texashuntingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
bpatterson84, Rbdeputy, JRTexas, LionSkin, HuntWheelerRanch
64360 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
dogcatcher 90,166
stxranchman 53,745
bill oxner 49,796
RKHarm24 44,577
rifleman 44,414
BMD 41,009
SnakeWrangler 39,564
Big Orn 37,484
txshntr 35,378
Facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics417,929
Posts6,075,850
Members64,360
Most Online16,728
Mar 25th, 2012
Print Thread
Chargemaster 1500 died. Anyone know the error codes? #7152119
04/26/18 12:57 AM
04/26/18 12:57 AM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 130
P
Phlash Offline OP
Woodsman
Phlash  Offline OP
Woodsman
P

Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 130
My 5 year old Chargemaster started displaying a W 7 error code. RCBS said they don't manufacture them and don't repair them. They are manufactured by someone else. They also told me that Natchez Shooting Supply had them on sale. Note that MidwayUSA has them on sale fore $50 less. That was a very disappointing reply to my email. Does anyone know the error codes for this machine and who manufactures it? I would like to contact them for a repair. When I separate the dispenser from the scale, the scale works fine, but when I reconnect the dispenser the W 7 error returns. If I have to replace the dispenser, I want to hear from other THF members about the reliability, ease of use, costs of other powder dispensers, etc. I am not married to RCBS. I know there are several other brands out there now. I use red, green and blue on my bench.

Re: Chargemaster 1500 died. Anyone know the error codes? [Re: Phlash] #7152171
04/26/18 01:55 AM
04/26/18 01:55 AM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 8,228
Wise Co.
R
RiverRider Online content
THF Trophy Hunter
RiverRider  Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
R

Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 8,228
Wise Co.
I got nuthin on the error code, but I can tell you that the Chargemaster is the best dispenser of its kind available. Had a Hornady, it was disappointing. Nephew has a Lyman and it's a POS in my opinion.

Sounds like the dispenser unit itself has gone bad. That has been available by itself in the past, maybe it still is. I know what I would do.




I'm here to give and receive knowledge, not affirmation or adoration. If you don't like it, mierda dura. Intellectual honesty is not for fragile egos.
Re: Chargemaster 1500 died. Anyone know the error codes? [Re: Phlash] #7152181
04/26/18 02:04 AM
04/26/18 02:04 AM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 149
Arlington
K
KK30RAR Offline
Woodsman
KK30RAR  Offline
Woodsman
K

Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 149
Arlington
Can’t you buy the dispenser by itself ? The way things are now days probably cheaper for the complete unit I would stick with the rcbs I know first hand hornady unit sucks


Pulsar xq50 trail
Pulsar xq30f Helion
Re: Chargemaster 1500 died. Anyone know the error codes? [Re: Phlash] #7152411
04/26/18 11:51 AM
04/26/18 11:51 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,237
Hen House Tx
T
Teal28 Offline
Extreme Tracker
Teal28  Offline
Extreme Tracker
T

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,237
Hen House Tx
You can get just the dispenser, but they run almost the cost of a new one ($180) +/-.
I see slightly used complete charge masters come up for sale a lot for $200-$250.
Id just save or sell the scale and get another one.


Re: Chargemaster 1500 died. Anyone know the error codes? [Re: Phlash] #7152447
04/26/18 12:37 PM
04/26/18 12:37 PM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 130
P
Phlash Offline OP
Woodsman
Phlash  Offline OP
Woodsman
P

Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 130
Guys, I guess I am old school in my beliefs. I know I can replace the unit for $181 at Midway. But before I do, I want to make sure it is not repairable. It may be a simple repair. I am also disappointed that RCBS sells a product they don't support. I would like to know who builds it for RCBS and if they service the units. I haven't disassembled the unit yet. There may be hints of who builds it. As far as I know to date, it could simply be a blown fuse in the dispenser.

Re: Chargemaster 1500 died. Anyone know the error codes? [Re: Phlash] #7152484
04/26/18 01:02 PM
04/26/18 01:02 PM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 130
P
Phlash Offline OP
Woodsman
Phlash  Offline OP
Woodsman
P

Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 130
Guys, I guess I am old school in my beliefs. I know I can replace the unit for $181 at Midway. But before I do, I want to make sure it is not repairable. It may be a simple repair. I am also disappointed that RCBS sells a product they don't support. I would like to know who builds it for RCBS and if they service the units. I haven't disassembled the unit yet. There may be hints of who builds it. As far as I know to date, it could simply be a blown fuse in the dispenser.

