Bird Dog
B
Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 378
I have an AR10 build in .308, 20Ē barrel, and have finally saved enough cash for a nightforce scope. Specifically the SHV 4-14x50 FFP with MOA reticle. With the wide range in adjustments on this killer optic, and the fact that I more than likely wonít shoot past 6-700 yds anyway, do I need anything like 20 moa mount? I like doing things once when possible and would appreciate some input. Yes, this has probably been asked many times but not seeing anything recent.

Thanks,

Billy.

Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: Blackout Bill] #7199456 06/16/18 06:15 PM
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 5,803
D
dee Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
D
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 5,803
Depends on scope travel and load data.


"A vote is like a rifle; it's usefulness depends on the character of the user" Theodore Roosevelt
Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: Blackout Bill] #7199467 06/16/18 06:33 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,604
W
wp75169 Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
W
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,604
I canít imagine limiting the distance a rifle will shoot by the mount the optics sit on. If youíll go 6-700 then youíll go all the way eventually. The first time I shot past 300 I rang the 1000 yard gong 20 plus times that day.

Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: Blackout Bill] #7199470 06/16/18 06:36 PM
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 11,159
Q
QuitShootinYoungBucks Offline
THF Celebrity
Offline
THF Celebrity
Q
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 11,159
If you know for a fact you arenít going past 700-800, you will never need that rail. To get to 1000 yards with a 178 started at 2550 youíll only need 38.3 MOA. How much adjustment does the SHV have?


[Linked Image]

https://web.archive.org/web/20170223065011/http:/www.rrdvegas.com/silencer-cleaning.html
Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: Blackout Bill] #7199569 06/16/18 08:35 PM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 8,652
G
Grizz Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
G
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 8,652
If you're looking to shoot at 600-700, you'll probably end up going farther. It wouldn't hurt anything to get the rail. I don't know the ballistics for your .308 round, but I had to get one for my 6.5 Creedmoor to reach 1,000. I was able to dial to 950 but I didn't have enough left to get to 1,000 so I had to hold over until I got the 20 MOA rail.


Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: Blackout Bill] #7199571 06/16/18 08:36 PM
Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 378
B
Blackout Bill Offline OP
Bird Dog
OP Offline
Bird Dog
B
Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 378
Specs say 90 minutes. Assuming thatís 45 on either side of zero?

Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: Blackout Bill] #7199584 06/16/18 08:48 PM
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 3,704
C
Cleric Offline
Extreme Tracker
Offline
Extreme Tracker
C
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 3,704
Originally Posted By: Blackout Bill
Specs say 90 minutes. Assuming thatís 45 on either side of zero?


Yes but your zero is rarely perfectly in the middle. I would assume 40moa of adjustment.

Put your bullet and expected velocity into a calc and see what the drop as it a variety of distances. Also remember depending on your reticle you can hold some more. I used to have a 24in 308 that I ran out to 1200 I bottomed out on adjustments so just used holds on the last little bit

Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: Blackout Bill] #7199603 06/16/18 09:11 PM
Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 378
B
Blackout Bill Offline OP
Bird Dog
OP Offline
Bird Dog
B
Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 378
All responses are appreciated. And make sense. I have some load data at home and will check. I handload so finding the right recipe will get done at some point. The hold over is 30 minutes on the reticle.

Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: Blackout Bill] #7199680 06/16/18 10:44 PM
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,992
P
patriot07 Offline
Veteran Tracker
Offline
Veteran Tracker
P
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,992
No

I've shot out to 1,100 on my 6.5 CM with a 0 MOA base and never even got to 11 mils (slightly less than 40 MOA). And you have extra hold on the reticle too.

Lots of folks say, "you'll go farther". It's not like there are 1,200+ yard ranges all over the place. I don't even know where one is within reasonable driving distance of my house. Besides, if you want to go far enough to use more elevation than that, it likely won't be on a 308 gas gun anyway.

Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: patriot07] #7199736 06/16/18 11:48 PM
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,665
G
garyrapp55 Offline
Pro Tracker
Offline
Pro Tracker
G
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,665
Originally Posted By: patriot07
you have extra hold on the reticle too.
It's not like there are 1,200+ yard ranges all over the place. Besides, if you want to go far enough to use more elevation than that, it likely won't be on a 308 gas gun anyway.

what I was thinking too.

Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: Blackout Bill] #7199870 06/17/18 02:41 AM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 15,867
C
ChadTRG42 Offline
THF Celebrity
Offline
THF Celebrity
C
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 15,867
Originally Posted By: Blackout Bill
Specs say 90 minutes. Assuming thatís 45 on either side of zero?


Exactly. So, let's calculate it. If your scope has 90 MOA total travel, a 0 moa base would put you in the middle with 45 up and 45 down. 45 moa available elevation on a 308 would easily get you to 900+, which is probably longer than you can shoot with that anyway.

If you added a 20 moa base, it would allow 65 moa total up (45 + 20) and allow 25 moa down, which is fine. But adding a 20 moa rail on top of the existing rail on the AR 10 would increase your height, which you would need lower rings. For your use, I would go with no rail, and get a set of high rings.



Custom and Precision Ammunition!!
www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL
Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: Blackout Bill] #7199986 06/17/18 10:39 AM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 406
F
fr3db3ar Offline
Bird Dog
Offline
Bird Dog
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 406
It's better to have it and not need it than to need it and not have it.

Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: fr3db3ar] #7200053 06/17/18 01:35 PM
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,992
P
patriot07 Offline
Veteran Tracker
Offline
Veteran Tracker
P
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,992
Originally Posted By: fr3db3ar
It's better to have it and not need it than to need it and not have it.
Not when it cost you in terms of ring height and ergonomics. JMHO

Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: patriot07] #7200075 06/17/18 02:03 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 30,303
F
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity
Offline
THF Celebrity
F
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 30,303
Originally Posted By: patriot07
Originally Posted By: fr3db3ar
It's better to have it and not need it than to need it and not have it.
Not when it cost you in terms of ring height and ergonomics. JMHO


It can also save someone over a thousand dollars.

My SS 5-20X pulled duty on bolt action rifles for years, in a set of Badger Ordnance rings, and every bolt action has a 20 MOA pic rail. Installing the scope and rings on my AR-10 the scope was too low, of course. So I added a 20 MOA rail to the AR-10, and now the AR-10 doesn't have its' scope, same as my bolt actions don't have their own scope.

OP, if you plan on buying an additional rifle, you can let this scope work on two rifles, as long as you install the scope in medium rings, and install a 20 MOA pic rail on each rifle. I invertoried last week. I have 9 rifles I am using, and 3 scopes. Looks like it is time to buy myself another scope, but I will not be buying 6 scopes.


[Linked Image]
800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available
Re: Is 20 moa mount really necessary? [Re: Blackout Bill] #7210124 06/27/18 07:55 PM
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 38
B
Ben SportOptics Offline
Light Foot
Offline
Light Foot
B
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 38
Going with a 20 MOA mount is a clean light option compared to a 20 moa rail. It is not going to hurt you with that scope.


Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 2004-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3