texashuntingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Turtle Jeep, ShaneA, TXMission, BowOnly#86, bpatterson84
64364 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
dogcatcher 90,168
stxranchman 53,751
bill oxner 49,803
RKHarm24 44,577
rifleman 44,414
BMD 41,009
SnakeWrangler 39,567
Big Orn 37,484
txshntr 35,378
Facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics417,953
Posts6,076,167
Members64,364
Most Online16,728
Mar 25th, 2012
Print Thread
Game cam issue #6937495
10/29/17 07:26 AM
10/29/17 07:26 AM
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 104
Aubrey, TX
C
crozierk Offline OP
Woodsman
crozierk  Offline OP
Woodsman
C

Joined: May 2016
Posts: 104
Aubrey, TX
Hey y'all. I set two wild game innovation cameras up on my feeders a couple months back. I bought an insignia card reader that plugs into my phone and the first time I checked them I used it and it worked fine. Checked em again and they didn't seem to take any pictures. I didn't turn the cameras off when I pulled the cards out and put em back in. Any ideas on what happened?

Re: Game cam issue [Re: crozierk] #6937552
10/29/17 11:38 AM
10/29/17 11:38 AM
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
T
TUFBOY Offline
Light Foot
TUFBOY  Offline
Light Foot
T

Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Always turn your camera off before pulling the cards failure to do so erease all pictures on the card.

Re: Game cam issue [Re: crozierk] #6937581
10/29/17 12:37 PM
10/29/17 12:37 PM
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 120
Deep East Texas
T
tailchaser93 Online content
Woodsman
tailchaser93  Online Content
Woodsman
T

Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 120
Deep East Texas
Try putting your card in your computer... I had the same problem my card viewer wouldn't show any pictures but I put the cards in the computer and the pictures were there.

Re: Game cam issue [Re: crozierk] #6937611
10/29/17 01:24 PM
10/29/17 01:24 PM
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,895
Grand Prairie/ Moran, TX
J
Jimbo1 Offline
Pro Tracker
Jimbo1  Offline
Pro Tracker
J

Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,895
Grand Prairie/ Moran, TX
I never turn off when replacing SD cards, sounds like card viewer problem.

Re: Game cam issue [Re: crozierk] #6937639
10/29/17 01:44 PM
10/29/17 01:44 PM
Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 481
East of Dallas
O
Old Stony Online content
Bird Dog
Old Stony  Online Content
Bird Dog
O

Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 481
East of Dallas
I always turn the camera off when replacing cards....just hold in on the button for a few seconds until the led goes off. It just takes a second to touch the button and turn it back on after putting the new card in. I had a lot of problems before I started doing this and none now.

Re: Game cam issue [Re: TUFBOY] #6937641
10/29/17 01:45 PM
10/29/17 01:45 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 4,043
Watauga, TX
T
Tff caribou Offline
Extreme Tracker
Tff caribou  Offline
Extreme Tracker
T

Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 4,043
Watauga, TX
Originally Posted By: TUFBOY
Always turn your camera off before pulling the cards failure to do so erease all pictures on the card.


Thatís not true.


The very atmosphere of firearms anywhere and everywhere restrains evil interference. -George Washington
Re: Game cam issue [Re: crozierk] #6937649
10/29/17 01:52 PM
10/29/17 01:52 PM
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 19,038
Denton/Argyle
D
dkershen Online content
THF Celebrity
dkershen  Online Content
THF Celebrity
D

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 19,038
Denton/Argyle
Did you read your manual? My camera has a set of buttons you push to erase all the old pics and initialize the card. It then flashes the battery level and lets me know it's good to go.



To be sure of hitting the target, shoot first and call whatever you hit the target.
www.NewHopeEquine.com
Re: Game cam issue [Re: crozierk] #6937846
10/29/17 05:25 PM
10/29/17 05:25 PM
Joined: Jun 2015
Posts: 6,276
texas
R
rickym Online content
THF Trophy Hunter
rickym  Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
R

Joined: Jun 2015
Posts: 6,276
texas
Ive never turned mine off before changing the cards.
Sounds like a card reader or formatting issue


Originally Posted By: Grizz
Wingshooting is like sex for me - I love doing it but I'm just not that good at it.
Re: Game cam issue [Re: crozierk] #6938127
10/29/17 10:02 PM
10/29/17 10:02 PM
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,517
granbury,texas 76048
M
mow Offline
Pro Tracker
mow  Offline
Pro Tracker
M

Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,517
granbury,texas 76048
all cameras i have had always says to turn camera off before removing card..

Re: Game cam issue [Re: rickym] #6938160
10/29/17 10:23 PM
10/29/17 10:23 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 6,539
Helotes, Hext
S
Simple Searcher Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
Simple Searcher  Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
S

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 6,539
Helotes, Hext
Originally Posted By: rickym
Ive never turned mine off before changing the cards.
Sounds like a card reader or formatting issue

Yup, I have 8 Wild Game cameras and have never turned one off to remove the card, never been a problem.
But I have had some that for whatever reason will turn themselves off when I remove the card. So when I put cards back in, I check that they are powered up, or no pictures.



"Man is still a hunter, still a simple searcher after meat..." Robert C. Ruark
Re: Game cam issue [Re: crozierk] #6938409
10/30/17 01:03 AM
10/30/17 01:03 AM
Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 237
Mansfield, TX
S
soonersorlaters Offline
Woodsman
soonersorlaters  Offline
Woodsman
S

Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 237
Mansfield, TX
Recommend any card with pics be formatted before putting back into same or different camera. It's the best way to avoid problems. I also power off any camera before removing card and insert new card before powering on. It seems to have served well with not missing pics.

