Print Thread
Need some help #6916761 10/11/17 05:01 PM
B
B Razorback Offline OP
Pro Tracker
OP Offline
Pro Tracker
B
Alright so here is my scenario. I am a college student at the University of Arkansas and I've always been a big bow hunter. With that said, not many of my buddies have private land to hunt, so I am forced to hunt public. This public place I go to is about an hour north east of Fayetteville. It is a generally nice place. The state has planted foot plots in some places for us to hunt, but I'm sure they get a lot of pressure later on in the season. I'm not use to hunting in these hills so I'm not sure what to look for. Should I be hunting the food plots? Should I hunt tucked back into the woods somewhere? Of course I know I need to scout more, but it's hard to do that with school and everything. Also, what do y'all normally hunt out of on public land? Last time we just sat on the ground, but Arkansas has a pretty dumb tick problem. My buddy bought a pop up blind last week and I was thinking about getting a hang on tree stand. I just wanted to ask everyone in here because y'all have a lot more experience than I do. I'm stuck in the library studying so I'll be keeping up with this post. Thank you for the help!

You may all go to hell and I will go to Texas! -Davy Crocket
This is duck hunting...shirts and shoes are optional
Re: Need some help [Re: B Razorback] #6916768 10/11/17 05:10 PM
txshntr Online Content
T-Rex Arms
Online Content
T-Rex Arms
There is no real right or wrong answer, best way to figure it out is to be in the field hunting.

Since you are limited on when you can scout, I would try to hunt places that I could see distances and I would hunt areas that allowed me to walk through areas of interest that I found on maps. While walking to the stand, pay attention to animal and human activity alike to see where and how they are traveling.