texashuntingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
John8888, TxCoachBS, ingramg, 7hjd2, Lora Weems
64671 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
dogcatcher 90,907
stxranchman 54,131
bill oxner 50,891
RKHarm24 44,577
rifleman 44,416
SnakeWrangler 41,338
BMD 41,014
Big Orn 37,484
txshntr 35,437
Facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics419,751
Posts6,102,808
Members64,671
Most Online16,728
Mar 25th, 2012
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
AR-15 accuracy all over the place #6947776
11/06/17 06:55 AM
11/06/17 06:55 AM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 295
College Station, TX
E
ejj005 Offline OP
Bird Dog
ejj005  Offline OP
Bird Dog
E

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 295
College Station, TX
Took my new Bear Creek Arsenal to the range today in 6.5 Grendel. I had a bad experience with accuracy being as bad as being two close shots to each other and then not being able to find the shot on paper. The scope is in the same base/rings I had it in on another 6.5 grendel. So base was tightened to specs and the rings were same as before and bever had a problem.

I wrote BCA to see what they would do but after looking over it again at home I noticed my rear take down pin was about halfway out. Now I am thinking that is what caused all of this. Is that possible? Also it had problems feeding a couple of times. Ammo was quality, I had Hornady custom, hornady black and federal fusion.

Hoping it is something simple as I like the upper. It is an 18” barrel.

Any suggestions?

Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: ejj005] #6947823
11/06/17 11:49 AM
11/06/17 11:49 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 27,250
Wolfe City, TX
F
FiremanJG Online content
THF Celebrity
FiremanJG  Online Content
THF Celebrity
F

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 27,250
Wolfe City, TX
Yes, put the pin back in all the way, and try again.

Sometimes the obvious answer is the correct answer.



800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available
Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: ejj005] #6947885
11/06/17 01:18 PM
11/06/17 01:18 PM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 295
College Station, TX
E
ejj005 Offline OP
Bird Dog
ejj005  Offline OP
Bird Dog
E

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 295
College Station, TX
Yeah I felt pretty good about it when I found it....not to mention stupid. Hope thats all it is.

Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: ejj005] #6948664
11/06/17 09:01 PM
11/06/17 09:01 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 972
Wylie, TX
C
cyphertext Offline
Tracker
cyphertext  Offline
Tracker
C

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 972
Wylie, TX
I doubt that was it, if the pin was in far enough to hold the upper and lower together. Many ARs have a lot of slop and play between upper and lower with no affect on accuracy.

Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: ejj005] #6948699
11/06/17 09:21 PM
11/06/17 09:21 PM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 27,315
Killeen/Ft Hood, TX
S
SapperTitan Online content
Taking Requests
SapperTitan  Online Content
Taking Requests
S

Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 27,315
Killeen/Ft Hood, TX
Doubt it was the takedown pin. Id re-check the mount and scope.


Originally Posted by bill oxner
I plowed mules.
Originally Posted by Roll-Tide
I did build a cabin. Aka the brokeback shack.

[Linked Image]
Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: ejj005] #6948702
11/06/17 09:23 PM
11/06/17 09:23 PM
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,266
Galveston Bay
B
Bigfoot Offline
Pro Tracker
Bigfoot  Offline
Pro Tracker
B

Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,266
Galveston Bay
I agree with sapper check rings and scope


30-06
6.8SPC
45acp
22LR
Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: ejj005] #6949243
11/07/17 02:46 AM
11/07/17 02:46 AM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 295
College Station, TX
E
ejj005 Offline OP
Bird Dog
ejj005  Offline OP
Bird Dog
E

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 295
College Station, TX
I double checked base. It was to spec. The scope and rings were never messed with. Took straight off my other gun and it shot great. Hoping the take down pin will do it. I was thinking the same thing how most of the time there is a lot of slop. Hoping it will do it though

Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: cyphertext] #6949250
11/07/17 02:49 AM
11/07/17 02:49 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 27,250
Wolfe City, TX
F
FiremanJG Online content
THF Celebrity
FiremanJG  Online Content
THF Celebrity
F

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 27,250
Wolfe City, TX
Originally Posted By: cyphertext
I doubt that was it, if the pin was in far enough to hold the upper and lower together. Many ARs have a lot of slop and play between upper and lower with no affect on accuracy.