Re: Chargemaster 1500 died. Anyone know the error codes? [Re: Phlash] #7152523
04/26/18 01:36 PM
04/26/18 01:36 PM
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,592
Royse City, TX
P
patriot07 Online content
Veteran Tracker
patriot07  Online Content
Veteran Tracker
P

Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,592
Royse City, TX
I doubt the problem is that they're not repairable, but rather that RCBS has found that they're not cost-effective to repair (i.e. the cost of repair meets or exceeds the cost of replacement). It's become a disposable society, especially when it comes to electronics.

Re: Chargemaster 1500 died. Anyone know the error codes? [Re: Phlash] #7152544
04/26/18 01:55 PM
04/26/18 01:55 PM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 8,228
Wise Co.
R
RiverRider Online content
THF Trophy Hunter
RiverRider  Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
R

Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 8,228
Wise Co.
Having thought about it some more, I think it's possible that the scale itself has failed. It may work fine independently, but the code could mean that the scale can't interface with the dispenser section. Maybe the best thing to do would be to find someone who has one who'd be willing to connect your scale to his dispenser unit, or vice-versa.




I'm here to give and receive knowledge, not affirmation or adoration. If you don't like it, mierda dura. Intellectual honesty is not for fragile egos.
Re: Chargemaster 1500 died. Anyone know the error codes? [Re: Phlash] #7152620
04/26/18 02:41 PM
04/26/18 02:41 PM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 14,318
Frisco, Texas
B
Buzzsaw Online content
THF Celebrity
Buzzsaw  Online Content
THF Celebrity
B

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 14,318
Frisco, Texas
following


"I ain't here for a long time, I'm here for a good time"
King George Strait


Re: Chargemaster 1500 died. Anyone know the error codes? [Re: Phlash] #7152920
04/26/18 08:04 PM
04/26/18 08:04 PM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 130
P
Phlash Offline OP
Woodsman
Phlash  Offline OP
Woodsman
P

Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 130
River Rider,

Great idea, I know several that are running these units. I will let you know what happens. Thanks

Re: Chargemaster 1500 died. Anyone know the error codes? [Re: Phlash] #7152924
04/26/18 08:10 PM
04/26/18 08:10 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 5,065
Wills Point
W
wp75169 Online content
THF Trophy Hunter
wp75169  Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
W

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 5,065
Wills Point
The original ones were manufactured by PACT. 18007228467. They do repairs. I have no idea if your unit was made by them though. I think they charged 40-$50 to repair mine. They are in Grand Prairie Tx.

Re: Chargemaster 1500 died. Anyone know the error codes? [Re: Phlash] #7153109
04/27/18 12:05 AM
04/27/18 12:05 AM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 130
P
Phlash Offline OP
Woodsman
Phlash  Offline OP
Woodsman
P

Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 130
I took my Chargemaster over to a friend's house and we swapped my dispenser with his. His worked on my scale. So I put my dispenser back on my scale and got the W 7 code. After talking to RCBS Technical assistance and they nicely told me they didn't know what the code meant but I could open it up and try toggling a calibration switch in the scale. He made it clear that I was on my own. I decided to open up the dispenser and see if there was a micro fuse or other potential failure. Inside there is a simple a stepper motor for the rotating trickler and a circuit board to drive the motor and to drive the user interface keyboard and communicate with the scale. No fuses were found. Before closing it back up, I reseated the cable connectors, thinking they might not be making good contact. At this point, I decided to do the same and opened my scale. Here there was a simple single point load cell, two circuit boards, one to drive the LCD display keypad and the other connected to the power source, load cell and the connector going to the dispenser. The RCBS Tech said to try flipping a micro switch, but it didn't help. After disassembling the scale for the third time, I reseated the multi-conductor ribbon cable going to the dispenser. This time the W 7 code went away, but the unit would only show grams, not grains. I disassemble the scale again, and cleaned the pins on the main circuit board and reseated the ribbon cable. This time the unit came up in grains and now calibrates like it should. My unit stays in a clean environment and doesn't see big temperature swings. In the Panhandle humidity isn't a problem. There was no sign of corrosion on the connectors, but there had to be a bad connection. My biggest a-ha is that RCBS doesn't have any technical knowledge about this product and don't have anyone who can support it. That is a disappointment.

