Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
loftisp, KJ3, Sweet Water Ranch, Jetjetjet1, CM Ranch
64351 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
dogcatcher 90,127
stxranchman 53,720
bill oxner 49,729
RKHarm24 44,577
rifleman 44,411
BMD 41,009
SnakeWrangler 39,491
Big Orn 37,484
txshntr 35,376
Facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics417,783
Posts6,074,037
Members64,351
Most Online16,728
Mar 25th, 2012
Print Thread
torque settings from manufacturer #6891263
09/18/17 09:33 PM
09/18/17 09:33 PM
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,078
Ft. Worth
G
garyrapp55 Online content OP
Pro Tracker
garyrapp55  Online Content OP
Pro Tracker
G

Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,078
Ft. Worth
Got some Seekins rings from SWFA over Labor Day weekend cuza the sale. Reading Seekins site for torque specs it states 50-55 in lbs. for clamp and 20 for ring caps. I will torque as recommended but it seems a drastic difference for the same size bolt, doesn't it?
EGW mount states only 20 in lbs. I would have guessed more.

Re: torque settings from manufacturer [Re: garyrapp55] #6891303
09/18/17 10:18 PM
09/18/17 10:18 PM
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 9,444
Lubbock, TX
Q
QuitShootinYoungBucks Online content
THF Trophy Hunter
QuitShootinYoungBucks  Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Q

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 9,444
Lubbock, TX
Put some Seekins on my latest setup, that (55/20) was what I used. I seem to remember either Burris Extreme Tactical or another one I looked at calling for 65in lbs on the clamp, so it seemed alright to me. I don't think I want to see my scope tube if I put 55in lbs on the caps.




https://web.archive.org/web/20170223065011/http:/www.rrdvegas.com/silencer-cleaning.html
Re: torque settings from manufacturer [Re: garyrapp55] #6891304
09/18/17 10:18 PM
09/18/17 10:18 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,625
Greenville, TX
I
ImTheReasonDovesMourn Online content
Snarky Mark
ImTheReasonDovesMourn  Online Content
Snarky Mark
I

Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,625
Greenville, TX
I always go by the scope manufacturer's specs for the torque on the rings. Vortex recommends between 15 and 20 inch-pounds for most of their scopes, so I torque mine to 17 or 18. Never had a problem.


[Linked Image]
Originally Posted by KRoyal
Haha yea I polished that thing for hours.
Re: torque settings from manufacturer [Re: garyrapp55] #6891310
09/18/17 10:25 PM
09/18/17 10:25 PM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,170
Grapevine
P_102 Offline
Pro Tracker
P_102  Offline
Pro Tracker

Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,170
Grapevine
Not sure what you mean by 'same size bolt'. 'Clamp', clamps the rings to your rail or other device. Ring caps use much smaller screws.


Do not trifle in the affairs of dragons, for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup.
Re: torque settings from manufacturer [Re: garyrapp55] #6891338
09/18/17 10:49 PM
09/18/17 10:49 PM
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,078
Ft. Worth
G
garyrapp55 Online content OP
Pro Tracker
garyrapp55  Online Content OP
Pro Tracker
G

Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,078
Ft. Worth
http://www.seekinsprecision.com/parts-and-accessories/scope-rings.html

P_102, look at the rings in the link. Clamp bolts and cap bolts are the same size. Nonetheless, I'll go by manufacturers specs and trust what the 2 guys above said. I've seen ITRDM put his money where his mouth is so I doubt he'd steer me wrong. I just wanted to see if anyone had something to say that I was unaware of.

Re: torque settings from manufacturer [Re: garyrapp55] #6891354
09/18/17 11:00 PM
09/18/17 11:00 PM
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 9,444
Lubbock, TX
Q
QuitShootinYoungBucks Online content
THF Trophy Hunter
QuitShootinYoungBucks  Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Q

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 9,444
Lubbock, TX
Originally Posted By: garyrapp55
http://www.seekinsprecision.com/parts-and-accessories/scope-rings.html

P_102, look at the rings in the link. Clamp bolts and cap bolts are the same size. Nonetheless, I'll go by manufacturers specs and trust what the 2 guys above said. I've seen ITRDM put his money where his mouth is so I doubt he'd steer me wrong. I just wanted to see if anyone had something to say that I was unaware of.