And there's a polymer wedge made to take that slack up, alegedly improving consistent shooting..



800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available
Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: ejj005] #6949365
11/07/17 04:21 AM
11/07/17 04:21 AM
Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 653
Hill Country of Texas
E
Eyesofahunter Offline
Tracker
Eyesofahunter  Offline
Tracker
E

Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 653
Hill Country of Texas
Accu Wedge is the name and all my ar have them.

Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: FiremanJG] #6949366
11/07/17 04:23 AM
11/07/17 04:23 AM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 972
Wylie, TX
C
cyphertext Offline
Tracker
cyphertext  Offline
Tracker
C

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 972
Wylie, TX
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
Originally Posted By: cyphertext
I doubt that was it, if the pin was in far enough to hold the upper and lower together. Many ARs have a lot of slop and play between upper and lower with no affect on accuracy.


And there's a polymer wedge made to take that slack up, alegedly improving consistent shooting..


Key word being allegedly... Again, if the pin was in far enough to keep the upper from flopping forward and separating from the lower, then it had no affect. The scope is attached to the upper and the relationship and alignment of the scope with the barrel is constant, even if the upper wiggles in the lower a little. Think about it... if I separate the upper and lower completely, and then mate them back together, do I have to re-zero the scope?

There is something else going on with that rifle...

Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: ejj005] #6949371
11/07/17 04:32 AM
11/07/17 04:32 AM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 295
College Station, TX
E
ejj005 Offline OP
Bird Dog
ejj005  Offline OP
Bird Dog
E

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 295
College Station, TX
I contacted Bear Creek through email last night. I have not had an email returned yet. Going to give it another shot and hope it is right. Thanks I will update. Probably have time to shoot on Friday hopefully

Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: cyphertext] #6949507
11/07/17 12:18 PM
11/07/17 12:18 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 27,250
Wolfe City, TX
F
FiremanJG Online content
THF Celebrity
FiremanJG  Online Content
THF Celebrity
F

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 27,250
Wolfe City, TX
Originally Posted By: cyphertext
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
Originally Posted By: cyphertext
I doubt that was it, if the pin was in far enough to hold the upper and lower together. Many ARs have a lot of slop and play between upper and lower with no affect on accuracy.


And there's a polymer wedge made to take that slack up, alegedly improving consistent shooting..


Key word being allegedly... Again, if the pin was in far enough to keep the upper from flopping forward and separating from the lower, then it had no affect. The scope is attached to the upper and the relationship and alignment of the scope with the barrel is constant, even if the upper wiggles in the lower a little. Think about it... if I separate the upper and lower completely, and then mate them back together, do I have to re-zero the scope?

There is something else going on with that rifle...


Have you ever seen a bolt action rifle shoot with extremely loose action screws? I've seen several, and the results are terrible, with fliers all over the place. Scope in rings, rings attached to rail, all is tight, but it shoots like crap.

I've taken countless barreled actions out of stocks, and replaced them, applying 65 in/lbs, and they shoot great. I've split countless AR-15 and AR-10 rifles to bore sight or clean, and once reassembled, they shoot great. But they will not shoot well if the barreled action, or the upper is loose.



800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available
Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: FiremanJG] #6949552
11/07/17 01:11 PM
11/07/17 01:11 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 972
Wylie, TX
C
cyphertext Offline
Tracker
cyphertext  Offline
Tracker
C

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 972
Wylie, TX
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
Originally Posted By: cyphertext
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
Originally Posted By: cyphertext
I doubt that was it, if the pin was in far enough to hold the upper and lower together. Many ARs have a lot of slop and play between upper and lower with no affect on accuracy.


And there's a polymer wedge made to take that slack up, alegedly improving consistent shooting..


