Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Jetjetjet1, CM Ranch, Steve5288, Tigers5285, KAMHUNT
64348 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
dogcatcher 90,118
stxranchman 53,720
bill oxner 49,715
RKHarm24 44,577
rifleman 44,411
BMD 41,009
SnakeWrangler 39,475
Big Orn 37,484
txshntr 35,376
Facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics417,743
Posts6,073,480
Members64,348
Most Online16,728
Mar 25th, 2012
Print Thread
Will a Quick Detachable Scope Hold Zero? #6946674
11/05/17 03:59 AM
11/05/17 03:59 AM
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 186
Abilene, Texas
J
Jungleexplorer Offline OP
Woodsman
Jungleexplorer  Offline OP
Woodsman
J

Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 186
Abilene, Texas


This is the question I put to the test in this video.





My Website:

https://thejungleexplorer.com



NRA Life Time Member.
Re: Will a Quick Detachable Scope Hold Zero? [Re: Jungleexplorer] #6946786
11/05/17 12:34 PM
11/05/17 12:34 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 23,811
Texas
kmon1 Online shocked
junior
kmon1  Online Shocked
junior

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 23,811
Texas
What I have seen is they work pretty good like you have. You do not have to use the Quick Detach to do that though. No video but I have taken standard rail mount scopes off and put them back on without a change to zero. QD just allows you to change a scope without requiring any tools.

I used 2 different scopes for a while on one rifle and never had to rezero using standard rail mounts and rings that stayed secure to the scope, not with the clambshell type Warene rings.

It has been a while since a discussion on here of using the same scope on several different rifles, move it one to another and record the difference in zero for each rifle on the scope and that is repeatable, but for that it is a must you have a scope that tracks precisely

Re: Will a Quick Detachable Scope Hold Zero? [Re: Jungleexplorer] #6946921
11/05/17 03:13 PM
11/05/17 03:13 PM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 941
Houston, Tx
C
Crews Offline
Tracker
Crews  Offline
Tracker
C

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 941
Houston, Tx
Iíve also experienced pretty solid RTZ with several of the popular QD mounts, including Larue, ADM, and Bobro. Of course, that is during normal non-repetitive use like most of us would do in real life. Donít know if it would do it 200x in a row, but who would ever really need that?

There is a very interesting topic I read about concerning the negative effects of vertically split rings on scope tubes and erectors, which would include Larue and ADM mounts. I am convinced by the evidence that itís not a good idea to use those type rings despite the nice RTZ QD features they have. Bobro is still a good choice... other than that I think a fella could do just as well with a Badger or NF unimount and a Wheeler Fat Wrench.

Re: Will a Quick Detachable Scope Hold Zero? [Re: Jungleexplorer] #6947960
11/06/17 02:07 PM
11/06/17 02:07 PM
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,076
Ft. Worth
G
garyrapp55 Offline
Pro Tracker
garyrapp55  Offline
Pro Tracker
G

Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,076
Ft. Worth
I have this mount and have removed and re-mounted and it holds zero.

http://shopwilsoncombat.com/Accu-Rizer-Scope-Mount-1-Rings/productinfo/TR-ARMOUNT/

Re: Will a Quick Detachable Scope Hold Zero? [Re: Jungleexplorer] #6960477
11/14/17 11:34 PM
11/14/17 11:34 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,098
Plano. TX
H
Hunter-Steve Offline
Pro Tracker
Hunter-Steve  Offline
Pro Tracker
H

Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,098
Plano. TX
I recently got a Bobro QD mount and so far it is RTZ over a period of 4 weeks and multiple removals and mountings on two different rifles. But I did have to change the base to have a solid bar and with no no space in the middle as Bobro recommended.


NRA Life Member - NRA Certified Instructor
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 2004-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2