texashuntingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
madmaxrn, Bentley, fishin' trip, Dexterous, BuddyT29
64509 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
dogcatcher 90,557
stxranchman 53,936
bill oxner 50,463
RKHarm24 44,577
rifleman 44,415
BMD 41,009
SnakeWrangler 40,402
Big Orn 37,484
txshntr 35,396
Facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics419,814
Posts6,100,069
Members64,509
Most Online16,728
Mar 25th, 2012
Print Thread
Pts233 problem #7146697
04/20/18 11:38 PM
04/20/18 11:38 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,400
Addison Tx or Cisco Tx
H
hetman Online content OP
Veteran Tracker
hetman  Online Content OP
Veteran Tracker
H

Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,400
Addison Tx or Cisco Tx
ok finally got my flir today after waiting since 2/6 :

Anyway got scope : packed in a very nice weatherproof case : installed battery :scope powers up fine in white hot mode.

pull switch on back for 3 positions off/on/standby

problem none of the top buttons menu/zoom/color mode etc will work

any idea what I am doing wrong

from reading manual : stanby requires a remote control that you have to buy extra
and on is where everything is suppose to work?


Last edited by hetman; 04/20/18 11:40 PM.

[Linked Image]

You made a mistake
You got the wrong guy
Iím only guilty of a damn good time

Re: Pts233 problem [Re: hetman] #7146776
04/21/18 12:59 AM
04/21/18 12:59 AM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,408
Eastland county
T
Tye Offline
Veteran Tracker
Tye  Offline
Veteran Tracker
T

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,408
Eastland county
You have to hold the buttons down on some of the menus. Did you press and hold the center button?

Last edited by Tye; 04/21/18 01:01 AM.

Originally Posted By: AmoCuernos
If you shoot a young deer because a neighbor will shoot it, you are that neighbor.
Re: Pts233 problem [Re: Tye] #7146788
04/21/18 01:15 AM
04/21/18 01:15 AM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,400
Addison Tx or Cisco Tx
H
hetman Online content OP
Veteran Tracker
hetman  Online Content OP
Veteran Tracker
H

Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,400
Addison Tx or Cisco Tx
Originally Posted By: Tye
You have to hold the buttons down on some of the menus. Did you press and hold the center button?


yes none of them do squat


[Linked Image]

You made a mistake
You got the wrong guy
Iím only guilty of a damn good time

Re: Pts233 problem [Re: hetman] #7146818
04/21/18 01:58 AM
04/21/18 01:58 AM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,408
Eastland county
T
Tye Offline
Veteran Tracker
Tye  Offline
Veteran Tracker
T

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,408
Eastland county
You have to push down really hard on the buttons. Did you try different batteries? Other than that, I got nothing for ya


Originally Posted By: AmoCuernos
If you shoot a young deer because a neighbor will shoot it, you are that neighbor.
Re: Pts233 problem [Re: hetman] #7146855
04/21/18 02:58 AM
04/21/18 02:58 AM
Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 662
M
Midwaytmm Offline
Tracker
Midwaytmm  Offline
Tracker
M

Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 662
At the risk of asking dumb question, did you call folks/company you bought from? Surely it got tested for function before it left the shop? If not, whatís the point of paying somebody 10-20% markup for just taking your order? Sorry I canít offer any actual help, just thinking out loud about your situation. Been there, several times unfortunately .

Re: Pts233 problem [Re: Tye] #7146912
04/21/18 05:27 AM
04/21/18 05:27 AM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,400
Addison Tx or Cisco Tx
H
hetman Online content OP
Veteran Tracker
hetman  Online Content OP
Veteran Tracker
H

Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,400
Addison Tx or Cisco Tx
Originally Posted By: Tye
You have to push down really hard on the buttons. Did you try different batteries? Other than that, I got nothing for ya


nope nothing works on upper key pad- scope powers up in white hot mode and you can't change any thing from the keypad. maybe if I had a remote but its not included

Last edited by hetman; 04/21/18 05:28 AM.

