texashuntingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
regularguy11B, John8888, TxCoachBS, ingramg, 7hjd2
64672 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
dogcatcher 90,915
stxranchman 54,132
bill oxner 50,902
RKHarm24 44,577
rifleman 44,417
SnakeWrangler 41,357
BMD 41,014
Big Orn 37,484
txshntr 35,437
Facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics419,791
Posts6,103,532
Members64,672
Most Online16,728
Mar 25th, 2012
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Help...thermal has no picture! #7179300
05/25/18 02:55 AM
05/25/18 02:55 AM
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,461
DFW
D
DocHorton Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
DocHorton  Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
D

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,461
DFW
I have an IR Hunter Mark2....scope turns on and shows the start up screen but the picture has no image. Itís just solid gray. It worked the last time I used it a month or so ago. Tried powering off and on and still nothing. Battery is fully charged and I can scan through the menus but there is no thermal image.

Any thoughts? Did my scope take a dump...?

This is gonna kill my hog hunt tonight. frown

Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton] #7179346
05/25/18 03:34 AM
05/25/18 03:34 AM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 27,317
Killeen/Ft Hood, TX
S
SapperTitan Online content
Taking Requests
SapperTitan  Online Content
Taking Requests
S

Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 27,317
Killeen/Ft Hood, TX
Lenís cap isnít still on it correct? Dumb question but never know.

Other then that no idea


Originally Posted by bill oxner
I plowed mules.
Originally Posted by Roll-Tide
I did build a cabin. Aka the brokeback shack.

[Linked Image]
Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton] #7179373
05/25/18 04:06 AM
05/25/18 04:06 AM
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,461
DFW
D
DocHorton Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
DocHorton  Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
D

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,461
DFW
Lens cap is off. Tried Nucíing it several times. Still no luck....frustrating.

Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton] #7179413
05/25/18 07:09 AM
05/25/18 07:09 AM
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 129
Montague County / San Antonio
Mountain Lion Offline
Woodsman
Mountain Lion  Offline
Woodsman

Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 129
Montague County / San Antonio
Well as they say...you get what you pay for! :p


ML
Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton] #7179414
05/25/18 07:33 AM
05/25/18 07:33 AM
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 5,937
Forestburg, Montague Cnty, TX
Double Naught Spy Online content
THF Trophy Hunter
Double Naught Spy  Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter

Joined: May 2011
Posts: 5,937
Forestburg, Montague Cnty, TX
When you say the battery is charged up, what do you mean?

Try cr123s.


Si vis pacem cum sus, para bellum.
My Videos https://www.youtube.com/user/HornHillRange
Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton] #7179522
05/25/18 12:27 PM
05/25/18 12:27 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 3,394
D/FW, TX
dfwroadkill Offline
Veteran Tracker
dfwroadkill  Offline
Veteran Tracker

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 3,394
D/FW, TX
Run your brightness and contrast up and down. Could have gotten messed with somehow. Check all your setting for being where they are normally. Sounds dumb, but it happens.

Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton] #7179707
05/25/18 03:08 PM
05/25/18 03:08 PM
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,461
DFW
D
DocHorton Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
DocHorton  Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
D

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,461
DFW
Checked all the settings and ran the brightness and contrast up and down. Turned it off and on multiple times and did it again. Still nothing. Iíve had the scope for a few years and have used it a lot, but itís never been dropped or anything. I used it a month ago, put it back in the safe and then took it out, loaded in the gun case and drove to my land.

Iím using one of the UNV battery packs...battery is fully charged and Iíve been using the rechargeable battery for a while.

I donít think getting power is the issue...it seems like the thermal sensor isnít working.

Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton] #7179709
05/25/18 03:11 PM
05/25/18 03:11 PM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 1,978
Flower Mound, TX
CharlieCTx Online content
Pro Tracker
CharlieCTx  Online Content
Pro Tracker

Joined: May 2013
Posts: 1,978
Flower Mound, TX
Have an external video/recorder output you can try? If you don't get a picture internal or external, not looking good...