Key word being allegedly... Again, if the pin was in far enough to keep the upper from flopping forward and separating from the lower, then it had no affect. The scope is attached to the upper and the relationship and alignment of the scope with the barrel is constant, even if the upper wiggles in the lower a little. Think about it... if I separate the upper and lower completely, and then mate them back together, do I have to re-zero the scope?

There is something else going on with that rifle...


Have you ever seen a bolt action rifle shoot with extremely loose action screws? I've seen several, and the results are terrible, with fliers all over the place. Scope in rings, rings attached to rail, all is tight, but it shoots like crap.

I've taken countless barreled actions out of stocks, and replaced them, applying 65 in/lbs, and they shoot great. I've split countless AR-15 and AR-10 rifles to bore sight or clean, and once reassembled, they shoot great. But they will not shoot well if the barreled action, or the upper is loose.


Go grab an AR. With the rear pin fully in, wiggle the upper and notice the play. Now pull the rear pin halfway out, where it is still part way through the rear lug holding the rifle, but is not all the way through to where it is flush on the outside of the receiver... wiggle the receiver.. notice any difference in play?

Many GI Joes shoot expert every year with issued, rattle trap M4s and M16s. Slop between the receivers does not create the scenario of two close shots followed by one off the paper in an AR 15. Of course he should put the pin back in fully and try that... horses before zebras and all, but I bet there is something else going on.

Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: ejj005] #6949563
11/07/17 01:21 PM
11/07/17 01:21 PM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 15,464
Frisco, Texas
B
Buzzsaw Online content
THF Celebrity
Buzzsaw  Online Content
THF Celebrity
B

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 15,464
Frisco, Texas
just read this on the AR-15 Forum

Run away from bear creek, they are the same junk under a different name. anyone who can offer a "full feature ar15" for under $500 needs to be looked at with extreme skepticism


"I ain't here for a long time, I'm here for a good time"
King George Strait


Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: cyphertext] #6949587
11/07/17 01:33 PM
11/07/17 01:33 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 27,250
Wolfe City, TX
F
FiremanJG Online content
THF Celebrity
FiremanJG  Online Content
THF Celebrity
F

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 27,250
Wolfe City, TX
Originally Posted By: cyphertext
Of course he should put the pin back in fully and try that... horses before zebras and all, but I bet there is something else going on.


Nooowww, you've caught up. Seems like I said that a couple of days ago.

It costs zero dollars to put the pin back in. That is step number 1. If the rifle STILL doesn't shoot, then move onto rings, scope, ammo.

This place is exhausting sometimes.



800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available
Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: ejj005] #6949592
11/07/17 01:35 PM
11/07/17 01:35 PM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 15,464
Frisco, Texas
B
Buzzsaw Online content
THF Celebrity
Buzzsaw  Online Content
THF Celebrity
B

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 15,464
Frisco, Texas
This place is exhausting sometimes.
_________________________ up


"I ain't here for a long time, I'm here for a good time"
King George Strait


Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: ejj005] #6949624
11/07/17 01:50 PM
11/07/17 01:50 PM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 295
College Station, TX
E
ejj005 Offline OP
Bird Dog
ejj005  Offline OP
Bird Dog
E

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 295
College Station, TX
Thing is I know scope and rings are good...so if it wont shoot with the three types of ammunition that I listed this upper is gone. Hopefully they honor something or at least check it out for me. I have read many good reviews thats why I took a chance. But I know a lot of time you get what you pay for

Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: ejj005] #6949667
11/07/17 02:22 PM
11/07/17 02:22 PM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 15,464
Frisco, Texas
B
Buzzsaw Online content
THF Celebrity
Buzzsaw  Online Content
THF Celebrity
B

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 15,464
Frisco, Texas
I did go to the website, they are not really a lowball set up, the rifles look really good.