[Linked Image]

You made a mistake
You got the wrong guy
Iím only guilty of a damn good time

Re: Pts233 problem [Re: Midwaytmm] #7146914
04/21/18 05:32 AM
04/21/18 05:32 AM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,400
Addison Tx or Cisco Tx
H
hetman Online content OP
Veteran Tracker
hetman  Online Content OP
Veteran Tracker
H

Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,400
Addison Tx or Cisco Tx
Originally Posted By: Midwaytmm
At the risk of asking dumb question, did you call folks/company you bought from? Surely it got tested for function before it left the shop? If not, whatís the point of paying somebody 10-20% markup for just taking your order? Sorry I canít offer any actual help, just thinking out loud about your situation. Been there, several times unfortunately .


it was delivered via fed ex late Friday - store is closed until Monday morning.

went to web site and wrote a contact form describing problem.

I don't want to have to send it to Flir and wait tell its fixed. been waiting on this scope since 2/6

Last edited by hetman; 04/21/18 05:34 AM.

[Linked Image]

You made a mistake
You got the wrong guy
Iím only guilty of a damn good time

Re: Pts233 problem [Re: hetman] #7146918
04/21/18 06:17 AM
04/21/18 06:17 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 14,909
Big D
T
Txduckman Offline
THF Celebrity
Txduckman  Offline
THF Celebrity
T

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 14,909
Big D
If you want to talk to someone with one, let me know and I will hook you up. His experience and videos look great with it. Great guy and been using it for months. He is up in Montague.

Re: Pts233 problem [Re: hetman] #7146955
04/21/18 10:44 AM
04/21/18 10:44 AM
Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 662
M
Midwaytmm Offline
Tracker
Midwaytmm  Offline
Tracker
M

Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 662
In the days of Mbl phones and email, nothing is ever officially closed . They might not want to answer the phone, but theyíll get the msg at least . You money, your gear . Just makes me mad . Been there

Re: Pts233 problem [Re: hetman] #7146959
04/21/18 11:04 AM
04/21/18 11:04 AM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,408
Eastland county
T
Tye Offline
Veteran Tracker
Tye  Offline
Veteran Tracker
T

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,408
Eastland county
Sorry about your issues


Originally Posted By: AmoCuernos
If you shoot a young deer because a neighbor will shoot it, you are that neighbor.
Re: Pts233 problem [Re: hetman] #7146964
04/21/18 11:31 AM
04/21/18 11:31 AM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 15,114
Murphy, TX Dickens county
P
Pitchfork Predator Online content
THF Celebrity
Pitchfork Predator  Online Content
THF Celebrity
P

Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 15,114
Murphy, TX Dickens county
Kroyal has one. Might pm him.


Marc C. Helfrich
Retirement Planner

www.insured-wealth.com
469-323-8920
Re: Pts233 problem [Re: hetman] #7146972
04/21/18 11:54 AM
04/21/18 11:54 AM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,827
The Lone Star State
B
Bar-D Online content
Pro Tracker
Bar-D  Online Content
Pro Tracker
B

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,827
The Lone Star State
The only thing I can say about mine is this. You are correct, everything in the menu should work in the "on" position. I have big fingers and can press on every button, holding down, tapping, etc and nothing happens. I have to use the very tip of my fingers to allow the buttons to depress far enough to work. If you have big fingers, that MIGHT be the problem with your scope as well. If you have already tried this HETMAN, sounds like you may have product problems. Good luck.

Last edited by Bar-D; 04/21/18 09:48 PM.

People Sleep Peacefully in Their Beds at Night Only Because Rough Men Stand Ready to Do Violence on Their Behalf
Re: Pts233 problem [Re: Bar-D] #7147164
04/21/18 04:41 PM
04/21/18 04:41 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,400
Addison Tx or Cisco Tx
H
hetman Online content OP
Veteran Tracker
hetman  Online Content OP
Veteran Tracker
H

Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,400
Addison Tx or Cisco Tx
Originally Posted By: Bar-D
The only thing I can say about mine is this. You are correct, everything in the menu should work in the "on" polition. I have big fingers and can press on every button, holding down, tapping, etc and nothing happens. I have to use the very tip of my fingers to allow the buttons to depress far enough to work. If you have big fingers, that MIGHT be the problem with your scope as well. If you have already tried this HETMAN, sounds like you may have product problems. Good luck.


yep that was it exactly Man these buttons suck on this flir have to use tip of a nail and press hard


[Linked Image]

You made a mistake
You got the wrong guy
Iím only guilty of a damn good time

Re: Pts233 problem [Re: hetman] #7147175
04/21/18 04:50 PM
04/21/18 04:50 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,400
Addison Tx or Cisco Tx
H
hetman Online content OP
Veteran Tracker
hetman  Online Content OP
Veteran Tracker
H

Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,400
Addison Tx or Cisco Tx
Dang still tempted to send it back over how hard it is to manipulate these buttons.. i guess thats what the remote control will be for when they release it


[Linked Image]

You made a mistake
You got the wrong guy
Iím only guilty of a damn good time

Re: Pts233 problem [Re: hetman] #7147207
04/21/18 05:36 PM
04/21/18 05:36 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,408
Eastland county
T
Tye Offline
Veteran Tracker
Tye  Offline
Veteran Tracker
T

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,408
Eastland county
Originally Posted By: hetman
Originally Posted By: Bar-D
The only thing I can say about mine is this. You are correct, everything in the menu should work in the "on" polition. I have big fingers and can press on every button, holding down, tapping, etc and nothing happens. I have to use the very tip of my fingers to allow the buttons to depress far enough to work. If you have big fingers, that MIGHT be the problem with your scope as well. If you have already tried this HETMAN, sounds like you may have product problems. Good luck.


yep that was it exactly Man these buttons suck on this flir have to use tip of a nail and press hard


Glad you found out that it wasnít your unit. Be sure to adjust the enhancements. It makes s big difference. You can also write down the default settings if you think you will mess it up. Have fun !


Originally Posted By: AmoCuernos
If you shoot a young deer because a neighbor will shoot it, you are that neighbor.
Re: Pts233 problem [Re: hetman] #7147291
04/21/18 07:43 PM
04/21/18 07:43 PM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 1,924
Flower Mound, TX
CharlieCTx Online content
Pro Tracker
CharlieCTx  Online Content
Pro Tracker

Joined: May 2013
Posts: 1,924
Flower Mound, TX
Originally Posted By: hetman
yep that was it exactly Man these buttons suck on this flir have to use tip of a nail and press hard

Is there a lotion or salve you can use to address those sausage fingers?


Charlie

M&P-10 + AAC Cyclone
Kel-Tec RFB + Griffin Sportsman Ultra Light 300
Pulsar Apex XQ-50
Re: Pts233 problem [Re: hetman] #7147350
04/21/18 09:53 PM
04/21/18 09:53 PM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,827
The Lone Star State
B
Bar-D Online content
Pro Tracker
Bar-D  Online Content
Pro Tracker
B

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,827
The Lone Star State
Originally Posted By: hetman
Originally Posted By: Bar-D
The only thing I can say about mine is this. You are correct, everything in the menu should work in the "on" polition. I have big fingers and can press on every button, holding down, tapping, etc and nothing happens. I have to use the very tip of my fingers to allow the buttons to depress far enough to work. If you have big fingers, that MIGHT be the problem with your scope as well. If you have already tried this HETMAN, sounds like you may have product problems. Good luck.


yep that was it exactly Man these buttons suck on this flir have to use tip of a nail and press hard

Glad it worked for you. Once you get used to the way you have to position your fingers, it really isn't that difficult to repeat. Sometimes when I am trying to get the menu up, I wind up taking a picture. The more you play with it the easier it will get. With digits as big as mine, they are no longer fingers, they are big a** fangers. up


People Sleep Peacefully in Their Beds at Night Only Because Rough Men Stand Ready to Do Violence on Their Behalf
Re: Pts233 problem [Re: hetman] #7148179
04/22/18 07:54 PM
04/22/18 07:54 PM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 283
Appleby, TX
O
Outdoor Legacy Online content
Bird Dog
Outdoor Legacy  Online Content
Bird Dog
O

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 283
Appleby, TX
I've never been a fan of the buttons on the Armasight bodies and now the FLIRs. Some units are better than others but it definitely requires some force to get the buttons to work sometimes and it's basically the opposite of the Pulsars. Those buttons get pressed accidentally because they are so soft and that can be annoying to, it's just opposite ends of the spectrum.

As for the remote, they are available and have been since the PTS233 was released last fall. I've got one sitting on my desk and they work great. To be honest, I've never found a remote to be any use on any other brand scope but I find myself using them on the FLIRs a decent amount of the time.

