Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics536,987
Posts9,719,149
Members86,987
Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Got some questions about culling deer. Any help would be greatly appreciated. #6911806 10/07/17 03:03 AM
B
bowbuilder1971 Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
B
Hi all. I moved down to Texas where my wife is from 5 years ago and just started hunting down here 3 years ago. I had to get back surgery so I wasn't able to hunt for a couple of years. So now I have been hunting on my buddies property for 3 years and it's awesome! Where I grew up, they don't allow you to bait for deer and there isn't a limit on how many people can hunt on public land. So it's a mess up there and you take your life in your hands if you dare to hunt on the weekends. The bucks also don't have enough time to mature like they used to when I was younger. People will shoot any deer that walk in front of their tree stand. So I started posting on the farm and garden section on craigslist for places to deer hunt and scored some great places to bow hunt up there. It was safer to hunt that way and you didn't have to worry about some moron trying to put a climbing tree stand 20 yards away from you an hour after legal shooting time. I have hunted in a lot of states in my life and now that I have a permanent hunting area, my buddy wants to get in to managing the herd, putting out protein feeders and making food plots. I already have all the stuff for the food plots now and have a pretty good hunting set up going. So recently we were going over some of the trail camera pics and he was talking about culling certain deer. So I really didn't get in to talking with him too much that day because I had to get back to the wife. So I was starting to wonder about culling deer. With antler restrictions in the state, who can legally cull a buck with a not so good rack. Do you have to apply for a permit and is there a restriction to where only the land owner can cull certain deer on their property? Does