Charlie

M&P-10 + AAC Cyclone
Kel-Tec RFB + Griffin Sportsman Ultra Light 300
Pulsar Apex XQ-50
Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton] #7179754
05/25/18 03:42 PM
05/25/18 03:42 PM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,980
McKinney & Pottsboro, TX
M
MDMORROW Offline
Veteran Tracker
MDMORROW  Offline
Veteran Tracker
M

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,980
McKinney & Pottsboro, TX
Gonna have to send that bad boy in Iím afraid.



Night Vision / Thermal / Shooting Tripods / Accessories
www.nightvisionoutfitters.com
sales@nightvisionoutfitters.com
Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton] #7179806
05/25/18 04:30 PM
05/25/18 04:30 PM
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 5,937
Forestburg, Montague Cnty, TX
Double Naught Spy Online content
THF Trophy Hunter
Double Naught Spy  Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter

Joined: May 2011
Posts: 5,937
Forestburg, Montague Cnty, TX
Originally Posted By: DocHorton

Iím using one of the UNV battery packs...battery is fully charged and Iíve been using the rechargeable battery for a while.

I donít think getting power is the issue...it seems like the thermal sensor isnít working.


I understand and I also doubt it is an external power issue, but still, the issue isn't ruled out, either. So, take off the external battery and check with CR123s before you take the time and expense of sending in the unit...in case there is actually a problem with the external battery or connections. When thermal cameras don't get quite enough power, they can do some wonky image things. Checking with fresh CR123s will only take a few minutes and right now you have the free time to do that, versus how much time it will take you to box it up and send it in AFTER you call Trijicon who isn't open right now and likely won't be open on Monday.


Si vis pacem cum sus, para bellum.
My Videos https://www.youtube.com/user/HornHillRange
Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: Mountain Lion] #7179815
05/25/18 04:37 PM
05/25/18 04:37 PM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 27,317
Killeen/Ft Hood, TX
S
SapperTitan Online content
Taking Requests
SapperTitan  Online Content
Taking Requests
S

Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 27,317
Killeen/Ft Hood, TX
Originally Posted By: Mountain Lion
Well as they say...you get what you pay for! :p

smh


Originally Posted by bill oxner
I plowed mules.
Originally Posted by Roll-Tide
I did build a cabin. Aka the brokeback shack.

[Linked Image]
Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: Mountain Lion] #7179821
05/25/18 04:48 PM
05/25/18 04:48 PM
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 129
Montague County / San Antonio
Mountain Lion Offline
Woodsman
Mountain Lion  Offline
Woodsman

Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 129
Montague County / San Antonio
Originally Posted By: Mountain Lion
Well as they say...you get what you pay for! :p



(obviously joking)


ML
Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton] #7179858
05/25/18 05:21 PM
05/25/18 05:21 PM
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,461
DFW
D
DocHorton Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
DocHorton  Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
D

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,461
DFW
DNS, Iíll try that when I get back home. I donít have the battery cover with me right now.

Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton] #7180407
05/26/18 04:22 AM
05/26/18 04:22 AM
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,461
DFW
D
DocHorton Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
DocHorton  Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
D

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,461
DFW
Well, I tried new batteries and still no luck. Looks like Iíll be calling Trijicon on Tuesday.

Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton] #7180430
05/26/18 05:07 AM
05/26/18 05:07 AM
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 12,347
Lake Texoma, TX
2Beez Online happy
THF Celebrity
2Beez  Online Happy
THF Celebrity

Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 12,347
Lake Texoma, TX
Damn. Hate to hear that Doc.

Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton] #7180499
05/26/18 01:15 PM
05/26/18 01:15 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 3,394
D/FW, TX
dfwroadkill Offline
Veteran Tracker
dfwroadkill  Offline
Veteran Tracker

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 3,394
D/FW, TX
Sometimes they get stuck. Take it out on the sidewalk and give it a good tap or two with a 10 lb. sledge. Should fix it.

Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton] #7180542
05/26/18 02:24 PM
05/26/18 02:24 PM
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 5,937
Forestburg, Montague Cnty, TX
Double Naught Spy Online content
THF Trophy Hunter
Double Naught Spy  Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter

Joined: May 2011
Posts: 5,937
Forestburg, Montague Cnty, TX
You can't just slap the side of it like an old TV?

