texashuntingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
sosar5, Blake555h, BigWheel, DB3, johnyp
64530 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
dogcatcher 90,622
stxranchman 53,971
bill oxner 50,571
RKHarm24 44,577
rifleman 44,415
BMD 41,009
SnakeWrangler 40,528
Big Orn 37,484
txshntr 35,419
Facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics420,148
Posts6,104,181
Members64,530
Most Online16,728
Mar 25th, 2012
Print Thread
Pulsar Trail new firmware ver. 3.0.23 #7111443
03/14/18 11:49 PM
03/14/18 11:49 PM
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 54
Magnolia, Tx
T
thermal time Offline OP
Outdoorsman
thermal time  Offline OP
Outdoorsman
T

Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 54
Magnolia, Tx
New firmware came out today. Supposed to fix the point of impact change with temperature issue that so many have complained about. They caution to check your zero after updating before heading out to hunt. I think the best we can hope for is an attempt to minimizing P.O.I. shift with temperature changes not to totally eliminate the shift.

Re: Pulsar Trail new firmware ver. 3.0.23 [Re: thermal time] #7111609
03/15/18 02:15 AM
03/15/18 02:15 AM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 149
Arlington
K
KK30RAR Offline
Woodsman
KK30RAR  Offline
Woodsman
K

Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 149
Arlington
Thanks just did my xq50 trail. Pulsar makes this so easy


Pulsar xq50 trail
Pulsar xq30f Helion
Re: Pulsar Trail new firmware ver. 3.0.23 [Re: thermal time] #7111645
03/15/18 02:46 AM
03/15/18 02:46 AM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,415
Addison Tx or Cisco Tx
H
hetman Online content
Veteran Tracker
hetman  Online Content
Veteran Tracker
H

Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,415
Addison Tx or Cisco Tx
are all thermals subject to this ? ie:flir etc etc


[Linked Image]

You made a mistake
You got the wrong guy
Iím only guilty of a damn good time

Re: Pulsar Trail new firmware ver. 3.0.23 [Re: hetman] #7111701
03/15/18 04:37 AM
03/15/18 04:37 AM
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 5,891
Forestburg, Montague Cnty, TX
Double Naught Spy Online content
THF Trophy Hunter
Double Naught Spy  Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter

Joined: May 2011
Posts: 5,891
Forestburg, Montague Cnty, TX
Originally Posted By: hetman
are all thermals subject to this ? ie:flir etc etc


Nope. All have their own special issues, however. This is just one of the special issues with this particular model. No such problems have been reported with the Pulsar Apex series, for example.


Si vis pacem cum sus, para bellum.
My Videos https://www.youtube.com/user/HornHillRange
Re: Pulsar Trail new firmware ver. 3.0.23 [Re: thermal time] #7111975
03/15/18 03:03 PM
03/15/18 03:03 PM
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 32
J
jay baker Offline
Light Foot
jay baker  Offline
Light Foot
J

Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 32
Do the apex line have any updates?
Nothing is wrong with mine just wondering?

Re: Pulsar Trail new firmware ver. 3.0.23 [Re: jay baker] #7111987
03/15/18 03:15 PM
03/15/18 03:15 PM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 285
Appleby, TX
O
Outdoor Legacy Offline
Bird Dog
Outdoor Legacy  Offline
Bird Dog
O

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 285
Appleby, TX
Originally Posted By: jay baker
Do the apex line have any updates?
Nothing is wrong with mine just wondering?


There is no way for an end user to update an Apex but thankfully there have been no issues at all reported with the new Apexes, so I wouldn't worry about it at all.

Jason



Night Vision, Thermal & Accessories
Pulsar, Sightmark, FLIR/Armasight, Trijicon & More
OutdoorLegacyGear.com
(877)350-1818

Re: Pulsar Trail new firmware ver. 3.0.23 [Re: thermal time] #7112002
03/15/18 03:23 PM
03/15/18 03:23 PM
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 32
J
jay baker Offline
Light Foot
jay baker  Offline
Light Foot
J

Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 32
Thanks, Jason.

Re: Pulsar Trail new firmware ver. 3.0.23 [Re: thermal time] #7119088
03/22/18 12:18 AM
03/22/18 12:18 AM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 149
Arlington
K
KK30RAR Offline
Woodsman
KK30RAR  Offline
Woodsman
K

Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 149
Arlington
Ok so who else did this new firmware update my results where not good . I guess I shouldíve did more research before i got the xq50 trail i did not know about the poi problem Iíve only had this thing 2 weeks
needless to say when i called pulsar they quickly gave me a RA# to drop it off at there facility down the road from me . Weíll see what happens


Pulsar xq50 trail
Pulsar xq30f Helion
Re: Pulsar Trail new firmware ver. 3.0.23 [Re: thermal time] #7119168
03/22/18 01:34 AM
03/22/18 01:34 AM
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 105
J
JCCinOhio Offline
Woodsman
JCCinOhio  Offline
Woodsman
J

Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 105
What's not working?