Re: Chargemaster 1500 died. Anyone know the error codes? [Re: Phlash] #7153215
04/27/18 02:26 AM
04/27/18 02:26 AM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 8,228
Wise Co.
R
RiverRider Online content
THF Trophy Hunter
RiverRider  Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
R

Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 8,228
Wise Co.
Excellent.

There is a product on the market that is used to enhance connector performance. I forget what it's called, but the stuff actually works. It's pricey too, but one small container can be used many times. I found this stuff a couple of years ago when one of our techs was frustrated with the quality of the connectors supplied by an avionics OEM (which have to be used, period). We tried the stuff, and bingo---it works. You may never see the issue again or it may repeat next time you use the thing.

I'll see if I can remember to ask about that stuff. There are young guys at work who remember things like that.




I'm here to give and receive knowledge, not affirmation or adoration. If you don't like it, mierda dura. Intellectual honesty is not for fragile egos.
Re: Chargemaster 1500 died. Anyone know the error codes? [Re: Phlash] #7153269
04/27/18 04:21 AM
04/27/18 04:21 AM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 23,859
Texas
kmon1 Online shocked
junior
kmon1  Online Shocked
junior

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 23,859
Texas
DeoxIT® Gold is one of those products RiverRider is referring to. I have used it in laptops and a few other things. Whe[quote][/quote]I was at Rockwell international we used similar product on quite a bit of the products

Re: Chargemaster 1500 died. Anyone know the error codes? [Re: Phlash] #7153554
04/27/18 05:32 PM
04/27/18 05:32 PM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 8,228
Wise Co.
R
RiverRider Online content
THF Trophy Hunter
RiverRider  Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
R

Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 8,228
Wise Co.
Stabilant 22 is the product we use.




I'm here to give and receive knowledge, not affirmation or adoration. If you don't like it, mierda dura. Intellectual honesty is not for fragile egos.
Re: Chargemaster 1500 died. Anyone know the error codes? [Re: Phlash] #7153681
04/27/18 08:36 PM
04/27/18 08:36 PM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 130
P
Phlash Offline OP
Woodsman
Phlash  Offline OP
Woodsman
P

Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 130
Thanks!

Re: Chargemaster 1500 died. Anyone know the error codes? [Re: Phlash] #7156539
05/01/18 02:50 PM
05/01/18 02:50 PM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 14,318
Frisco, Texas
B
Buzzsaw Online content
THF Celebrity
Buzzsaw  Online Content
THF Celebrity
B

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 14,318
Frisco, Texas
well, I'm impressed yo went to all the trouble to try and figure it out.

the rest of us would have just said a few choice words and chit canned it for a new one.


"I ain't here for a long time, I'm here for a good time"
King George Strait


Re: Chargemaster 1500 died. Anyone know the error codes? [Re: Buzzsaw] #7156998
05/01/18 09:40 PM
05/01/18 09:40 PM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 8,228
Wise Co.
R
RiverRider Online content
THF Trophy Hunter
RiverRider  Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
R

Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 8,228
Wise Co.
Originally Posted By: Buzzsaw
well, I'm impressed yo went to all the trouble to try and figure it out.

the rest of us would have just said a few choice words and chit canned it for a new one.



Nyet!

I hardly ever throw any electronic gizmo out before at least taking it apart to look for the obvious, or maybe go to a bit more trouble than that and actually make an effort to repair.

The exception is HP printers. I'd rather just take them out to the driveway and jump up and down on them a little while before tossing the pieces in the trash. It feels good.




I'm here to give and receive knowledge, not affirmation or adoration. If you don't like it, mierda dura. Intellectual honesty is not for fragile egos.
Re: Chargemaster 1500 died. Anyone know the error codes? [Re: Phlash] #7160811
05/05/18 03:16 AM
05/05/18 03:16 AM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 130
P
Phlash Offline OP
Woodsman
Phlash  Offline OP
Woodsman
P

Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 130
I am too much of a tightwad to just chuck it, plus I was was an automation controls engineer in my younger days. The way the electronics are made today, there aren't too many ways you can screw it up since the circuit boards have been miniaturized and encapsulated to lessen costs and to make them less susceptible to corrosion. However the connectors still have exposed metals and depending on the types of metal, bad connections can occur. I am still disappointed that RCBS didn't have anyone who could tell me what the error code meant.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 2004-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2