Jason



Night Vision, Thermal & Accessories
Pulsar, Sightmark, FLIR/Armasight, Trijicon & More
OutdoorLegacyGear.com
(877)350-1818

Re: Pts233 problem [Re: Outdoor Legacy] #7148237
04/22/18 08:56 PM
04/22/18 08:56 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,400
Addison Tx or Cisco Tx
H
hetman Online content OP
Veteran Tracker
hetman  Online Content OP
Veteran Tracker
H

Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,400
Addison Tx or Cisco Tx
Originally Posted By: Outdoor Legacy Gear
I've never been a fan of the buttons on the Armasight bodies and now the FLIRs. Some units are better than others but it definitely requires some force to get the buttons to work sometimes and it's basically the opposite of the Pulsars. Those buttons get pressed accidentally because they are so soft and that can be annoying to, it's just opposite ends of the spectrum.

As for the remote, they are available and have been since the PTS233 was released last fall. I've got one sitting on my desk and they work great. To be honest, I've never found a remote to be any use on any other brand scope but I find myself using them on the FLIRs a decent amount of the time.

Jason


can you hook me up with a remote Thanks Steve(aka hetman)


[Linked Image]

You made a mistake
You got the wrong guy
Iím only guilty of a damn good time

Re: Pts233 problem [Re: hetman] #7148638
04/23/18 04:11 AM
04/23/18 04:11 AM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 283
Appleby, TX
O
Outdoor Legacy Online content
Bird Dog
Outdoor Legacy  Online Content
Bird Dog
O

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 283
Appleby, TX
Originally Posted By: hetman

can you hook me up with a remote Thanks Steve(aka hetman)


Let me see if I've still got any left in stock....I think I might have one.

I've got 15 PTS233's that are on the way from FLIR, not sure if there are any remotes on that shipment, but that's a possibility too. I'll let you know.

Jason



Night Vision, Thermal & Accessories
Pulsar, Sightmark, FLIR/Armasight, Trijicon & More
OutdoorLegacyGear.com
(877)350-1818

Re: Pts233 problem [Re: hetman] #7148643
04/23/18 04:26 AM
04/23/18 04:26 AM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,827
The Lone Star State
B
Bar-D Online content
Pro Tracker
Bar-D  Online Content
Pro Tracker
B

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,827
The Lone Star State
In the early pre release press I read, some of them said the remote came with the scope. I did not get one with mine and would sure like to know if they are available and what the cost would be.


People Sleep Peacefully in Their Beds at Night Only Because Rough Men Stand Ready to Do Violence on Their Behalf
Re: Pts233 problem [Re: hetman] #7149396
04/23/18 10:56 PM
04/23/18 10:56 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,400
Addison Tx or Cisco Tx
H
hetman Online content OP
Veteran Tracker
hetman  Online Content OP
Veteran Tracker
H

Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,400
Addison Tx or Cisco Tx
talked to my dealer today and was told if the buttons are working your good to go. That they will get better over time using them. Whatever.

On the other hand Jason did hook me up with a remote & will be shipped tomorrow. he told me it will mount to a Picatinny and will perform all functions on the scope & has a nice logical layout and is very easy to use


this is a picture of the 5 button remote clipped to a Picatinny rail



Last edited by hetman; 04/23/18 11:02 PM.

[Linked Image]

You made a mistake
You got the wrong guy
Iím only guilty of a damn good time

Re: Pts233 problem [Re: hetman] #7149441
04/23/18 11:51 PM
04/23/18 11:51 PM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,827
The Lone Star State
B
Bar-D Online content
Pro Tracker
Bar-D  Online Content
Pro Tracker
B

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,827
The Lone Star State
up


People Sleep Peacefully in Their Beds at Night Only Because Rough Men Stand Ready to Do Violence on Their Behalf
Re: Pts233 problem [Re: hetman] #7154147
04/28/18 02:52 PM
04/28/18 02:52 PM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,975
McKinney & Pottsboro, TX
M
MDMORROW Online content
Veteran Tracker
MDMORROW  Online Content
Veteran Tracker
M

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,975
McKinney & Pottsboro, TX
The remote does help on some of the flirs because the buttons are so stiff. They do break in over time to an extent. The new breach I found the buttons to not be as bad as the others. Overall the pts is a good solid little scope. You'll have good luck with it I bet.



Night Vision / Thermal / Shooting Tripods / Accessories
www.nightvisionoutfitters.com
sales@nightvisionoutfitters.com
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 2004-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2