Re: Pulsar Trail new firmware ver. 3.0.23 [Re: JCCinOhio] #7119184
03/22/18 01:52 AM
03/22/18 01:52 AM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 149
Arlington
K
KK30RAR Offline
Woodsman
KK30RAR  Offline
Woodsman
K

Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 149
Arlington
Originally Posted By: JCCinOhio
What's not working?
. Well everything works on the unit except the most important keeping the same zero it really seems to me the warmer the scope gets the more the poi moves not 1 or 2 inches Iím taking 4 to 5 inch shifts Iíve reading on other forms that this has been a common problem


Pulsar xq50 trail
Pulsar xq30f Helion
Re: Pulsar Trail new firmware ver. 3.0.23 [Re: thermal time] #7119371
03/22/18 11:22 AM
03/22/18 11:22 AM
Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 662
M
Midwaytmm Offline
Tracker
Midwaytmm  Offline
Tracker
M

Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 662
Iíd like to see this happen first hand. Any chance I can get you to come down here?

Re: Pulsar Trail new firmware ver. 3.0.23 [Re: Midwaytmm] #7119403
03/22/18 12:11 PM
03/22/18 12:11 PM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 149
Arlington
K
KK30RAR Offline
Woodsman
KK30RAR  Offline
Woodsman
K

Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 149
Arlington
Originally Posted By: Midwaytmm
Iíd like to see this happen first hand. Any chance I can get you to come down here?
Iíve already dropped the thermal off at sellmark they already know about the problem itís talked about on several other forms . Also Iím done wasting ammo 4 boxes of 30ar and 2 boxes of Hornady for my Grendel it did this on 3 different rifles


Pulsar xq50 trail
Pulsar xq30f Helion
Re: Pulsar Trail new firmware ver. 3.0.23 [Re: thermal time] #7119742
03/22/18 05:45 PM
03/22/18 05:45 PM
Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 662
M
Midwaytmm Offline
Tracker
Midwaytmm  Offline
Tracker
M

Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 662
Wasnít questioning you. Hope it was taken that way. Really just want to see it with my own eyes is all. Sorry your gear is down . Look me up if the trigger finger gets twitchy will your waiting. Iíve got extra. Welcome to come down

Re: Pulsar Trail new firmware ver. 3.0.23 [Re: thermal time] #7119757
03/22/18 06:00 PM
03/22/18 06:00 PM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 149
Arlington
K
KK30RAR Offline
Woodsman
KK30RAR  Offline
Woodsman
K

Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 149
Arlington
No offense takin Felix at nv guys is trying to take care of this as fast as he can great c/s there. Heís had a few trails with this same problem I just got a bad egg .


Pulsar xq50 trail
Pulsar xq30f Helion
Re: Pulsar Trail new firmware ver. 3.0.23 [Re: thermal time] #7127211
03/29/18 06:40 PM
03/29/18 06:40 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,306
Azle, TX
H
HornSlayer Online content
Pro Tracker
HornSlayer  Online Content
Pro Tracker
H

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,306
Azle, TX
So I hunted the last weekend of buck season when the ice blew threw with my Apex . The freezing rain was sticking to everything. A shootable buck comes in and I line up for a 128 yard shot. Pull the trigger and watch this rascal bound away. Iím thinking I made a solid hit but never found any sign. Went back to camp and shot at a 30yard target and it was all over the place. So I sent the rifle to the gunsmith to see if it was the rifle or the scope. The Smith didnít find anything wrong and showed my the test target at 80 yards that grouped a little ove moa. Iím thinking my scope may have this temperature issue as well?

Re: Pulsar Trail new firmware ver. 3.0.23 [Re: HornSlayer] #7127222
03/29/18 06:52 PM
03/29/18 06:52 PM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 1,930
Flower Mound, TX
CharlieCTx Offline
Pro Tracker
CharlieCTx  Offline
Pro Tracker

Joined: May 2013
Posts: 1,930
Flower Mound, TX
Originally Posted By: HornSlayer
Iím thinking my scope may have this temperature issue as well?

The Apex is quite different than the Trail, has been around for a long time and to my knowledge, does not have user update-able FW. I had an XD50A and now shoot an XQ50 and neither showed issues with moving POI whether hot or cold, other than shooter induced.


