Print Thread
First time Dove hunting... #6939421 10/30/17 04:30 PM
K
Kiteman Offline OP
Light Foot
OP Offline
Light Foot
K
Used to quail hunt a long time ago and shot a few dove on my family's ranch, but never official dove hunting. I have called a couple of day lease places in north Texas so I know where I can go, but I don't really know what I'm doing. Well, I know how to shoot birds, and I've watched enough DFW outdoorsman to know the majority of dove hunting takes place sitting down :P But that's about it. I would be going alone for a first time and it probably will be a complete failure, but I'm willing to give it a try. Any advice/suggestions? I thought about asking the lease owner advice/tips/places to go on the property, but before I did that I thought I'd ask here. I didn't want the lease owner to think I am a complete noob and never shot a gun or anything like that by me asking dumb questions. Also I know a couple more weeks in the season, but this late in the season even paying for a day lease i don't know how many dove will still be around? Again, I'm very new to this so try not to give me a hard time laugh

Re: First time Dove hunting... [Re: Kiteman] #6940036 10/31/17 12:05 AM
B
BDB Offline
Pro Tracker
Pro Tracker
B
Start looking for a place to hunt next year. And book your rooms NOW! (hint hint go west young man)

Re: First time Dove hunting... [Re: Kiteman] #6940098 10/31/17 12:48 AM
Guy Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
Originally Posted By: Kiteman
Well, I know how to shoot birds, and I've watched enough DFW outdoorsman to know the majority of dove hunting takes place sitting down :P But that's about it.

* Ok, so when you see the dove coming, do not move. If you move at all, the dove will see you move, and flare. When dove is in range, then move to mount your gun, even stand up if you want to, I normally just stay in my seat.
* Talk to land owner, get him to put you in a good spot where the dove are flying.
* Avoid sun in the eyes type spots.