The heads are the same size, but are the bolts? I remember having reservations about the torque when I was mounting them, but I almost want to say that the base screws were bigger than the cap screws.

Or I just said to heck with it and torqued them down.




https://web.archive.org/web/20170223065011/http:/www.rrdvegas.com/silencer-cleaning.html
Re: torque settings from manufacturer [Re: garyrapp55] #6891525
09/19/17 01:22 AM
09/19/17 01:22 AM
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,078
Ft. Worth
G
garyrapp55 Online content OP
Pro Tracker
garyrapp55  Online Content OP
Pro Tracker
G

Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,078
Ft. Worth
You had me wondering so I pull one of each out, same size.
So, are these rings to be as far apart as possible on this rail?

Last edited by garyrapp55; 09/19/17 01:23 AM.
Re: torque settings from manufacturer [Re: ImTheReasonDovesMourn] #6891809
09/19/17 11:27 AM
09/19/17 11:27 AM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 14,305
Frisco, Texas
B
Buzzsaw Online content
THF Celebrity
Buzzsaw  Online Content
THF Celebrity
B

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 14,305
Frisco, Texas
Originally Posted By: ImTheReasonDovesMourn
I always go by the scope manufacturer's specs for the torque on the rings. Vortex recommends between 15 and 20 inch-pounds for most of their scopes, so I torque mine to 17 or 18. Never had a problem.


This

The Seekins rings are great


"I ain't here for a long time, I'm here for a good time"
King George Strait


Re: torque settings from manufacturer [Re: garyrapp55] #6892491
09/19/17 08:48 PM
09/19/17 08:48 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 28,688
Texas
R
redchevy Offline
THF Celebrity
redchevy  Offline
THF Celebrity
R

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 28,688
Texas
I bet the torque recommendation is based more on not crushing your scope tube and less on the strength of the bolt.


It's hell eatin em live
Re: torque settings from manufacturer [Re: redchevy] #6892520
09/19/17 09:17 PM
09/19/17 09:17 PM
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,919
S.A. and Kinney Co.
S
SingleShot85 Offline
Pro Tracker
SingleShot85  Offline
Pro Tracker
S

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,919
S.A. and Kinney Co.
Originally Posted By: redchevy
I bet the torque recommendation is based more on not crushing your scope tube and less on the strength of the bolt.


This^^^^^ as the the screws are the same..... I have Seekins bases and rings on every rifle I own,,, except my AW. Do what Glen says and don't worry about it

Re: torque settings from manufacturer [Re: garyrapp55] #6892591
09/19/17 10:25 PM
09/19/17 10:25 PM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 26,945
Killeen/Ft Hood, TX
S
SapperTitan Online content
Taking Requests
SapperTitan  Online Content
Taking Requests
S

Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 26,945
Killeen/Ft Hood, TX
Missed a hog just the other day after not correctly tightening my rings on my shotgun scope with rifled barrel. Round went high so I went and tried to re-zero and slugs were all over the place. I looked at the rings and one screw was backed out enough it was loose enough to wiggle around. I could also see marks on the scope tube exterior from where the scope was and where it had moved to. Bought better rings and will tighten to exact specs this time and hopefully no more user error misses on hogs.


Originally Posted by bill oxner
I plowed mules.
Originally Posted by Roll-Tide
I did build a cabin. Aka the brokeback shack.

[Linked Image]
Re: torque settings from manufacturer [Re: Buzzsaw] #6896455
09/23/17 06:10 PM
09/23/17 06:10 PM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,513
Prosper, TX
B
Big Fitz Online content
Veteran Tracker
Big Fitz  Online Content
Veteran Tracker
B

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,513
Prosper, TX
Originally Posted By: Buzzsaw
Originally Posted By: ImTheReasonDovesMourn
I always go by the scope manufacturer's specs for the torque on the rings. Vortex recommends between 15 and 20 inch-pounds for most of their scopes, so I torque mine to 17 or 18. Never had a problem.


This

Seekins, Tikkas and Vortex are great


FIFY grin


Originally Posted By: syncerus
I prefer to think of myself as a control enthusiast. wink
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 2004-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2