Charlie

M&P-10 + AAC Cyclone
Kel-Tec RFB + Griffin Sportsman Ultra Light 300
Pulsar Apex XQ-50
Re: Pulsar Trail new firmware ver. 3.0.23 [Re: HornSlayer] #7127283
03/29/18 07:52 PM
03/29/18 07:52 PM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 27,195
Killeen/Ft Hood, TX
S
SapperTitan Online content
Taking Requests
SapperTitan  Online Content
Taking Requests
S

Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 27,195
Killeen/Ft Hood, TX
Originally Posted By: HornSlayer
So I hunted the last weekend of buck season when the ice blew threw with my Apex . The freezing rain was sticking to everything. A shootable buck comes in and I line up for a 128 yard shot. Pull the trigger and watch this rascal bound away. Iím thinking I made a solid hit but never found any sign. Went back to camp and shot at a 30yard target and it was all over the place. So I sent the rifle to the gunsmith to see if it was the rifle or the scope. The Smith didnít find anything wrong and showed my the test target at 80 yards that grouped a little ove moa. Iím thinking my scope may have this temperature issue as well?

I would check to make sure your mount is still torqued to proper specs. Apex has not had POI issues like the trail.


Originally Posted by bill oxner
I plowed mules.
Originally Posted by Roll-Tide
I did build a cabin. Aka the brokeback shack.

[Linked Image]
Re: Pulsar Trail new firmware ver. 3.0.23 [Re: thermal time] #7135394
04/07/18 11:31 PM
04/07/18 11:31 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,306
Azle, TX
H
HornSlayer Online content
Pro Tracker
HornSlayer  Online Content
Pro Tracker
H

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,306
Azle, TX
So while you say the problem does not exist in the Apex, here I am describing the exact issue. Now granted we donít know if it was the cold or the Freezing rain or the sheet of ice covering everything at the time, the fact is I took it to a professional smith with access to a 80 yard indoor range that reports back to me the gun group less than an inch when he tested it. Not trying to cause a ruckus merely stating what has happened.

Re: Pulsar Trail new firmware ver. 3.0.23 [Re: thermal time] #7135396
04/07/18 11:36 PM
04/07/18 11:36 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,306
Azle, TX
H
HornSlayer Online content
Pro Tracker
HornSlayer  Online Content
Pro Tracker
H

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,306
Azle, TX
Oh yes mount, it is a Pulsar QD mount that is extremely well fitted. I have tested it numerous times and it returns perfectly to the previous POI.

Re: Pulsar Trail new firmware ver. 3.0.23 [Re: HornSlayer] #7135520
04/08/18 01:55 AM
04/08/18 01:55 AM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 1,930
Flower Mound, TX
CharlieCTx Offline
Pro Tracker
CharlieCTx  Offline
Pro Tracker

Joined: May 2013
Posts: 1,930
Flower Mound, TX
Originally Posted By: HornSlayer
So while you say the problem does not exist in the Apex, here I am describing the exact issue.


You're trying to equate a SW problem in one device to a completely different one because it's the same Mfr. My apologies for disagreeing.


Charlie

M&P-10 + AAC Cyclone
Kel-Tec RFB + Griffin Sportsman Ultra Light 300
Pulsar Apex XQ-50
Re: Pulsar Trail new firmware ver. 3.0.23 [Re: HornSlayer] #7135526
04/08/18 01:58 AM
04/08/18 01:58 AM
Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,883
Fort Worth
P
Pig_Popper Online content
Pro Tracker
Pig_Popper  Online Content
Pro Tracker
P

Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,883
Fort Worth
Originally Posted By: HornSlayer
Oh yes mount, it is a Pulsar QD mount that is extremely well fitted. I have tested it numerous times and it returns perfectly to the previous POI.


You need to try it with the original OEM Mount


I smell Bacon
Re: Pulsar Trail new firmware ver. 3.0.23 [Re: Pig_Popper] #7135612
04/08/18 04:52 AM
04/08/18 04:52 AM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,306
Azle, TX
H
HornSlayer Online content
Pro Tracker
HornSlayer  Online Content
Pro Tracker
H

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,306
Azle, TX
Originally Posted By: Pig_Popper
Originally Posted By: HornSlayer
Oh yes mount, it is a Pulsar QD mount that is extremely well fitted. I have tested it numerous times and it returns perfectly to the previous POI.


You need to try it with the original OEM Mount


I donít know what that will prove at this point. Unfortunately on this trip I left my AR at home. If I had it here I could have tested at near freezing temperatures. At 70 degrees at the range it grouped just like it was supposed to, about the size of your thumb at 80 yards. Swapping the mount would not prove anything unless I could recreate the sub-freezing, icy, nasty weather that looks like caused the problem. See what I mean? Itís shooting fine in good weather.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 2004-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2