Seriously, that is a bummer. I don't know that I have heard of that happening with IR Hunters. However, if you make enough units, sooner or later, one of everything will fail it seems, regardless of the product.


Si vis pacem cum sus, para bellum.
My Videos https://www.youtube.com/user/HornHillRange
Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton] #7181001
05/27/18 04:53 AM
05/27/18 04:53 AM
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 42
DFW
Stripermania Offline
Light Foot
Stripermania  Offline
Light Foot

Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 42
DFW
Almost the same thing happened to me in my blind last night. Just bought mk3 35mm new two weeks ago. I took it to the back of the ranch and fired one shot at a heat pad and tuned it off and got into the blind. A few hours later, pig alarm went off and I turned it on and can barely see a sounder. I can barely see the menu but can't read the numbers an words. Changed out 3 new Surefire and still the same. NUC it a few times but did not help. Somehow I fumbled into the right menu and don't know if it's brightness or contrast adjustment but I got my thermal image back. I thought the unit supposed to remember the last setting when powered off. Also, sometimes I would lose the reticle when I go thru menu selection. Could I be turning the turret faster than the 1 second as recommended by the manual? I am still learning using the unit and the manual doesn't provide much details.

Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton] #7181653
05/28/18 05:15 AM
05/28/18 05:15 AM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 3,394
D/FW, TX
dfwroadkill Offline
Veteran Tracker
dfwroadkill  Offline
Veteran Tracker

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 3,394
D/FW, TX
Yes, slow down a bit through the menus.

Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton] #7190708
06/07/18 01:34 AM
06/07/18 01:34 AM
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,461
DFW
D
DocHorton Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
DocHorton  Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
D

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,461
DFW
Sent if off to Trijicon today....hopefully it's a cheap fix.

Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton] #7191484
06/07/18 09:35 PM
06/07/18 09:35 PM
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 5,937
Forestburg, Montague Cnty, TX
Double Naught Spy Online content
THF Trophy Hunter
Double Naught Spy  Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter

Joined: May 2011
Posts: 5,937
Forestburg, Montague Cnty, TX
Should be under warranty, I would think. I hope so!


Si vis pacem cum sus, para bellum.
My Videos https://www.youtube.com/user/HornHillRange
Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton] #7208849
06/26/18 04:46 PM
06/26/18 04:46 PM
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,461
DFW
D
DocHorton Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
DocHorton  Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
D

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,461
DFW
Update:

Just got an email saying it was repaired/replaced under warranty and shipping back. Can't wait to see if I got a new one or if they just fixed it.

Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton] #7208920
06/26/18 05:59 PM
06/26/18 05:59 PM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 27,317
Killeen/Ft Hood, TX
S
SapperTitan Online content
Taking Requests
SapperTitan  Online Content
Taking Requests
S

Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 27,317
Killeen/Ft Hood, TX
A new one would be sweet.


Originally Posted by bill oxner
I plowed mules.
Originally Posted by Roll-Tide
I did build a cabin. Aka the brokeback shack.

[Linked Image]
Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton] #7209029
06/26/18 07:32 PM
06/26/18 07:32 PM
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 5,937
Forestburg, Montague Cnty, TX
Double Naught Spy Online content
THF Trophy Hunter
Double Naught Spy  Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter

Joined: May 2011
Posts: 5,937
Forestburg, Montague Cnty, TX
Woohoo!!!!


Si vis pacem cum sus, para bellum.
My Videos https://www.youtube.com/user/HornHillRange
Re: Help...thermal has no picture! [Re: DocHorton] #7209066
06/26/18 08:32 PM
06/26/18 08:32 PM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,980
McKinney & Pottsboro, TX
M
MDMORROW Offline
Veteran Tracker
MDMORROW  Offline
Veteran Tracker
M

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,980
McKinney & Pottsboro, TX
They usually just replace the guts. I just got a new core in one of my reaps.



Night Vision / Thermal / Shooting Tripods / Accessories
www.nightvisionoutfitters.com
sales@nightvisionoutfitters.com
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 2004-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2