Re: Game cam issue [Re: crozierk] #6938454
10/30/17 01:26 AM
10/30/17 01:26 AM
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 104
Aubrey, TX
C
crozierk Offline OP
Woodsman
crozierk  Offline OP
Woodsman
C

Joined: May 2016
Posts: 104
Aubrey, TX
Well, took the cameras and cards home. Looks like I just did something wrong and the cameras weren't on or something. They seem to be working fine now. Kind of a bummer but at least I learned a lesson!

Re: Game cam issue [Re: soonersorlaters] #6938463
10/30/17 01:33 AM
10/30/17 01:33 AM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,115
McKinney, TX
S
Shotgun Willie Offline
Pro Tracker
Shotgun Willie  Offline
Pro Tracker
S

Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,115
McKinney, TX
Originally Posted By: soonersorlaters
Recommend any card with pics be formatted before putting back into same or different camera. It's the best way to avoid problems. I also power off any camera before removing card and insert new card before powering on. It seems to have served well with not missing pics.


Same. Except I format them through the camera settings. I've had issues with cards swapped from one manufacturer to another, formatting them through each camera has alleviated it.

Re: Game cam issue [Re: crozierk] #6940736
10/31/17 03:17 PM
10/31/17 03:17 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 180
Sugartree--Throckmorton
R
Randallc Offline
Woodsman
Randallc  Offline
Woodsman
R

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 180
Sugartree--Throckmorton
Sounds like you may need to reformat your card.

Re: Game cam issue [Re: crozierk] #6940748
10/31/17 03:22 PM
10/31/17 03:22 PM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 27,738
Normangee/Navasota TX
N
Navasot Offline
Hollywood
Navasot  Offline
Hollywood
N

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 27,738
Normangee/Navasota TX
always power down before pulling the card... if you have issues with a card just get a new one

Re: Game cam issue [Re: crozierk] #6940942
10/31/17 05:15 PM
10/31/17 05:15 PM
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 104
Aubrey, TX
C
crozierk Offline OP
Woodsman
crozierk  Offline OP
Woodsman
C

Joined: May 2016
Posts: 104
Aubrey, TX
From what I can tell, the wild game innovations cloak stealth cam or whatever (about 60-70 bucks at academy) powers up when you hit the power button. If you hold the power button while the unit is on, it powers down. When you pull the SD card, the camera stays on if you didnt turn it off, but when you put it back in you have to hit the power button again for it to register the sd card and take photo/video again. I discovered this because when I pulled the SD cards and saw no new pictures, I just decided to take them home and mess with them. When I was packing up to head home I put the SD cards back in so I wouldnt lose them and hit the power button to light the screen up and check the picture count on the digital read out(to try and determine if it was an issue with the camera taking pictures or just the reader I had). When I took em inside at the house, I had multiple new photos of me putting them in the truck, carrying them inside and setting them down on the table and walking by. When I saw that, I tried to replicate the issue I had and it stemmed from not hitting the power button when I put the SD card back in, it just didnt take them once I reloaded them. Didnt format the SD cards and they still worked, didnt turn the camera off when removing SD cards and they still worked. Will definitely be following the "turn it off to take out and put in rule" from now on just to be safe, but seems like with this particular brand at least its not a guarantee failure if you dont.

Re: Game cam issue [Re: crozierk] #6940952
10/31/17 05:20 PM
10/31/17 05:20 PM
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 104
Aubrey, TX
C
crozierk Offline OP
Woodsman
crozierk  Offline OP
Woodsman
C

Joined: May 2016
Posts: 104
Aubrey, TX
Side note, on my particular camera's manual, I cant find a point where it mentions turning off the camera or formatting the card. Kind of sparse in the troubleshooting section, but im 99% sure I figured out the issue like I mentioned above. The model I am using is the Wild Game Innovations Cloak 10 Lights Out model. Picture quality hasnt been stupendous, and my placement wasnt the best but I still got some decent quality pictures for the money I spent on them. I was planning on using them as a test run and expanding into a more expensive camera range but overall I don't have any complaints. So far the only issue seems to be user error and all the controls are fairly intuitive as far as adjusting settings and everything. Biggest complaint is I messed up putting one up and put it on a tree with a few leaves hanging in the camera lens. Guess it was a bit breezy because I had like 1600 pictures of the wind blowing. hammer

Re: Game cam issue [Re: Jimbo1] #6941425
10/31/17 11:29 PM
10/31/17 11:29 PM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 7,783
DFW
D
Deerhunter61 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
Deerhunter61  Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
D

Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 7,783
DFW
Originally Posted By: Jimbo1
I never turn off when replacing SD cards, sounds like card viewer problem.
x2

Re: Game cam issue [Re: Deerhunter61] #6946386
11/04/17 10:34 PM
11/04/17 10:34 PM
Joined: Jul 2017
Posts: 220
Crosby, Tx
easttxhoghunter Offline
Woodsman
easttxhoghunter  Offline
Woodsman

Joined: Jul 2017
Posts: 220
Crosby, Tx
I always turn off, and I format cards on my laptop. no problems


NRA Life Member
Re: Game cam issue [Re: mow] #6946815
11/05/17 01:23 PM
11/05/17 01:23 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8,503
bastrop county
C
colt45 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
colt45  Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
C

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8,503
bastrop county
Originally Posted By: mow
all cameras i have had always says to turn camera off before removing card..
this, some people just don't get it.


hold on Newt, we got a runaway
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 2004-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2