You will figure it our, if not send it back or maybe let Derrick at Horizon Rifles there in College Station look it over.

you will be good


"I ain't here for a long time, I'm here for a good time"
King George Strait


Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: ejj005] #6949697
11/07/17 02:36 PM
11/07/17 02:36 PM
Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 653
Hill Country of Texas
E
Eyesofahunter Offline
Tracker
Eyesofahunter  Offline
Tracker
E

Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 653
Hill Country of Texas
To follow on: Put the pin back in. Check clearance between gas block and hand guard. Go shoot it again.

Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: FiremanJG] #6949751
11/07/17 03:09 PM
11/07/17 03:09 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 972
Wylie, TX
C
cyphertext Offline
Tracker
cyphertext  Offline
Tracker
C

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 972
Wylie, TX
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
Originally Posted By: cyphertext
Of course he should put the pin back in fully and try that... horses before zebras and all, but I bet there is something else going on.


Nooowww, you've caught up. Seems like I said that a couple of days ago.

It costs zero dollars to put the pin back in. That is step number 1. If the rifle STILL doesn't shoot, then move onto rings, scope, ammo.

This place is exhausting sometimes.


You are correct that it is a zero dollar correction... but I wouldn't bet next weeks paycheck that it will be the fix.

Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: cyphertext] #6949877
11/07/17 04:05 PM
11/07/17 04:05 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 27,250
Wolfe City, TX
F
FiremanJG Online content
THF Celebrity
FiremanJG  Online Content
THF Celebrity
F

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 27,250
Wolfe City, TX
Originally Posted By: cyphertext
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
Originally Posted By: cyphertext
Of course he should put the pin back in fully and try that... horses before zebras and all, but I bet there is something else going on.


Nooowww, you've caught up. Seems like I said that a couple of days ago.

It costs zero dollars to put the pin back in. That is step number 1. If the rifle STILL doesn't shoot, then move onto rings, scope, ammo.

This place is exhausting sometimes.


You are correct that it is a zero dollar correction... but I wouldn't bet next weeks paycheck that it will be the fix.


That's fine, but should he skip it? Would you skip it?



800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available
Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: ejj005] #6949941
11/07/17 04:35 PM
11/07/17 04:35 PM
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 9,734
Lubbock, TX
Q
QuitShootinYoungBucks Online content
THF Trophy Hunter
QuitShootinYoungBucks  Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Q

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 9,734
Lubbock, TX
What kind of scope? Fix the pin and shoot a few. If still bad, put the scope back on the other gun and see if that gun still shoots well.


[Linked Image]

https://web.archive.org/web/20170223065011/http:/www.rrdvegas.com/silencer-cleaning.html
Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: Eyesofahunter] #6949957
11/07/17 04:42 PM
11/07/17 04:42 PM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 15,464
Frisco, Texas
B
Buzzsaw Online content
THF Celebrity
Buzzsaw  Online Content
THF Celebrity
B

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 15,464
Frisco, Texas
Originally Posted By: Eyesofahunter
To follow on: Put the pin back in. Check clearance between gas block and hand guard. Go shoot it again.


Good call on gas block possibly touching rail


"I ain't here for a long time, I'm here for a good time"
King George Strait


Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: Buzzsaw] #6949977
11/07/17 04:52 PM
11/07/17 04:52 PM
Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 653
Hill Country of Texas
E
Eyesofahunter Offline
Tracker
Eyesofahunter  Offline
Tracker
E

Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 653
Hill Country of Texas
Originally Posted By: Buzzsaw
Originally Posted By: Eyesofahunter
To follow on: Put the pin back in. Check clearance between gas block and hand guard. Go shoot it again.


Good call on gas block possibly touching rail


The little gem comes from experience my man.

Re: AR-15 accuracy all over the place [Re: ejj005] #6950069
11/07/17 05:50 PM
11/07/17 05:50 PM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 295
College Station, TX
E
ejj005 Offline OP
Bird Dog
ejj005  Offline OP
Bird Dog
E

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 295
College Station, TX
Scope is a Vortex PST Gen 1 4-16X. I already contacted warranty department at BCA and they sent me a return label already and said they would ship me another upper. Going to try the pin and I will check gas block clearance just in case. Other than that I will just send it back to them and hope for the best.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 2004-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2