Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
kd1188, FinnerandMagoo, mattchewy, Bigborerifles, DDD913
64329 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
dogcatcher 90,068
stxranchman 53,720
bill oxner 49,647
RKHarm24 44,577
rifleman 44,411
BMD 41,008
SnakeWrangler 39,422
Big Orn 37,484
txshntr 35,376
Facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics417,575
Posts6,071,058
Members64,329
Most Online16,728
Mar 25th, 2012
Print Thread
Reloading military brass for a bolt gun??? #6902243
09/28/17 05:18 PM
09/28/17 05:18 PM
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,037
Llano County TX
S
Sirrah243 Offline OP
Veteran Tracker
Sirrah243  Offline OP
Veteran Tracker
S

Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,037
Llano County TX
I've always reloaded factory brass and didn't consider miltary brass until I happened upon some. Most of the brass I have is Lake city. I know military brass is thicker and therefore holds less powders so I need to work up a new load for this particular brass. I'm asuming since the brass is thicker it will last longer? Is that the benefit of using military brass? Is the heavier military brass harder on my reloading equipment?

I'll be using the brass for reloading hunting rounds in 308.


“A hunt based only on the trophies taken falls far short of what the ultimate goal should be.” -Fred Bear
Re: Reloading military brass for a bolt gun??? [Re: Sirrah243] #6902248
09/28/17 05:22 PM
09/28/17 05:22 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 13,883
Lewisville, TX
C
ChadTRG42 Online happy
THF Celebrity
ChadTRG42  Online Happy
THF Celebrity
C

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 13,883
Lewisville, TX
It will work fine. Case volume difference to normal brass (like Winchester) is about 1 to 1.2 grains less powder. You may need to remove a primer crimp, so look and see if it has a crimp. It will size up just like regular brass will.



Custom and Precision Ammunition!!
www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL
Re: Reloading military brass for a bolt gun??? [Re: ChadTRG42] #6902264
09/28/17 05:34 PM
09/28/17 05:34 PM
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,037
Llano County TX
S
Sirrah243 Offline OP
Veteran Tracker
Sirrah243  Offline OP
Veteran Tracker
S

Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,037
Llano County TX
Originally Posted By: ChadTRG42
It will work fine. Case volume difference to normal brass (like Winchester) is about 1 to 1.2 grains less powder. You may need to remove a primer crimp, so look and see if it has a crimp. It will size up just like regular brass will.
Yeah the primers are crimped. I use a counter sink to remove the crimp in nato 9mm. I'm assuming that trick will work on rifle brass too.


“A hunt based only on the trophies taken falls far short of what the ultimate goal should be.” -Fred Bear
Re: Reloading military brass for a bolt gun??? [Re: Sirrah243] #6903736
09/29/17 11:56 PM
09/29/17 11:56 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8,503
bastrop county
C
colt45 Online content
THF Trophy Hunter
colt45  Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
C

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8,503
bastrop county
Originally Posted By: Sirrah243
Originally Posted By: ChadTRG42
It will work fine. Case volume difference to normal brass (like Winchester) is about 1 to 1.2 grains less powder. You may need to remove a primer crimp, so look and see if it has a crimp. It will size up just like regular brass will.
Yeah the primers are crimped. I use a counter sink to remove the crimp in nato 9mm. I'm assuming that trick will work on rifle brass too.
done that


hold on Newt, we got a runaway
Re: Reloading military brass for a bolt gun??? [Re: Sirrah243] #6904036
09/30/17 01:29 PM
09/30/17 01:29 PM
Joined: Jul 2017
Posts: 4
Central KY
I
I Am Barabbas Offline
Green Horn
I Am Barabbas  Offline
Green Horn
I

Joined: Jul 2017
Posts: 4
Central KY
With military brass and if near max recommended load you may find signs of higher pressure with the same powder charge that you used in the commercial brass.

b

Last edited by I Am Barabbas; 09/30/17 05:50 PM.
Re: Reloading military brass for a bolt gun??? [Re: Sirrah243] #6904122
09/30/17 03:50 PM
09/30/17 03:50 PM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 231
McKinney, TX.
A
ASIC777 Offline
Woodsman
ASIC777  Offline
Woodsman
A

Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 231
McKinney, TX.
If it was machine gun fired you will need a "little" extra effort on the loading handle .... and a real good lube. Took me a week to recondition 1000 pieces of LC. I tried my usual lubes, Dillon, RCBS, Imperial wax, and finally settled on Mobil 1 after running 10 of each. It was noticeably more difficult than the Federal and Win brass I had.


Lifetime NRA Member
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 2004-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2