Print Thread
New to Dog Training #7130602 04/02/18 10:02 PM
Z
Zackthefisherman Offline OP
Light Foot
OP Offline
Light Foot
Z
First off I want to say hello. I'm relatively new to bird hunting and brand new to bird dog training. I have a 5-month-old GSP that a picked up from a member on here. I've read multiple books and have done a bunch of research on training. Everyone has their own way of doing things, and I understand that I need to figure out what works best for me and my dog. With that said I have a few specific questions for you experienced guys. For now, I have no interest in the competitive side of this. I just want a dog that can reliably hunt quail, pheasants, dove, and maybe some waterfowl.

I've started off with some basic obedience trying to keep things fun without too much pressure. The book I've been basing my training on is "The German Shorthaired Pointer" by David Gowdey. He uses a "natural" approach of letting the birds train the dog which makes a lot of sense to me. Unlike most people, he doesn't use whoa. I'm starting to think I should train my dog whoa from at least a safety standpoint but I would like y'alls opinion on this.

Secondly, I've trained sit from the very beginning. I regularly use it in the house and have trained him to sit before being commanded to fetch. So far he is a great natural retriever. My thought on this was to train him to sit still for dove hunting which I'm hoping he will be able to start this fall. The more I read, I'm now beginning to question whether this will affect his pointing? Should I drop sit all together or will it really have any effect on his pointing?